We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very nice hotel from the outside- was pleasantly surprised as it was quite cheap. The interior is a little dated but it was clean and the room was quite spacious. Very pretty grounds and a nice spa. Not too far from town also. Recommended for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilygonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed a relaxing time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    133
    96
    45
    47
See reviews for
138
140
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here with family in may for the weekend, lovely place with good size swimming pool also has jaccuzi and steam room, Restuarant has a great breakfast also lovely bar My child loves this hotel close to town centre great value for money, staff friendly.

Hotel quite easy to find from main road in a quiet area perfect for just winding down and relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I will ensure you kind comments are passed onto all the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The exterior of the hotel is fantastic and we thought we were going to stay in a luxury hotel but this was not the case as the interior is shabby and in desperate need of renovation. However, there are some great aspects of the hotel, in particular, we were very impressed with the friendly welcome of the receptionist and we were able to check into our room at just 11 am.
When we arrived in our room the first impression was that the room looked 'tired'. Also although there was tea cups and some tea, coffee and sugar, there was no kettle !! A kettle was later found. The amount of tea, coffee, milk etc was very mean. We kept asking for more.
The bar service was extremely poor and the meal was one of the worst we've eaten.
However, the breakfast was ok. Some of the girls in the breakfast room worked very hard but there are not enough tables and chairs for the number of guests and we had to wait a long time to be served on two occasions.
The leisure centre is very good and I highly recommend staying in the hotel if you are likely to use these facilities.

Room Tip: The noise from corridors is very bad so bring earplugs. Noise between rooms is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheltholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with certain aspects of your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be brought to our next managment meeting and that corrective action will be taken. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in our popular Country Club and I note your comments about the welcome you received.

I hope you take the opportunity to visit us again in the near future and witness our constant improvements.

Kind Regards,
Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Booked 3 nights in triple room with fold away bed. Room was not big enough for 3, let alone 4.Only enough towels for 2 people, not that you'd use the shower, the cleaning standards were very poor, my wife spent first hour going through a pack of baby wipes, wiping down surfaces! Went for a drink in the bar, stayed for one only, as standards were poor. Spent the first night listening to a rowdy wedding crowd, lack of security in hotel didn't help. Breakfast was ok.Checked out after one night, will never return I'm afraid. It would take a lot of money to put this hotel right, not sure it's worth it. Only positive were the staff we encountered.All were friendly and receptionist could not apologise enough for our dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmorey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your stay. We are constantly striving to ensure our guests stay is as comfortable as possible. We receive a large number of positive reviews however on this occasion we let ourselves down. Please be assured that corrective action will be taken to rectify all the areas that caused you discomfort.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff who all work very hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again and I would gladly handle your reservation myself.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drogheda hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel has a very impressive entrance and nice drive into the car park, which is at the front of the hotel. We arrived late on Friday and got checked in straight away. We booked a double room but got a twin instead, no big deal but when we went to reception to ask about moving the guy just said “sure you can push them together”. Not a great start. The room itself was old and got very stuff at night and had dirty curtains and a tiny TV. The bathroom was very basic; more a wet room with no shower basin (drives me mad). The grout was stained as well as the walls. The room just felt outdated. We found 5 or 6 old sweet wrappers under the bed and bedside lockers. Breakfast was ok but found a lot of the cutlery was dirty or chipped. Drogheda itself is a lovely town and plenty of nice places to eat. We had dinner in the bar but again we were left disappointed with the standard of food and price (food was burnt). The table we sat at was dirty and sticky but had to use as no other tables.
We used the leisure centre on the Sunday and that even felt run down. I wouldn’t be staying here again unless the hotel has a serious make over.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -_-_-_-paul-_-_98654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are constantly working to improve our guests experience and this work will continue. The results of this work is evident from the many positive reviews we receive.

I hope you take the opportunity to stay with us again and witness the constant improvement.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Boyne Valley Hotel with our three grandchildren and we had a lovely time. The staff were pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful.We had interconnecting rooms which gave us the space and proximity that is so important for the security of young children. We made good use of the country club swimming facilities and, when we visit again will book tennis lessons for the children. The food was delicious. At breakfast we had a choice of continental or full Irish breakfast. The hotel also supplied us with tickets for Funtasia Water Park and our grandchildren had an exciting and fun filled day.

We all had a great time and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim20Downpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to enquire about tennis lessons when you return. We have a qualified coach on site.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel has retained its old world charm in the original building which is great to see. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not open during the week, which is unfortunate as some people prefer to have a meal in the restaurant rather than bar food. The staff in the bar were attentive, the service was very good and the food was delicious. However the furniture in the bar/conservatory was shabby and looked worn and was not clean. The breakfast room is nicely decorated and pleasant. The staff were friendly and the service was quick and breakfast was good.
There are signs around the hotel stating that smoking is prohibited. However, a couple could be seen smoking on a balcony and were clearly visible from the bar. Also, when going back to our room there was a smell of cigarette smoke in the area where the balcony is situated.
There is a nice stream at the bottom of the garden, which could be a used as a backdrop for wedding photos. Some gardening maintenance would improve this area. Also the removal of a red and white traffic cone in the stream and a wooden chair which has been dumped along the bank would make this feature more attractive.
The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The only complaint about the room was in relation to the poor quality ironing board which was stained and the iron was dirty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the constructive comments. Please be assured that we are constantly striving to improve the guests experience and comments like yours are very helpful in this process.

I hope to see you in the Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club again soon.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
248 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Property: Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing