We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My mother in law decided to treat us for lunch here. The lunch was very basic the whole hotel needs re decorating! In stead of decorating the gardens mayb they concerntrate on the interior of the hotel. The food was smelling stale as specially the chips! the cooking oil probably must have not changed in months! I had ordered soup and wheaten bread which they said was freshly made. And when i tasted it it was full of salt could not even put in my mouth! I think Gordon Ramsey needs to b over there to take over! Don't spend ur money over there!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Harshida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here sunday 24th Aug.will never be bk.i understand renovations undergoing but for the prices charged expected so much more.room rundown carpet very dirty as well as burnt several times with iron.beds well not even a mattress protector an stains on mattress looked like blood.large bathroom pity the shower water not very warm and the sink shower area had mould.i no hard to avoid in a bathroom again not a good impression. breakfast not good either.for the price charged should have been so much better.very dissatisfied will not be back again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank janet045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
As you may not be aware, the hotel will is undergoing a series of renovations during 2014. As this is a lengthy and timely process it may take some time for completion.
Our furnishings may not be state of the art but we continuously strive to maintain an extremely high level of cleanliness and hygiene throughout the hotel.
We do however disagree that we are overpriced. We offer very competitive rates and special deals.

I hope that you would afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future when renovations are completed and we will make sure you book one of our many great deals,

Kind regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

just back from a 2 night stay never again . The first room they gave us was very run down . we were moved to room 24 a bit of an improvement,, the beds had no valance on them . had to run the shower for 15 min to get warm water. room very old fashioned. the bar area very grubby really they should close the hotel until it has been completely revamped (they are working on it ) the lamp in our room had no bulb. bathroom had mold around bath the towels wee very rough.The flowers on display were at best half dead. We choose not to eat in the hotel at night time as the food was prepared in one part of the hotel and the staff walked across reception not a very hygienic practice in my opinion.|Also breakfast on the second morning was cold . My daughter (16) was very frustrated by the wifi it was free you needed a code for each piece of equipment and each code was different. Also wifi kept loosing the signal. We would have not stayed the second night if we hadn't prepaid when booking through an online web site The best thing about this hotel was the gate out of it. Such a pity as we had stayed there a number of years ago and that stay was so enjoyable. Such a pity to see what could be a lovely hotel be in such a run down state. Jean Co. Clare

Room Tip: avoid until renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 229jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I would really appreciate if you could contact the hotel directly to discuss your comments further on 041 983 7737.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is very run down, horrible hotel.. So cold and old fashioned.. Never again..Leisure centre not in main hotel and very scruffy and in need of refurbishment. Heating system broken, I wouldn't even give it one star..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Marianne,

Thank you for writing your recent review. As you may not be aware, we are currently renovating the hotel. It can clearly be seen on the external areas of the hotel with major landscaping works being done and the hotel exterior receiving a complete facelift! We are at the early stages of major refurbishments and this will take some time to complete.
We can assure you that all areas of the hotel and leisure centre have been cleaned are are cleaned daily and throughout the day. There are some areas that are old but they are certainly clean. With reagrds to the heating system, we are not aware of our heating system not working.

We would be delighted to discuss your comments further if you wish to call on 041 983 7737.

We look forward to hearing from you,
Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever been to. If you find yourself here then maybe reconsider. When we arrived, our first impressions were not good. It looked run down and dirty but as we found out it was the marks from the ivy which had recently been removed. However, when we walked into the reception we were surprised at how clean and lovely it looked. We were given the key card and we went to our room. The hallway smelt of paint so we had hopes our room had been refurbished. However when we entered our room, it was far from refurbished. The carpet was dirty and had a few iron burn marks on it. The Baths enamel was chipped and so was the toilet. The shower was ridiculous. It was dirty and you could only have it boiling hot or freezing cold although it took nearly 10 minuets to get even warm. The hairdryer was broken and after complaining, they sent up a new one. And to top it all off, the bathroom window was faulty as One of the hinges was broken. The lamp next to my bed was also faulty and we were supposed to have a phone as we only found out because one of our relatives was being put through to our room and nothing was happening. The tv was like a piece of ancient history with only a few channels and with all the money being used on the construction work on the grounds you would think they would spend a small amount on more modern tv's for the rooms. On our fist night 'trying' to sleep we discovered that the mattresses were like a wooden door. I like a really soft mattress and this was a disappointment as I got no sleep. As well, the pillows were wafer thin. We complained and they happily swapped the mattresses for more comfy ones and the pillows were a bit better. On the other hand, breakfast was amazing. Everyhing was cooked perfectly and it was served almost immediately. There was a large selection of drinks and pastries. The corridor wasn't the cleanest either and There were chunks out of the door frames. On the
other hand, the swimming pool is lovely. There is a sauna, jacuzzi and a steam room that I couldn't experience as it is refurbished. They could possibly do something with the doors as they slam and wake you up in middle of the night. I would only recommend this hotel to anyone if they refurbish the rooms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thunder F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynevalley220, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay. It is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I have taken all of your comments on board and will discuss some of the points you made with our staff in the coming days. I would appreciate if you could contact the hotel directly on 041-9837737 to discuss this review further,

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The exterior made us want to turn as it looked like a run down nursing home but in their defence they are in middle of refurbishing (scaffolding and machinery everywhere) . They had just removed ivy from exterior which would explain the poor paint work outside. The reception was beautiful fabulous first impression. Rooms are clean but very outdated. An old t.v with 4 channels but we wernt there for the t.v so couldnt care less. The bath was rusty and needed resealing and tlc. We had no kettle so i asked at reception. Was told there was no spare rooms to take one from but after a minute it was discoveres room 222 had no one staying. I was handed the card to go and see if it had a kettle!! Didnt think this was a guests job!!! The lady however was really pleasant and nice. Room 222 also didnt have kettle but was a lovely refurbished modern room so high hopes for the rest of the rooms following the big refurb. The lady at reception then sent a lovely man down with a big tray of tea for four to our room as we couldnt make our own tea. The staff were exceptionally nice. At breakfast a waitress took a page and drew our direction for the day for us. They were perfect! We decided to go out for dinner on 2nd night but as kids were tired we just returned to hotel. We asked to sit in lobby area where kids could ealk about and not be under pressure beside other guests. This was no trouble and in minutes they had table set and highchair organised. Could not have done more to help. The next morning i had a brand new kettle in my room. The place was left spick and span and clean after the cleanera had been in. The only negative was the pool. The walk into the pool was so durty it resembled a walkway from a cattle market. I genuinely was so shocked at the dirt of it. Again we wernt depending on this for our holiday so i could overlook it. We had two funfilled days at funtasia and tayto park. Both very drivavble distances and we got excellent breakfast and cosy comfy bed and that was all we needed. The fabulous staff was big bonus. I would stay again but would love to see the refurb done first.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank odox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne_Valley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Firstly a big 'thank you' for noticing our invaluable and fantastic staff that work in the Boyne Valley Hotel. We will certainly be sure to pass on your positive feedback. They strive on this to give the best customer service and work to the highest standards. We have noted your other comments and are working together with all staff to improve.
We are delighted that your children has a great time and can not wait to welcome you all back again to the Boyne Valley Hotel,

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here on two occasions and enjoyed both stays. Room was always clean and warm and the bed very comfy. For the price I paid I didnt expect much but was impressed. The only issue I had was my car was blocked in one the 2nd occasion by another driver and I waited nearly 30mins for staff to sort it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne_Valley, Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Hazel,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely comments with us. We are delighted to read your positive feedback. We do not know why your car was blocked in as we do have an extensively large car park and ample parking and there should be no reason why another driver would have blocked you. We apologise on the drivers behalf.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us

Kind wishes
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
267 reviews
19.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
5.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £85 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing