We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay”
Review of Westcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westcourt Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Room 100 very loud fans from kitchen went on most of the time, unable to sleep, but the room was great staff should inform guests of this problem hotel reception staff brilliant parking was free a really nice hotel

Room Tip: room 100 was very loud because the fans from the kitchen was outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the recent review on your recent stay at The Westcourt.
Apologies that your stay with us was disrupted with noise from fans. If you get a chance can you email me, barry@westcourt.ie.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards

-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    91
    45
    18
    20
See reviews for
76
91
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been decorated beautifully and we especially loved the bar area, where the staff were friendly polite and helpful. Our one disappointment was the room which was dated and in all honesty apart from the recently refurbished bathroom didn't look much better than a cheap Blackpool bed and breakfast room! This is not the room we had seen on the websites for this hotel and there own brochure claimed that'all rooms in this hotel have been refurbished'. The bed was also uncomfortable and very small. However, as we were only here for one night we didn't raise this issue with reception. We didn't have breakfast included so I cannot comment on the quality of the food. One warning: this hotel does not have a lift !

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Westcourt Hotel. I had passed your comments onto the bar team who were very happy!
Apologies that your bedroom was not what you expected, perhaps if you have a free moment you can send me an email, barry@westcourt.ie, and I can look into which room you stayed in.
Regarding the lift, we do advise all customers that we do not have a lift (due to the age of the main building) but we do offer full porterage service.
Again apologies that your stay with us wasn't fully satisfactory and I hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards

-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We come to this hotel as often as we can. The staff is very helpful, rooms are comfortable, bar is buzzing in the evenings and the food in hotel restaurant is simply amazing. Free access to the night club when you are staying in the hotel. Breakfast is tasty and and fresh. Free parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great review on your recent visit to The Westcourt Hotel. It's great when customers take the time to write such positive comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back to The Westcourt very soon.

-Best Regards

-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After staying for two nights I must say that the staff at this hotel were very helpful and efficient. The hotel was immaculately clean. Very central to town centre. Was warned about loud music from nightclub but I think the birds in the morning were worse!

Room Tip: If you can sleep through a bit of music then request a room on the first floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 705claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Westcourt Hotel, your review is much appreciated by all the staff and management.
Sorry about the birds, the main river that runs through Drogheda is very close to the hotel, so the birds can be chirpy by times!

Hopefully in the future we can welcome you back to The Westcourt Hotel.

Best Regards

-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a pleasant place to stay! Very helpful and kind staff, beautiful hotel.
Had a triple room which had 2 double beds, beautifully decorated. I honestly could not have asked for anything better! Breakfast was perfect and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the very nice review on your recent stay at The Westcourt Hotel.
Your comments are greatly appreciated by all the staff and management.

If you are in Drogheda again, please let me know.

Best Regards

-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and my wife stayed for one night at the hotel for a 40th birthday. We ended up eating from Mexican style menu earlier in the day in the main bar and it was very tasty and reasonably priced. The room was clean and while small, it was very comfortable. A very nice bathroom with a proper shower. The hotel can be a bit noisy as the main street is right outside and there is a nightclub, but this is only on a Friday and Saturday and they actually offer ear plugs if you ask! But the noise isn’t especially bad. The staff are an absolute credit to the hotel though. From the check-in, to the bar staff, people serving the food, to the staff at the 40th. Every single one of them were warm, friendly and good fun. If you’re in Drogheda or surrounding areas, than you could do a lot worse then spend you nights here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest.

What a great review, thanks for taking the time to write such positive comments on your recent stay.
I had passed your review onto all involved who were delighted with your comments too.
As you mentioned, we are located on the main street, which is great if exploring the area, but can be slightly noisy Friday and Saturday nights. We have rooms towards the back of the hotel which are quiet. If you are in Drogheda again, let me know and I can allocate a quieter room.

Best Regards
-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have traveled many times to Ireland but this was the first time we headed up North. Unsure of the area, I relied on reviews on TripAdvisor. The positive reviews were accurate. Westcourt hotel is located in a lovely little Irish city named Drogheda. They accommodated an early arrival (perfect for arrival day from Dublin Airport) so we could rest, shower, and begin our vacation. The rooms were clean and updated and their restaurant, West 29, was delicious.

Room Tip: You can request a quiet room if staying when their nightclub is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvclita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C, Manager at Westcourt Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for Westcourt Hotel. I had passed your review to the team who were delighted with your comments too. Great that you got to dine in West29 too and thanks for the positive feedback.
Hopefully when you are in Ireland again, you can stop by The Westcourt.

Best Regards
-Barry Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.4 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
1.7 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
20.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcourt Hotel

Property: Westcourt Hotel
Address: West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 minutes from Dublin International Airport in the heart of Drogheda and the historical Boyne Valley, Westcourt Hotel is close to shopping centres, top golf courses, Newgrange and other historical areas, and is central and perfect for weekend getaways, family and business travel. Well connected by road and rail, and featuring modern rooms and high-speed internet access, Westcourt Hotel can accommodate meetings, conventions and weddings.Enjoy the buzz of Barroco Bar and Earth Nightclub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcourt Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing