We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discusted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever been to. If you find yourself here then maybe reconsider. When we arrived, our first impressions were not good. It looked run down and dirty but as we found out it was the marks from the ivy which had recently been removed. However, when we walked into the reception we were surprised at how clean and lovely it looked. We were given the key card and we went to our room. The hallway smelt of paint so we had hopes our room had been refurbished. However when we entered our room, it was far from refurbished. The carpet was dirty and had a few iron burn marks on it. The Baths enamel was chipped and so was the toilet. The shower was ridiculous. It was dirty and you could only have it boiling hot or freezing cold although it took nearly 10 minuets to get even warm. The hairdryer was broken and after complaining, they sent up a new one. And to top it all off, the bathroom window was faulty as One of the hinges was broken. The lamp next to my bed was also faulty and we were supposed to have a phone as we only found out because one of our relatives was being put through to our room and nothing was happening. The tv was like a piece of ancient history with only a few channels and with all the money being used on the construction work on the grounds you would think they would spend a small amount on more modern tv's for the rooms. On our fist night 'trying' to sleep we discovered that the mattresses were like a wooden door. I like a really soft mattress and this was a disappointment as I got no sleep. As well, the pillows were wafer thin. We complained and they happily swapped the mattresses for more comfy ones and the pillows were a bit better. On the other hand, breakfast was amazing. Everyhing was cooked perfectly and it was served almost immediately. There was a large selection of drinks and pastries. The corridor wasn't the cleanest either and There were chunks out of the door frames. On the
other hand, the swimming pool is lovely. There is a sauna, jacuzzi and a steam room that I couldn't experience as it is refurbished. They could possibly do something with the doors as they slam and wake you up in middle of the night. I would only recommend this hotel to anyone if they refurbish the rooms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thunder F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay. It is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I have taken all of your comments on board and will discuss some of the points you made with our staff in the coming days. I would appreciate if you could contact the hotel directly on 041-9837737 to discuss this review further,

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The exterior made us want to turn as it looked like a run down nursing home but in their defence they are in middle of refurbishing (scaffolding and machinery everywhere) . They had just removed ivy from exterior which would explain the poor paint work outside. The reception was beautiful fabulous first impression. Rooms are clean but very outdated. An old t.v with 4 channels but we wernt there for the t.v so couldnt care less. The bath was rusty and needed resealing and tlc. We had no kettle so i asked at reception. Was told there was no spare rooms to take one from but after a minute it was discoveres room 222 had no one staying. I was handed the card to go and see if it had a kettle!! Didnt think this was a guests job!!! The lady however was really pleasant and nice. Room 222 also didnt have kettle but was a lovely refurbished modern room so high hopes for the rest of the rooms following the big refurb. The lady at reception then sent a lovely man down with a big tray of tea for four to our room as we couldnt make our own tea. The staff were exceptionally nice. At breakfast a waitress took a page and drew our direction for the day for us. They were perfect! We decided to go out for dinner on 2nd night but as kids were tired we just returned to hotel. We asked to sit in lobby area where kids could ealk about and not be under pressure beside other guests. This was no trouble and in minutes they had table set and highchair organised. Could not have done more to help. The next morning i had a brand new kettle in my room. The place was left spick and span and clean after the cleanera had been in. The only negative was the pool. The walk into the pool was so durty it resembled a walkway from a cattle market. I genuinely was so shocked at the dirt of it. Again we wernt depending on this for our holiday so i could overlook it. We had two funfilled days at funtasia and tayto park. Both very drivavble distances and we got excellent breakfast and cosy comfy bed and that was all we needed. The fabulous staff was big bonus. I would stay again but would love to see the refurb done first.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank odox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne_Valley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Firstly a big 'thank you' for noticing our invaluable and fantastic staff that work in the Boyne Valley Hotel. We will certainly be sure to pass on your positive feedback. They strive on this to give the best customer service and work to the highest standards. We have noted your other comments and are working together with all staff to improve.
We are delighted that your children has a great time and can not wait to welcome you all back again to the Boyne Valley Hotel,

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here on two occasions and enjoyed both stays. Room was always clean and warm and the bed very comfy. For the price I paid I didnt expect much but was impressed. The only issue I had was my car was blocked in one the 2nd occasion by another driver and I waited nearly 30mins for staff to sort it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne_Valley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Hazel,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely comments with us. We are delighted to read your positive feedback. We do not know why your car was blocked in as we do have an extensively large car park and ample parking and there should be no reason why another driver would have blocked you. We apologise on the drivers behalf.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us

Kind wishes
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for one night. Deal included bed, breakfast and evening meal. On arrival we had to wait to check in as there was a guest complaining that she had just checked in, yet the bed was not made up in her room!!! Our first impression was not good!!

After waiting to check in we realised that the receptionist had checked us in under some-one else's name. After another wait while the receptionist found our booking we eventually got the key for our room. We were in the room approximately 5 minutes when, to our complete surprise, the door was opened by another guest who had a key to our room as she had also been checked into the same room!!

My husband and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and this was the first time another guest had been checked into the same room as ourselves!!!! To say that we were angry is an understatement. Totally unacceptable. When we complained at reception we were told they were having problems as a new computer system was being installed. No excuse is good enough for this error.

The hotel itself was very unimpressive. The room was very dated with dark furniture although, to be fair, it was very clean. We also enjoyed the evening meal and were pleasantly surprised at the good breakfast which was served at the table instead of buffet style.

Perhaps when the "make over" is complete the hotel will look better but, due to the experience with checking in, and our "additional room mate" we will never stay at this hotel again. If the management would like to comment on this, please use my email address which was supplied when booking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernieandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. As you have left a review through trip advisor we feel that it is only fair that we respond on the public forum.
We are aware of your issue at checkin. We were at that time, as you have stated, changing one reservation and computer system to another. We did not expect or foresee any issues with this change over. Unfortunately due to some computer glitches out of our control we will again apologize for this.

The hotel is undergoing major refurbishments and renovations and we expect the Boyne Valley Hotel to be restored to its former glory.

We are disappointed that you would not return to the Hotel when renovations are complete. To would be delighted to hear from you if you wish to book directly,

Kind regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed while attending a family party. The Hotel is undergoing big changes and scaffolding and diggers are all around the grounds. However pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and service .I think this place could really be nice in 12 months time. Beware a lot of building work going on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your kind comments about the quality of the good and service you experienced. As you mentioned in your review the hotel is currently undergoing major renovations, we are excited with this process and are really looking forward to its completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my husband and 11 month old baby and we were very disappointed with the room. We booked this hotel because we love old period houses and the photos on the website looked nice, however after driving down the beautiful tree lined drive, you meet a disappointing site at the end. The exterior is dull and drab and everything from the windows to the railing needs a good lick of fresh paint. I understand refurbishment is going on but a quick paint job would go a long way.
The reception and the interior of the mansion house however are lovely, but on entering the corridor for our room the carpet and wallpaper are drab and dead, likewise for the room. Furniture dark and heavy and curtain hanging off in the room, it gave the room a dirty feel. However no amount of cleaning could hide that the room just badly needed an update, perhaps also new and fresh bedlinen. We were also thankful we had brought our own travel cot, as the travel cot also was worn out and dirty looking. At breakfast also I had to go through the bowls to find a clean bowl for baby's cereal.

On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and chatty. And the gardens were nice, lovely old trees and a nice water feature being put in.

Overall, I would be reluctant to go here again and would not recommend it unless there was a major revamp of the rooms. My husband and I are very particular about hygiene and cleaniness, not to say that the hotel was dirty, but everything in the room seemed past its sell by date. I know the hotel is 3 star and very good value, but we were expecting more. We would pay double the price next time for a room that was more pleasant and appealing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_Robinson_Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBVHCC, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a constructive review our property. I am glad to read your positive comments about our reception area, staff and gardens. Our staff are fantastic so it is great to hear your kind words. We have worked very hard on the exterior recently and the setting has been improved tremendously during the last couple of months.

It was disappointing to read your comments about breakfast and also the hotel exterior, once again i can assure you that ongoing work is continuous on the period building and i'm sure you'd observe a huge improvement if you stayed again now.

We understand that the fixtures in your room may not be extremely modern but we take pride in our high level of cleanliness. The hotel is undergoing a series of refurbishments at the moment which may take some time, included in this refurbishment is significant updates to the bedrooms.

We hope you afford us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I know hotel is undergoing a big refurbishment and im sure when its finished it will look great!. Our room was overlooking garden and was very clean.Staff were very friendly and helpful-thankyou. Will be back to see the reburbishment maybe next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us.

We are very pleased to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I have passed on all your lovely comments to our staff and we are looking forward to your return next year when future renovations have been made,

Kind regards and best wishes,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
262 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
807 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £82 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing