We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Active Retirement Group visit to Drogheda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A party of 17 from the Suir Group, Waterford branch of the Active Retirement Association of Ireland, descended upon the "d" hotel in Drogheda, for a 2 night break in late March. On the afternoon of arrival we had a guided walking tour of the town, led by an experienced guide who certainly knew his town. The main object of the visit was to see the cultural sites situated nearby, namely The Battle of the Boyne visitor centre, the battle being an event that shaped the course of Irish history and the 5000 year old neolithic passage tomb at Newgrange. Both of these attractions were so interesting with excellent guides at both sites. Certainly the Newgrange site is a must if you are anywhere in the area.

The hotel was very smart, clean, modern and maintained to a high standard. I would reiterate what a previous reviewer said regarding the, as she stated, "the huge wooden ledge around the mattress". This did make it a little difficult to get out of bed, but apart from that the bed was very comfortable. The easy chairs in the bedroom also left a bit to be desired. Modern? yes, comfortable? yes, easy to get up from? a definite NO. The room allocated to me and my wife looked out over the River Boyne, not the most attractive of rivers at this point, but interesting none the less and better than some views we have had at some hotels. In fact all the members of our group were delighted with the standard of the accommodation. The staff were so pleasant, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our evening 3 course dinner was taken in the pub attached to the hotel and the food was absolutely excellent. If anything there was too much of it, several of us on our 2nd night settled for just 2 courses and that was quite enough. On this night we were informed there would be music in the bar, we were filled with horror as we had noticed the large speakers in the corners and thought we would be deafened (switch off your hearing aids lads). As it turned out it was traditional Irish music and we had a wonderful evening of very good music, singing and dancing from a very friendly group of enthusiasts.

Come the day of departure we were very loathe to leave as we had all had such a great time. If all this cultural stuff is not for you, then the "Scotch Hall Shopping Centre" is right next to the hotel.

Chris 45323.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris45323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks to you and your active retirement group for staying in the d hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted that your group enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and will definately stay again. Very clean which is always a good thing. Great that parking is so close and included. Got an unexpected upgrade last time I stayed to the Penthouse Suite which was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29,122,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying so often at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were very nice and the breakfast was great. There was a good variety to choose from and the hot food was good. As far as the room, I would say its okay. The windows are so dirty you can't get the river view you pay for, the room could also use some painting and fresh carpeting. Otherwise beds are comfortable and shower is clean and has good pressure. You can't beat the location and the pub downstairs is also great. Might stay again if the rooms were remodeled a bit, but overall good hotel-not 4 or 5 stars but good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hitel and for your positive comments about our staff, breakfast and pub. We currently have plans to refurbish some bedrooms in the coming months.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Used the D Hotel for business recently. Full marks to Sam the trainee manager for rescuing a bit of a dogs dinner with a service issue. Please note, its dangerous to have Irish dancers and musicians in a dining room where the staff are trying to serve food to other diners not past of that party and where room is restricted! health & Safety and courtesy to other diners!
Food great, the chef can do magic with vegetables, I could have eaten just those. The steak pie was delicious and the desserts - massive!
Breakfast was rubbish though, toaster???? 26 try's to get a slice. it resembled the aftermath of the12th bonfires in the North. Sweaty, limp bacon, sausages (terrible taste) all lying having lost the will to live.
Great staff though, they rescued the whole stay. Could the management please visit The Westbury and see how it's done???
The beds are horrific! There a huge wooden ledge around the mattress which I cut the ankle of myself on! Who's idea was these???
problem with hot water in shower, had to get that sorted and there was no milk left for the tea?coffee.

Room Tip: Couldn't say.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks to you and your group staying with us recently and for your positive feedback about our staff and Sam in particular. Please accept our apologies that you did not like the traditional Irish music and dancing which is so popular with our guests, we would have been more than happy to move your party to another part of the bar or even to the restaurant if we had know you were so unhappy with this experience.

Please also accept our apologies that breakfast was not to your liking again we would have been more than happy to offer you anything freshly cooked from the menu if you had mentioned it and indeed bring extra toast to your tables.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again and please do not hesitate to speak with reservations in regard to your exact group requirements in terms of dining options and we will be more than happy to deliver complete satisfaction to your group.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful hotel. Wonderful location. Great rooms. Very quiet. Lovely beds. Excellent staff from front of house to bar to restaurant to room staff. Children loved it. Mum and dad loved it. Great value, will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our excellent staff and the food in our bar and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel in the centre of Drogheda by the river.
Staff very helpful. Good lively bar with food and live music also a newly opened restaurant with a fantastic menu and manager.
Rooms a very high standard. very good all round hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our nice rooms, friendly staff and the food in our new restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before leaving Ireland. The hotel was nice. Clean, good service and in a great location (on the river, center of town). Only complaint is that the rooms are VERY plain, not much decor and a little dated. Would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eurotraveler4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our good service and clean hotel.
We are currently planning to refurbish some bedrooms which will be more colourful and warm and already have a sample room completed which we would be delighted to show you on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
256 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £67 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing