We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We arrived at the hotel after purchasing a Living social deal. We were a bit disappointed with the bedroom as it was tired and neglected looking. But the experience of the staff and food at the hotel more than compensated for that disappointment. Food was excellent value and very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back with the family next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322Roisin_g12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continue to work hard on all aspects of our guests stay and it is encouraging to note that this work is paying off.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the minute we arrived I fell in love with this wee hotel.All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. OK parts of the hotel looked a bit dated but I felt it only added to the character of the place, and everywhere was spotless. It is after all a big old country house which has been turned into a hotel. The leisure centre was great, it too was spotless and very well run. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186470Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are working very hard to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as yours and I will ensure that all the staff are made aware that their hard work is paying off.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Really enjoyed our weekend in this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome. Even though the place was very busy we were really well looked after. A special mention to Bonnie who served us in the bar on both nights. She was brilliant. The food was also very good with some healthy options for the kids which was great.
The pool and changing rooms were spotless. We spent a lot of the time here due to the rain. All the staff that we met were very good with kids. We could not recommend this hotel more.
We only had one small complaint to make and that was the noise outside our room on Saturday night. It went on for an hour with people shouting and running up and down the corridor. We rang down to a nice man on reception and he was very apologetic. He said that he would come up straight away and in fairness the noise did stop shortly after this.
While this disturbed our sleep I know that it wasn’t really the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate all the positive comments you make about your stay. I will ensure that these comments are passed onto the staff. I apologise for the disruption you experienced due to noise in the corridor. I note that this was dealt with quickly by the night porter however it is regrettable that it happened.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The welcome was non-existant. Name was taken, papers were flicked, we waited...and waited. Eventually, from behind a very high reception desk, she said yes we were expected, and were given a room. It was average. Hard mattress, blankets not duvet, shower did not spray, it dripped, toilet was reluctant to flush and was a bit smelly... But the food was very good and the barman friendly. Outside the extensive grounds were good to walk around, with a stream and waterfall and mature trees (some dead or dying). A wedding was in progress, and there were some interesting outfits, but next morning the ladies pranced around the corridors and reception in pyjamas. A public toilet off a corridor had no seat.

Room Tip: We were in the newish extension, and had a view of the gardens, but the old house may have more char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norahdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was very disappointed to read about your welcome. We pride ourselves on our customer service and on this occasion we very obviously let ourselves down. I am also sorry for the issues you had with your room. I thank you for your kind comments about the staff and also for your comments about the food being very good. Please be assured that we have taken corrective action following your review and further training has been carried out with our front office team.
Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Now if your like us and you love getting away even for one nights entertainment The boyne valley hotel and country club drogheda is the perfect place . We had a boards deal this time and boy did we get a deal . The hotel has brilliant rates even outside the groupon stuff. Dinner and a pint or glass of house wine is ten euro per person. Yes this hotel is a little tired but the lovely hepful and cheery staff are always on hand and you do get alot for your buck . Hotel is set in mature landscaped gardens perfect for rambaling around or play tennis or visit the gym / swim and burn off the calories after a hearty cooked breakfast . Drogheda s town center is five mins away by car. Train station is three min drive away . world class la spa therpy wellness center is one min drive away across the road from the famous gastro pub The Black Bull. Do stay at the boyne valley hotel and remind yourself that your not paying a fortune for all that you get .!!! enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just back from a one night stay at th Boyne valley with my husband. We had a lovely clean and comfortable room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens, and had no problem with the bed, the pillows (spare ones stored in the wardrobe) temperature or opening the windows. Made use of the excellent pool, sauna and jaccusi (towels were provided). Had a good value meal in the terrace bar - there was a choice of 3 specials which were 10 Euro including a glass of wine (or a pint of beer) Being a Tuesday it was pretty quiet but all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We had a very early start in the morning so i can't comment on the breakfast, The area around Drogheda is definately worth exploring more- we will be back and stay longer next time. If I have one negative it is to say that the grounds were in need of a tidy up- sadly one of the beautiful trees in the garden had been graffittied.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethMM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay with us. As you pointed out there is so much to see and do around Drogheda and the Boyne Valley region. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here last saturday night, the place was really busy and their was a great atmosphere. We've stayed here alot throughout the years but stopped coming a few years back after a couple of bad experiences. We decided to go a back a few months ago on a deal package, we really enjoyed it then, so much so that we came back last weekend. The hotel has changed management and its clear to see that this has improved the service. We had a lovely relaxing time and everything was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs facing the garden. Beautifully picturesque on a sunny moring!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martink2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
262 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
806 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing