We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
England
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not for me.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It is a family hotel and full of kids running round. I presume they had parents somewhere. Rooms were clean and comfortable but noise level not to my liking. We had no choice but to stay here as we were on a bus tour. Food and service good and the hotel is right on the river and the town is within an easy walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our staff and food. We cater to all guests however during school holidays we naturally have a large amount of family guests. We do not let kids run around unattended by their parents and we have a special floor for kids movies so that other guests are not disturbed. I hope that any noise you experienced was reported to reception and dealt with straight away.
Kind regards,
Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    374
    156
    94
    78
See reviews for
297
450
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Got to the D Hotel on Tuesday night and was very lucky to get there last room ( thanks Rory ) This hotel is getting very popular with guest from a home and abroad and i would recommend booking well in advance. Again my stay was perfect and our meal in the restaurant outstanding. Well done to all the staff, hotel full and everything running smooth.

Frank C

Room Tip: Next door to a shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for staying at the d hotel once again and for your positive feedback about our staff and food. We look forward to seeing you again in the next few weeks.
Kind regards,
Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the d in late june for 2 nights,the location is good for shopping,staff are good,the hotel is very clean and has a kids playroom ,and the family packages are good value,however the atmosphere of the hotel with grey colour schemes,and black and white art photography (no paintings in room not even prints),drains it of ambiance especially when there is an incomplete celtic tiger building at the front door, and the port area is lifeless,The bar area is so dark in contrast to the scotch hall centre,i am sure there are many colourful local artists whose work and colour could enhance the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback about our location and staff received. We hope to refurbish some bedrooms in the near future and have already some lovely colourful photographs from local photographers picked out. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed 2 adults 2 children for 2 nights with a package deal that included entry to tayto park and funtasia water park. We had a king size bed and single and rollout bed. All beds were clean and comfortable. The only negative was that the room was very warm. We kept the window open until settling down for the night. I would suggest lighter bed clothes and a top sheet for summer nights.We paid cash on arrival and were a bit shocked to have to pay a €50 deposit as we were on a tight budget. Also be warned that when we arrived in tayto park only the entry was free and having a 10 and eleven year old we had to pay for all the good rides. But having said that there were lots of animals to see and things for young children that were free. The hotel gave us printed directions to both places and they were excellent. Someone had taken the bother to travel the routes and write out the directions with such detail as Centra to your left etc. The staff at the hotel were very good and especially the breakfast staff who did not rush us in any way.

Room Tip: No WiFi in top room. Seemed only to be in ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldinecatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Family room with great views. Staff for our stay was first class nothing was a problem and professional and friendly. Kids cinema great idea with bar for adults plenty of relieved parents whilst kids watched 'nemo'... Though bouncy ball machine prob not a great idea but kept the bored kids intrested even though I was ducking and diving ;-). Brekfast was great and kids cartoons on again to keep the wee tinkers occupied. Special thanks to the duty manager who kept us all happy and informed of the events. I saw plenty of smiles throughout my stay from parents and kids alike. Pleasure to stay and will be back again and recommend without a hesitation. Oh before I forget one woman stood out in particular who struck me as a genuine saint was working in D'lacys she helped out our wee boy at brekfast on Sunday she had a pony tail and was also working with a woman called Louise (I think).... Anyways thank you all for a great stay and see you soon :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiemcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel claims to be 4 star, this cannot be true! From the moment I walked in, the receptionist who could not even greet me! My room, was a corner room, overlooking a work site, a rusted balcony! My duvet was soiled! The carpet not even vacuumed, stains on carpet! Marks on walls! The hotel was never quiet, hens parties etc! I had an awful time! Would I come back, NEVER!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jazzy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies about the upset caused to you. I hope if you brought these issues to our attention during your stay that we offered you a solution. If not please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
rory@thedhotel.com
0419877700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my husband in a king corner suite which was really spacious, stylish and clean. We had dinner in De Lacy's restaurant which was excellent,our meal was absolutely Devine, all staff were very courteous and professional, special mention to Louise and Neil who made our night very enjoyable. We also visited cairns bar adjacent to the hotel which was very lively and had a great band playing. Overall from check-in to check-out our visit was second to none, well done, hope to visit again soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank realm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
253 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,503 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing