We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lies, trickery and dirty lies”
Review of Westcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westcourt Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lies, trickery and dirty lies”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a single Saturday night.
- While they warned me there were some issues with the water boiler, they failed to mention this meant there was absolutely no hot water at ant time day or night.
- the room was just barely big enough to fit the bed
- when I checked in they told me I may hear a bit of noise downstairs from the nightclub, this was another wild understatement. The issue wasnt that there was a nightclub downstairs, the issue was there is no sound proofing to the street outside. I could hear people sneeze outside, so from 1AM to 4AM it was like trying to sleep on the street in the middle of a party.
- the free parking is in a unlit garage, it is pitch black down there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pleepleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    96
    47
    21
    22
See reviews for
81
98
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights with friends for rugby weekend.hHaving stayed here a few times over the last 20 years it says a lot.The hotel is located in the heart of the town and a great location to visit the many bars,no need for taxis so a bonus.
Bedroom was warm and clean and very modern.Bathroom had a walk-in shower and very clean.
Breakfast was very good and served with a loveky Irish smile.
The Westcourt does have live band and a nightclub which does cause noise problems late on,a few pints of Guinness solved the problem for our group!!
All staff were friendly and helpful would return again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Front of hotel were rather noisy,maybe the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nywlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrumba Downs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

On holiday from Australia while visiting friends in Ireland last month I stayed at The Westcourt for 9 nights. All the hotel staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for me. All you had to do was ask. The hotel bar was a great place to catch up with friends, served lovely lunches and had a very warm welcoming ambiance with attentive friendly waiters/waitresses. It seemed to be a favourite haunt for locals also. (Special thanks to Donna for looking after me while I was there.)
I do recommend the bar, the restaurant required reservations but I preferred the food and atmosphere of the bar. (family orientated during the day)
I think I stayed so long I was treated extra well by all the folks at the Westcourt.
Bed was comfy, bathroom clean and just the right size- power shower was lovely, room cleaned daily by friendly but not intrusive housekeeping. The nights of Friday and Saturday had a dance club downstairs, the sound of which wasn't too bad from my room (203), they did supply ear plugs if you were bothered by it. I noticed it stopped by 3am, probably earlier but I had no trouble falling asleep (without ear plugs) regardless. No lift, but staff helped with bags. The hotel is centrally located in Drogheda and was a good place to stay..about 40 minutes from Dublin airport as my friend drove. Drogheda is a friendly town and I totally recommend it, as I do this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor to escape night club noise Friday and Saturday nights. Lower floor if stairs are a bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybrack, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our room was slightly dated, but thats me being picky, the decor in the hotel itself is lovely, halls a little shabby or possibly dated again is a better word. The bathroom was fantastic, huge bath. Wouldn't get better in a 4star to be honest. Location is great, had no problem allowing us to check out at 2oc.

Lovely place

Room Tip: Breakfast Right across the street, big cafe, SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanOC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile


I have eaten here several times with family and have found both the food and the staff to be excellent in all respects. The food is presented extremely well & it tastes fantastic! Also priced quite reasonably!!

Tip - have a chat to the barman in the restaurant about after dinner cocktails, he was very friendly to us and entertained us with some nice banter

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petergrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly for this older hotel, I got a great room, large bedroom and revamped bathroom, very nice. Everything I needed.

Receptionist was very nice on check in, friendly & efficient and gave me two complimentary passes for the night club.

Didn't use car park as it was Sunday and got street parking, but it seemed like a big ordeal to be let in. Big downside was noise, I had a street facing room and as it was a bank holiday the noise went on from 2am to 4am, PVC windows very badly made, no sound insulation, disappointing .

Apart from that it's a great location , town centre great rooms and friendly service. Would recommend if you are going out on town, much friendlier than the scruffy D Hotel nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed at the Westcourt Hotel for a long weekend in September, with several friends and family members. The staff were absolutely fantastic! They pulled out all the stops to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Breakfast each morning was truly lovely, with wonderful fresh local produce and gorgeous wheaten bread. Their breakfast room also doubles as their restaurant and is very conducive to good conversation, with lovely lighting.
Our bedroom had been recently refurbished, and was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, incorporating a wet room type shower.
The only thing I would say is that given the central location of this hotel it is advisable to wear ear plugs to assist sleep, as the noise levels from the street can be problematic.
We had lunch in the hotel on three occasions, and were not disappointed. Their foyer is very comfortable and lots of us gathered there in the evenings to enjoy a few convivial drinks and some good conversation.
I look forward to my next trip there!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seals36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.7 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
250 reviews
6.6 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
13.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcourt Hotel

Property: Westcourt Hotel
Address: West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 minutes from Dublin International Airport in the heart of Drogheda and the historical Boyne Valley, Westcourt Hotel is close to shopping centres, top golf courses, Newgrange and other historical areas, and is central and perfect for weekend getaways, family and business travel. Well connected by road and rail, and featuring modern rooms and high-speed internet access, Westcourt Hotel can accommodate meetings, conventions and weddings.Enjoy the buzz of Barroco Bar and Earth Nightclub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Westcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcourt Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing