We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great. Hopefully be back soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great. Hopefully be back soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the d hotel for 1 night, included was tickets to tayto park. 2 adults, 2 children. Hotel was very clean, staff where very friendly and the food was fantastic. We had one problem that wasn't really caused by the hotel. The room was extremely hot. The weather was 25 plus outside. We had a fan that worked but because the air was hot it didn't really make a difference. Air conditioning would've been nice but honestly how often are you going to need it Ireland.!?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alanm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    353
    144
    84
    58
See reviews for
276
412
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

To start with it's a nice clean & well presented hotel. Staff are friendly & rooms nice.

On the downside, our 2pm check in ended up being 4.30pm because apparently the night before was very busy. No really an excuse a hotel should be using to be honest.

Secondly our 2 night, 2 parks deal was messed up by the person who took the booking over the phone. Name spelt wrong, email wrote down incorrect, no confirmation details sent to us & only 1 park booked instead of 2. They would get us tickets arranged but it was at our expense. I will add however after speaking to the duty manager 'Eddie' he arranged tickets for us ( even though we had already paid for them) but he was a decent man none the less.

Food wise the breakfast menu was very good & well presented.

The evening meal we had was nice & the staf friendly but the service level poor. Kids got their food & were finished by the time the adults meals arrived (the kids eats slow too) Staff were quick to start clearing the table after dinner but only cleared half of it. The rest sat until the kids had got and finished their dessert, and again it was only then the adults were served their desserts. The staff although very friendly lacked a sense of urgency & structure to what they were doing.

As I mentioned the rooms were clean, modern & well finished. The lack of aircon even here in ireland was a real let down for all of us. With only a window to open slightly & a fan the rooms were unbearably hot & sickening with everyone having to strip down to last & sleep on top of the covers.

The kids games room & fitness room aren't worth mentioning and look way more appealing in the photos than in real life.


I don't think I'd be back here in a hurry but wouldn't rate it as poor just yet as it has the basis for a good spot but needs to address a few important issues

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your constructive feedback received. Please accept our apologies that their was a mix up with your tickets and I am glad that Eddie resolved it for you.
We serve the kids food first to keep the kids occupied please accept our apologies if you were not made aware of this. Our check in time is from 3pm so please accept our apologies that your room was not ready at this time for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome and smiling faces. Plenty of variety for breakfast. Food was beautiful. Staff were lovely and friendly. Rooms were beautiful. Hotel was very clean. My family and i really enjoyed the stay and we would definately stay again. Really good value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We as a family of 4 stayed here for the 2 night ultimate package which included tickets to Tayto Park and Funtasia. This was great value for money and we didn't have to worry about finding activities to do each day. The hotel itself is so central to Drogheda town and is only a 10mins walk to the main street. We had a view of the river which was lovely. The shopping centre next door is lovely to walk around and we seen signs of a new cinema being built in it. The receptionist checking us in was lovely and allowed us to check in an hour early. We ate in De Laceys and availed of the family special of €45 for adults main course and children's main course with a dessert for the kids. The complimentary home made breads for starters were to die for and we couldn't for get to mention the lovely Louise. She is an absolute dote and nothing was a problem for her. The hotel are lucky to have her. From joking about with our children to telling us she baked the breads herself lol the breakfast is beautiful but the scrambled eggs were very watery. the rooms were clean but do show signs of general wear and tear. We had a laugh at the mini gym...its basically 3 machines crammed into an old bedroom and the kids play area is the same. I feel this is where the hotel could improve especially as it doesn't have a swimming pool. All in all we had a lovely break away and would love to come back sometime. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jules300902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

All in all a good place for families. We got an excellent package with entry into leisure parks. De Lacey's v strident is lovely.. Good food and very friendly staff. If I had to say anything bad it would be about 3pm check in and very minimalist room bordering on basic looking. All in all I would recommend for families and couples. Would maybe pray extra next time for river view.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed in the D hotel on the 29th july for two night stay. We had the family package, Bed and breakfast. Tickets into funtaisa and tayto park. Hotel was brillant. Had great view out over river. had dinner in the Wm cairns, fab. Staff were very helpful and great. The hotel had directions to both parks. They were spot on. five min walk from the centre of town. My young one loves penneys and was delighted to find one up the road. Have to stay had a wonderful time. Thank you to the D hotel for a brillant stay. and their staff !!!!!

Room Tip: great family hotel. They do great deals for family stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineOHalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed only one night in Drogheda, the staff at the front desk were so funny, helpful and welcoming. They went above and beyond to help us with our lost bags from the airport and to give good recommendations of where to eat. The room was very nice and clean.

My only complaint would be that it was a It was a bit warm in the room and there was only a small fan provided to help.

Other than that, it was a great stay! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The d hotel D, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Rory Scott, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.6 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing