We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Buncrana, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Was very happy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two night for a short holiday with the kids. All the staff was very friendly. Rooms were very big and clean. There's no A/C but that was no problem as there are fans. We had a few small problems but the staff was quick to fix them. Our TV stopped working in the night. It was fix and a DVD with movies was brought up for us. We had a Misunderstanding with park tickets and it was resolved that day. We were compensated for it on the spot. We understand things happen, but we were happy to see the staff did care and wanted to fix it right away.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    373
    156
    94
    78
See reviews for
297
450
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good location to explore norther Dublin area. There are tolls on the main road from here to Dublin, bring change. The hotel itself is easy to find in Scott Hall shopping complex and parking is free. The free in room Wifi is too slow to watch Netflix, but fast enough for email etc. The breakfast was very nice and hearty. There is also lovely outdoor seating area for breakfast alfresco dinning! Our TV was broken initially and the staff swapped it out in a few minutes notice. The staff is very responsive to needs, the room was clean with lovely white duvet, safe, fan, roomy couches, and hair dryer. Lots of space, but small bathroom and weird shower set up that got water everywhere and the maximum hot water in shower was just barely warm enough. Overall good value-would recommend. Do drive out of area, not much available in immediate area for great local dining.

Room Tip: Upgrades available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Four and five stars? Where were these people staying, because I wish I had been there instead.

I'll preface this by saying I arrived at this hotel on the last leg of an 11-night tour. During this time, we stayed at some fantastic hotels. Just the evening before, we stayed at beautiful Cabra Castle, which most other places would pale in comparison to...so I considered giving this hotel two stars because of that. However:

The hotel/room tried really hard to go with a "modern" look, but basic hygiene trumps modern in my book any day. We were told by our tour guide the hotel is around five years old. I find this extremely hard to believe. It is FILTHY - the walls in my room, the hallways, and the rooms of friends/family from the tour were in desperate need of a paint job. I'm not talking run-of-the mill "this could use a touch up;" I'm talking legitimately stained all over with weird, yellow-looking filth. Carpets are stained, ripped, and contain burn marks.

If this is what is on display on walls/carpets for ALL TO SEE, I shudder to think about the cleanliness of carpets, towels, bedding, etc. After checking for bed bugs (thankfully there were none), I couldn't bring myself to look more closely at anything else, because I wouldn't have been able to sleep.

My room contained a balcony that was directly attached to the balconies of other rooms. I could have crawled over any of them, and, given the state my balcony's door was in (barely closes; giant chunks missing from the wall behind it where someone had slammed it open repeatedly and it had gone unrepaired) and the fact that it overlooks a busy city street, it wasn't what I'd call a relaxing sanctuary.

Add to that the bizarre shower (the door only covers half the shower; there is a full-length mirror practically inside the shower), mediocre food, and so-so staff, I'm glad I only had to spend one night here.

The hotel wasn't even that convenient to Dublin airport, as there was some kind of mix-up regarding transportation and we left over 30 minutes behind schedule anyway (with some people from our tour having to wait for an additional van).

It's unfortunate that a fantastic tour that really showed us the best of what the country had to offer chose such a poor locale to end on.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies about the upset caused to you. I hope if you brought these issues to our attention during your stay that we offered you a solution. If not please do not hesitate to contact me personally. The hotel is 9 years old and we hope to refurbish some bedrooms in the near future and have already completed a sample room that we would be delighted to show you.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
rory@thedhotel.com
0419877700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff were very friendly the entire time. The major problem was that everything in our twin room looked dirty. There were stains on everything, walls, desks, etc. Luckily we were only there for one night. This was part of a package that stated it was a four star hotel. Luckily the package was well worth the money, or I would have been upset about booking a "four star" hotel that was so dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aslavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies about the upset caused to you. I hope if you brought these issues to our attention during your stay that we offered you a solution. If not please do not hesitate to contact me personally. We hope to refurbish some bedrooms in the near future and have already completed a sample room that we would be delighted to show you.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
rory@thedhotel.com
0419877700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my fiancee stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago. We had mentioned it to staff that we had recently got engaged and upon arrival we were upgraded to the penthouse suite. The room and views were magnificant and it was a lovely gesture from the hotel. We also ate in the hotels restaurant,WM Cairns, and the food was excellent and arrived in good time. This was our second time to have stayed in the hotel and we will definitely be back and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.
Thanks again
Ronan

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed two nights bed and breakfast in a balcony room. Room was bright and spacious and the balcony was a bonus especially with the warmer than usual weather. All staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was very handy and free. Good base for expiring the many historical sights in and around Drogheda.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked here for our 1st night in Ireland. We arrived at 11:30 and they had us in our room by noon. The room was spacious and modern and bathroom was roomy. Enjoyed the Gastro Pub too. Near a shopping mall and on a river promenade

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLWFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
253 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,501 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing