We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, central to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, central to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really nice hotel, and in the middle of the town IDEAL. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are too comfortable.
The staff on reception so nice, I have to mention a girl working the breakfast room friday morning who I didn't get her name but she wasnt from Ireland, she really was just a breath of fresh hair, she was so pleasant and very attentive, she went out of her way to wish people a great day as they left.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pull_like_a_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    353
    144
    84
    58
See reviews for
276
412
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently celebrated my 50th birthday and my wife booked the Gold Package for both us and my parents. The gold package includes 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meals at €99 pp. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff who really made us feel welcome.

We were upgraded, at no extra cost, to balcony rooms overlooking the Boyne river and Drogheda town, which was stunning at night. The rooms were big and airy with a huge bed dominating it. The free WiFi was a welcome change to the usual pay-by-the-minute affairs normally found in hotels in these isles. The ensuite bathroom was a decent enough size though being disabled, I would have preferred a separate shows cubicle to the bath/shower combo on offer.

On our first night, we were treated to a four course meal in the De Lacey restaurant. The food was delicious with generous portions and very well presented. A big deal was made of my birthday celebration with a complementary glass of bubbly for all of us and a personalised dessert for me.

Breakfast on the first morning was just as good an experience as dinner. There was a large selection of fruit, cereals, breads and juices available and an extensive range of cooked breakfasts available from the menu. I can highly recommend the Full Irish breakfast, but be prepared to not feeling hungry again until teatime. It certainly sets you up for the day ahead. On the second morning, it was a breakfast buffet and again, there was no shortage of hot and cold food on offer.

Dinner the second night was a 3 course affair in the bar/restaurant which was a different, though just as enjoyable, dining experience to the previous night. Again, the food was top notch and plenty of it.

With all of this fine dining you are sure to feel tire. So we were delighted to find the beds very comfortable and absolutely huge. I find it difficult to sleep in a strange bed and this was no different but once I got over that I slept like a baby.

Checkout on our last morning was at a relaxing midday and by this time we were already planning our next stay.

*I accidentally tapped the Swimming Pool rating as "terrible". To the best of my knowledge there is no swimming pool in the hotel and if there were, I would expect this to be of the same high standard as the rest of the facilities. We didn't get to check the fitness room out.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room on check in. You may be lucky enough to get one foc. However this may not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself, my husband and our two kids recently stayed here as part of the hotels "Tayto park package". I found this excellent value for money.
With regards to the hotel, I couldn't fault it. Staff on reception when we checked in were very helpful.As were any of the other staff we encountered during our stay.

We stayed in one of the executive family rooms, it was spotless and there was more than enough room for the four of us.
Great hotel for kids as they have a kids games room, great location will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlaghl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff and facilities at this hotel are superb. Food is excellent in both quality and presentation and the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant cannot be faulted. If you are thinking of staying in this area, then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, really modern, nice rooms good size tv etc. view not great where I was which over looked a derelict building site but rooms at front look over the harbour. Free parking and free wi fi. Hotel very central. Bar attached to the pub really nice and food top notch.
Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a beautiful stay in D Hotel last Fri. We were met at reception by Graham. He is the friendliest and most helpful receptionist we have ever met. The restaurant staff were very pleasant especially Martyna who welcomed us to breakfast. I would recommend D Hotel to everyone. Good atmosphere in bar and dont forget to book your table in advance if you want to eat in the bar the food is gorgeous. Highly recommended. Well done to all D Hotel staff.
Helen Whelan

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daltonsamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A little difficult to find but worth it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and beds very comfortable. Drapes had some stains but otherwise the bedroom and bathroom were clean. Nice view of the River Boyne. Parking was free and convenient. Easy walk to pubs in town. Everyone in the town pubs were very friendly. The pub in the hotel was excellent--food was some of the best we had in Ireland and also had music. Breakfast buffet was very good Complimentary cupcakes brought to our room. Would definitely stay in Drogheda and Hotel D again. Enjoyed our quick trip up to the ancient ruins just out of town--very interesting and beautiful.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room--very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa6631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing