We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

nice hotel located just perfectly from the river.
wasnt to expencive.
very nice and helpfull suff!
not the best breakfast and a bit expencive.
there is a paking problem in the city and this hotel gives you a free parking which is very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nir147852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for once again staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    356
    147
    86
    65
See reviews for
282
421
32
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed for two nights and ate once here. The food was lovely and presented well. The rooms were clean and comfortable. In the evening there is a musician that plays which is lovely when dinning. The bar is classy with a chilled out vibe. The views are also lovely looking out over the water. The thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for once again staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are regular visitors to this fantastic hotel right in the centre of Drogheda. The rooms are lovely and well-appointed; the new Wm. Cairnes Gastro Pub is the new kid on the block and worth a visit on its own - great drinks selection, including some fine craft beers, good live music, a great atmosphere, and gorgeous to look at. Breakfast at the D is worth singling out too. If you are staying, splash out the 5€ tray charge and have it delivered to your room; the Eggs Benedict is top notch and the Full Irish knocks for six, breakfast at the 5* Marker in Dublin. With regards value for money, we don't believe that there is another hotel in Ireland that can touch The D for value.
Ultimately though, what makes The D Hotel truly exceptional, is it's staff. So we were more than a little disappointed when we heard that Conor Mohan had moved on. Anyone who aspires to be top of their game in the hospitality industry should seek him out and watch him at work. Fortunately for us, he has moved to Fitzpatrick's in Carlingford, (Co. Louth) and is now only 10mins away.
We needed have been too anxious about Conor's departure, however, as Rory Scott is at the helm. Thus, we were delighted to see Amy Crickley move up the ranks. Officially, Amy is Front Office Manager. In reality, she is one of those people who seems to be in two places at once, for whom nothing is too much trouble, and who has a disarming knack of making you feel special. In fact, like the whole D team, your enjoyment seems to be genuinely important and that is why we keep coming back for more. One other person who merits particular mention is Nick Woollard, Executive Head Chef. His menu in Wm. Cairnes validates its claim to be a gastro-pub. His Jaw-Breaker Burger is as good as any that Tom Kerridge serves up.
Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a corner balcony room to optimise your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mijacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for once again staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there with a few friends for a golf weekend in the area. Hotel staff organized our golf times so everything was ready upon arrival. Very service minded hotel staff. The gastro pub at the hotel serve great food but is also the place to hang out in the evening. Hotel rooms are pretty basic but have exactly what you need and it is clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel as a part of a vacation package through Great Value Vacations. The staff was very very nice and helpful and the room was great. It was clean and a great size. We drove the 45 minutes to Dublin and it wasn't bad at all. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyDreamTrip_01-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has it all. Large comfyRooms, Great Staff, Indoor Mall and dining in walking distance. Large car park & right on the Canal. The hotel has it's own restrauant and Bar with music and the food was delicious! No need to travel anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMMY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great weekend in D hotel. We had grandparents, parents & kids to cater for & the weekend package covered all needs! We had B&B, day trip to Tayto park & day trip to Funtasia as part of the package. We had 5 kids under 8 and they had a ball!
The hotel staff were really good - a complimentary bottle of champagne with the birthday dinner & plenty of gluten free options! As the night became more busy the waitress took our dessert & drinks orders & we chilled out in the foyer which was ideal with small kids!
Food was amazing (portions were VERY big).
Rooms were spacious, clean with normal facilities! Our room had a beautiful view of the river!

The hotel & staff are great - there isn't a lot to do in Drogheda itself but it's well located for day trips. A pool or spa in the hotel would b great but this would be a big investment.
Overall a great weekend for 3 birthday's across 3 generations!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotsofhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing