We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great characterful hotel with a few snags”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The drive in is reminiscent of driving into a beautifully manicured French campsite, and if the historic Boyne Valley was in France this place would be a chateau with a campsite included alongside the hotel. It would have fruit trees, it would have a herb garden (it should still have a herb garden) that they'd boast about and more importantly utilise, old wine casks, old cider presses, pictures of cheeses and there'd be the whiff of tarte flambé and tarte tatin recette in the air. This place is dignified, if somewhat old and it's a tad tired in places; just like me (well perhaps I'm not as dignified) and when you go to old characterful period places you will see wear & tear and some drab bits. I don't intend being too critical of this beautiful place, as I was told its in the midst of a takeover and, truthfully. having read other reviews and looked around the place it's not really as bad as some reviewers claim - with the exception of the many crumbling tiles in the spa steam room which cannot be ignored but that said almost everything worked and worked very well including the steam room which I'm delighted remains open, that's the right decision, but it is not at all acceptable to find that there isn't any shampoo in the spa showers for hotel guests, and its simply impractical to return to the hotel room for essential supplies but this is easily sorted. Note in passing that the spa building is a few minutes walk out of the hotel, across a car park. Our bedroom was perfectly pleasant with beautiful paintings and a relaxing soft autumnal decor, all enhanced by the beautiful and expansive gardens without a herb garden or fruit trees outside our window. Tea and coffee available in the room. An idyllic place and no mistake. The doors, floors and walls are really solid throughout. The telly in the room was old, a bit crap and had only three channels working and I'm sure this will trouble some, also there was no wifi in the room which was really deeply frustrating. I guess the Bitbuzz contract expired and awaits the new owners to remedy. Wifi was still available in public parts of the hotel though. The main North/South train route passes by the grounds with the trains up high and at a distance enough to add further character and charm, without being noisy or intrusive. So to food. We had two main meals and two glasses of wine in our deal, in the pub come giant glass conservatory in the evening. I had a wonderful steak sandwich - generously sized, properly hung, perfectly cooked good beef - sauté onions, great pepper sauce, mushrooms, and a salad tucked under the large panini with chips on the side. Very good pub grub and no mistake. My wife took a beef burger with grilled cheese, it looked appetising with the cheese properly grilled and she was content too. This also came also with chips and salad, delicious crispy, but not enough, onion rings (is there ever enough onion rings) and a tasty mushroom sauce on the side. The wine we has was perfectly quaffable too. They don't have Colman's mustard though - the king of all mustard; none of your namby pamby French mustards for me y'know instead they had those awful sachet sauces, the sort you despair fighting to open and the sauce splodges on your fingers, and the sort of stuff you wouldn't find within miles (or kilometres for you European types) of a French chateau, and they really have no place here either. Service was a little haphazard with one chap seemingly under a bit of pressure. Breakfast was unacceptably slow with the same demented chap from the pub the previous evening. We waited 20 or more minutes for tea and coffee having waited 10 minutes before being asked if we wanted tea or coffee, yet a diner who had literally sat down and was served by a waitress had his pot of tea cheerfully served up within a few minutes. Zero out of ten for the quality of the coffee, it was awful; the good news is this too is easily remedied. The haphazard waiter also managed to get my wife's food order wrong delivering beans instead of bacon, apparently the cook couldn't read his writing. I heard this chap being a tad indiscreet to a waitress about a colleague due to start work, if he were more focussed on guests rather than being predisposed to being unkind to colleagues then his employer and the guests would be better served and, after all, guests make paydays. All in all a pleasant stay and we got a good deal; wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club for your recent holiday.

We love your comparisons and wonderful descriptions of the property. The character and the charm of the building and surrounds are priceless. We are delighted that you were able to give us some valuable suggestions and comments in your review.

We have resumed a fast and efficient internet service in all areas of the hotel and apologize for the lack of service you received while you were staying.
As you mentioned, we are at the early stages of refurbishment and this many take some time to complete in all areas.

We look forward to the welcoming you back to the Boyne Valley Hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my partner booked a last minute deal through treatticket for this hotel. We got a very reasonable price which included breakfast, evening meal, wine and late checkout.
The reception area was quite nice and modern. After check-in we headed for our room which was on the ground floor, the corridor smelled a bit musty and the wall paper was torn in places.
Our room was clean and the decor was tidy, a bit old fashioned but fine all the same.
We made our way to the terrace bar and conservatory. We had 1 drink and decided not to stay on for dinner, neither of us could relax or enjoy ourselves. That area had a very fusty smell and was extremely run down. Not a nice atmosphere for a relaxing break away. Although our meal was included in the package we decided against eating in the hotel and got a taxi into Drogheda town. We also skipped breakfast the next morning. If an effort was made to improve the bar area and create a nicer space the hotel would seem more appealing. I would return in the future if the very necessary works were carried out to bring charm back to this wonderful building. Hotel is in a great location and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RosieD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are disappointed that you did not avail of your inclusive dinner and breakfast as we pride ourselves on our high standard of food. As the hotel is being refurbished we are addressing the issues mentioned and will take them on board.

We do hope that you will visit the Boyne Valley Hotel and avail of another great offer in the very near future,

Best wishes,

Management team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Decor is a bit dated but thats the only critique I could give the hotel. We had a great time here, room was very clean, beds comfortable, staff were more than helpful and very friendly and the food was also very good and at a reasonable price. After reading a few previous reviews I was nervous about what our room would be like but I was pleasantly surprised and I would definitely stay here again. Another big bonus to this hotel is the lovely gardens its set in and also full use of the leisure centre which we took advantage off an kids had a great time in the pool. Some of the reviews iv read on this hotel are very unfair, its a 3 star hotel but I think people still expect 5 star service from it. You get what you pay for and boyne valley is certainly value for money in my opinion

Room Tip: Choose a minimum of a double room for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Richard,

Many thanks for sharing your review. We are very pleased to read your positive comments and that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff.

We are looking forward to your return in the future,

Kind regards and best wishes,

Management team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is sad that such a great 19th century country house is being allowed to decay to the extent that it has. The exterior of the hotel and the room that we were allocated are in dire need of an upgrade. The room itself had soiled carpeting and could use a major facelift in terms of décor. The room was found to be cold at night (with no available thermostat) and when this issue was reported to the front desk there was no attempt to rectify the matter. There was no wifi available in the room and when questioned "why?" the staff responded that "it was being fixed." I imagine installing routers in the corridors is a difficult solution to grasp. Don't bother to watch television in the room - there are only three stations available although they are duplicated many times on various channels. Staff were found to be somewhat pleasant although the night manager was found to be rude and intolerant. Staff knowledge of basic directions and local geography/points of interest was also poor. Of note, the pool and exercise equipment is located in a separate building which is also utilized by the general public. On a bright note, the morning breakfast was found to be quite good and reasonably priced with many selections to choose from. Overall, I would recommend the d Hotel over the Boyne Valley Hotel and Country Club as the cost is comparable and the accommodation/service is far superior.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1972WinnipegWhips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club for your recent holiday.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food offering while staying. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced.

We have resumed a fast and efficient internet service in all areas of the hotel and apologize for the lack of service you received while you were staying. We have also resolved the problems you had with the television in your room. We are at the early stages of refurbishment and this many take some time to complete in all areas.

We look forward to the welcoming you back to the Boyne Valley Hotel in the near future as we strive to improve the product we provide,

Kind regards,

Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Decor is a bit dated but thats the only critique I could give the hotel. We had a great time here, room was very clean, beds comfortable, staff were more than helpful and very friendly and the food was also very good and at a reasonable price. After reading a few previous reviews I was nervous about what our room would be like but I was pleasantly surprised and I would definitely stay here again. Another big bonus to this hotel is the lovely gardens its set in and also full use of the leisure centre which we took advantage off an kids had a great time in the pool. Some of the reviews iv read on this hotel are very unfair, its a 3 star hotel but I think people still expect 5 star service from it. You get what you pay for and boyne valley is certainly value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cla1repa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review with us. We are very pleased to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff and
are are looking forward to your return in the future,

Kind regards and best wishes,

Management team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we had a great weekend at the Boyne Valley. The staff were very friendly throughout all areas from recetion to the cleaning staff. The meals in the bar were very good and plenty on the plate. Could do with a few more non fish items on the menu, bu the quality was good.
The bedroom was clean andtidy and the staff were very thorough every day. The 1 drawback is wi-fi is only accessible in recetion and country club.
All in all good central place for a weekend to see around the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club for your recent break.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food offering while staying and have passed on your comments to our chef.

We have resumed a fast and efficient internet service in all areas of the hotel and apologize for the lack of service you received while you were staying.

We look forward to the welcoming you back to the Boyne Valley Hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Staff are lovely and did there best !!! and the breakfast was lovely , but the room we stayed in was shocking , it needs a total makeover and revamp ( the rooms ) , stains on wall , a large lamp shade held together with pins and a very old fashioned tele , that had only a few channels on it , the wifi was non existent!!! , no valance sheet on bed , we couldn't justify paying for a 2nd so quickly checked out the following morning with a refund for the second day which we were happy about . Unfortunately we won't be staying there again .

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Gloshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your kind comments about the quality of the good and service you experienced. As you mentioned in your review the hotel is currently undergoing major renovations, we are excited with this process and are really looking forward to its completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
256 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
796 reviews
5.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £66 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing