We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super really”
Review of Tower Restaurant - CLOSED

Tower Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“super really”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

like anywhere in the world the view is a bonus,if you go to a restaurant you go for food,the art gallery is good for well art,the food here is exceptionally good,the lady who showed us to our table was in tune with the kitchen and explained the chefs specials superbly,venison haunch etc etc but i went for assiete of seafood followed by lamb 2 ways,now idont like slow cooked food as a rule but i have never ever tasted anything like the breast of lamb acc by a small rack as well,really superb,rosies vegi choice was a gateaux of falfalle with wild mushrooms in a creamy sauce,desserts were tip top wine at a reasonable price,service excellent,we went on a saturday evening at 6pm it was totally booked later,is it going to be as good when its really busy,watch this space,somehow i think so,great stuff dont miss it,signed thhe galloping gourmet

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Lunch was expertly presented in a very warm and friendly atmosphere Service was excellent with very friendly staff. Food was delicious. Excellent view from the conservatory. I would highly recommend his restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivienneplatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tower with a view”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the tower with my gf and it was absoulty gorgous,staff excellent and so was the food.I had calami for starter which was lovly and for mains i had the ribeye steak with prawns and pepper sauce it was lovly.I would highly recommend this place if your going to go out in drogheda for food.We will be back thats for sure!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love the tower!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had been meaning to visit the tower for a meal since it re-opened.the only thing puttin me off was the fact that they dont have a menu online and i like to no what im gettin myself into before i go to a new resturaunt however please dont let this put u off as its sooo worth a visit!our meal was fabulous from start to finish.We had two starters of black pudding and seafood assiette which were both gorgeous and just enough to leave us really looking forward to our mains!we followed these with a rib eye steak with perfect pepper sauce and a pan fried salmon with colconnan (i cud have eaten a bucket of the mash)!everything on the plate was so flavourful and well cooked.We again cleaned our plates however we couldnt refuse the dessert menu and finished off with a chocolate brownie and the special white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake.With two beers, two minerals, and two teas it came to €89 which we paid gladly for such a lovely meal!with such a lovely atmosphere to top it off this could become a new regular for us:-)not the cheapest place in town but very resonable considering the quality of the food and the fresh locally sourced ingredients used.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahcornyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could not fault anything”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We dined here recently and it was exquisite. The staff were friendly and attentive but not overly so - they knew when to approach and when not to - and were so helpful. The food was delicious. This is easily one of the best restaurants in the area by a long shot. The food is locally sourced, prepared, cooked and presented to perfection and there's plenty of it. Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLKS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower Restaurant also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing