We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is sad that such a great 19th century country house is being allowed to decay to the extent that it has. The exterior of the hotel and the room that we were allocated are in dire need of an upgrade. The room itself had soiled carpeting and could use a major facelift in terms of décor. The room was found to be cold at night (with no available thermostat) and when this issue was reported to the front desk there was no attempt to rectify the matter. There was no wifi available in the room and when questioned "why?" the staff responded that "it was being fixed." I imagine installing routers in the corridors is a difficult solution to grasp. Don't bother to watch television in the room - there are only three stations available although they are duplicated many times on various channels. Staff were found to be somewhat pleasant although the night manager was found to be rude and intolerant. Staff knowledge of basic directions and local geography/points of interest was also poor. Of note, the pool and exercise equipment is located in a separate building which is also utilized by the general public. On a bright note, the morning breakfast was found to be quite good and reasonably priced with many selections to choose from. Overall, I would recommend the d Hotel over the Boyne Valley Hotel and Country Club as the cost is comparable and the accommodation/service is far superior.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1972WinnipegWhips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club for your recent holiday.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food offering while staying. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced.

We have resumed a fast and efficient internet service in all areas of the hotel and apologize for the lack of service you received while you were staying. We have also resolved the problems you had with the television in your room. We are at the early stages of refurbishment and this many take some time to complete in all areas.

We look forward to the welcoming you back to the Boyne Valley Hotel in the near future as we strive to improve the product we provide,

Kind regards,

Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    133
    96
    45
    47
See reviews for
138
140
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Decor is a bit dated but thats the only critique I could give the hotel. We had a great time here, room was very clean, beds comfortable, staff were more than helpful and very friendly and the food was also very good and at a reasonable price. After reading a few previous reviews I was nervous about what our room would be like but I was pleasantly surprised and I would definitely stay here again. Another big bonus to this hotel is the lovely gardens its set in and also full use of the leisure centre which we took advantage off an kids had a great time in the pool. Some of the reviews iv read on this hotel are very unfair, its a 3 star hotel but I think people still expect 5 star service from it. You get what you pay for and boyne valley is certainly value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cla1repa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review with us. We are very pleased to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff and
are are looking forward to your return in the future,

Kind regards and best wishes,

Management team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richhill
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we had a great weekend at the Boyne Valley. The staff were very friendly throughout all areas from recetion to the cleaning staff. The meals in the bar were very good and plenty on the plate. Could do with a few more non fish items on the menu, bu the quality was good.
The bedroom was clean andtidy and the staff were very thorough every day. The 1 drawback is wi-fi is only accessible in recetion and country club.
All in all good central place for a weekend to see around the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club for your recent break.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food offering while staying and have passed on your comments to our chef.

We have resumed a fast and efficient internet service in all areas of the hotel and apologize for the lack of service you received while you were staying.

We look forward to the welcoming you back to the Boyne Valley Hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Staff are lovely and did there best !!! and the breakfast was lovely , but the room we stayed in was shocking , it needs a total makeover and revamp ( the rooms ) , stains on wall , a large lamp shade held together with pins and a very old fashioned tele , that had only a few channels on it , the wifi was non existent!!! , no valance sheet on bed , we couldn't justify paying for a 2nd so quickly checked out the following morning with a refund for the second day which we were happy about . Unfortunately we won't be staying there again .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your kind comments about the quality of the good and service you experienced. As you mentioned in your review the hotel is currently undergoing major renovations, we are excited with this process and are really looking forward to its completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drogheda hotels

Emmitsburg, Md
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As an American unfamiliar with the roads in Ireland, I always try to find a good hotel before dark. Messed up on this of a Sunday evening and was getting a bit desperate when I happened upon the Boyne Valley Hotel. The approach from the Dublin Road was a bit challenging but well worth the trek. The hotel is not so impressive on the outside, but the interior was terrific; great staff, comfortable bedroom, and a marvelous Pub with excellent food and décor. A bit of a walk to get to my room, but no complaint. Will stay here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that I read your review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. Many thanks for sharing your experience online for the attention of future guests. We look forward to having you back here as a guest in the future.

Kind regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here in late December while working in the area, after I checked in I went to my room only to find there wasn't any bedding on the bed [I can say the matress was spotless], the receptionist was very appologetic and gave me a new room, this room was spotlessly clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. the bar was clean and the evening food was very good, as was breakfast. All of the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful, especially the evening receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0key2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing the Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club while you were working in the locality.

I am delighted to read your kind comments about the cleanliness of the hotel along with all your positive feedback about our staff. It is also satisfying to read your feedback on our evening & breakfast dining offerings.

I regret to read about your initial issue with the first room you were allocated, but i am happy to see that this uncommon oversight was rectified immediately by our reception staff. I am also glad to read that you found your room to be spacious and that you had a very comfortable nights sleep.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to exceed your expectations if you stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel had friendly welcoming staff, the decor is dated but clean and the location is on the edge of town in a long driveway.
The breakfast is adequate and the hotel is value for money. Some rooms are a distance away from the centre and the pool is in a separate building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skimumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to share your experience of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided a relaxing venue for your family birthday get-together.

I am particularly pleased to read your kind comments about the cleanliness of our property along with the positive feedback you provided on our dedicated staff. I will ensure our team are aware of all your comments. Most of all I am delighted to read that we provided you with great value for money. In a time where money can be tight for a lot of people it is crucial for us as a business to provide value, I am glad we achieved this.

Thanks again for choosing the Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club & as always we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
248 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Property: Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing