We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Belfast -Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed in this hotel when the Samba festival was happening in Drogheda (end of June). It was easy to reach the hotel and parking was free in the shopping mall car park, just get your ticket validated at reception before you leave. Hotel i in a good location with just a short walk over the river and you are in the middle of town

Reception were friendly & efficient and were able to give us help on particular places we needed to go to. Room was large and very comfortable with a room overlooking the river. It did overlook the bar's terrace too but we weren't disturbed by any noise.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel and it was a buffet. That particular morning the breakfast room was packed but the staff were still efficent and able to get us everything we needed even though you could tell they were really busy. There was a good selection of hot & cold food and you can pick up a paper and relax over your breakfast.

We did have a few drinks in the bar in the evening as that was one of the locations of the festival with samba music & dancing.

It was only a short visit but we had a relaxing time

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    372
    155
    90
    75
See reviews for
288
447
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I have stayed here twice and I have not been disappointed at all. The rooms are spacious, the food in the restaurant is wonderful and the staff is always a pleasure to work with. My rooms have overlooked the river each time and have had a beautiful view of town. Great pubs within walking distance. There is a mall right next to the hotel, which is a wonderful convenience! Anything I have forgotten - I just pop next door to get it! This hotel is at the top of my list of places to stay - close to Dublin but without the Dublin prices!

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My husband and I spent two nights in the d last weekend. It is a really modern hotel built right beside the river Boyne. Reception area is very impressive and we had a nice large room. Personally I didn't like the rooms decor: 3 white walls and 1 very dark wall. Very minimalist but every thing you need. Bathroom was small and basic but spotless.
The bar is huge and open plan with lovely modern seats and couches. It is all table service and the service was the best that I have ever gotten in any hotel. Excellent bar food and we were totally surprised at how resonably priced it was. You can also sit outside by the river and they will put on the halogen heaters over your table if its chilly.The bar is quite lively with live music while we were there.
Breakfast was excellent. Its a buffet but the staff are for anything you need.
I loved this hotel and I look forward to going back.
Didn't check out Drogheada as we went to Belfast for the day. The shopping centre next to the hotel looks nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

A very new modern hotel on the river with helpful, friendly staff. Batroom reasonably small but comfortable room overlooking the river. The "Drogheda Samba Festival" on June 26th was a bonus... great fun..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Overall we had a great time at this hotel. It's in a top location, the room was gorgeous and the breakfast amazing!

The only negative was the receptionist who checked us in. I have to say all the other staff were excellent, the breakfast staff in particular were lovely and the reservations staff were very helpful. When we arrived she was on the phone and rather than smile at us and motion to wait (which we were more than happy to do), she cocked her head at me and when I didn't say anything she said looked me like I was the idiot and said 'yes'.....what a welcome!

Other than that we loved it....perfect room (book the one with the balcony) and lovely food. the drinks weren't overpriced and the shopping centre next door is a great addition.

We will go back someday, hopefully they will have upgraded the service at reception!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank withtoastontheside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Stayed here one night on a quick midweek getaway from Dublin. It was the cheapest "4*" place around and that really should have been an indication of things to come.
Restaurant was closed even though it was a Thurday night so we ate in the bar - average pub grub.
Room was basic and bathroom definately needed a clean. Didn't have to worry about the view becuase the window was too dirty to see out of and the smell of damp/'smelly feet wasn't exactly condusive to a romantic evening! Worse was to come the next morning as himself was tucking into a cold fry and stumbled upon the source of the odour......a previous guests runner abandoned under the breakfast table. In the cold light of day, both it and the room around us spoke volumes.....pass...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polopower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Myself and my partner went into the D Hotel for a meal last night which was by no means full, only about 5 tables being used, we sat down and went through the menu for about 10-15 mins and decided what we were going to order, no sign of any staff approaching us, waited for another 10 mins still no sign, caught some staffs eye-contact, no approach, ny partner went to the toilet and came back, no sign of staff, I went to the toilet and came back still no staff approaching, they were not busy, at this stage we got our coats and left. Very strange in this economic climate that staff would ignore you, never again, they can stick their food.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
249 reviews
6.3 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Property: The d Hotel Drogheda
Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing