We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel central location”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Beautifully decorated hotel in very central location.Food was good especially breakfast.
Stayed with my husband and son and in my opinion the hotel was perhaps a bit too formal for children.
In saying that a great hotel for couples.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    132
    46
    18
    2
See reviews for
80
252
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I booked several rooms in Feb 11 for clients and I will not use this hotel again. All clients complained that the rooms were freezing cold and none had hot water the following morning. I was still charged the full price despite complaining. In fairness to the Hotel they explained the heating was broken during my guests stay and it was a once off. The rooms were absolutely tiny, with almost no space to move. One of my clients complained he had to iron his shirt in the hallway as he couldn't do it comfortably inside the room. The bar area has a good atmosphere and the building is nice but I will never send another client to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abugerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholars, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
I regret the fact that you have made your decision not to stay at Scholars after your clients disappointing visit. You are correct in your statement regarding the rooms being cold on the night in question. We had a technical issue with our heating system which was out of our control, to counteract that we put portable heaters in every room that requested them and extra blankets if anybody needed them. When you called reception after your clients stay, You refused to speak to a Manager. I personally left messages and rang several occasions to your office to call me back, as I wanted to resolve the matter by possibly not charging you for some of the rooms. If you would like to call me to resolve the matter I would be happy to take the call. The rooms are relatively small and as a listed building could not be enlarged during renovations for heritage reasons. Each Bedroom has been approved by Failte Ireland as three star criteria. Our rooms are fully equipped with all facilities that of any modern hotel. Our more regular corporate clients from Bridgestone,Coca-Cola, Flogas, Sony and certain government officials have never had to bring an ironing board outside their bedroom to iron their shirt. Scholars Townhouse Hotel is renowned for its remarkable quality in the Hospitality sector and will do its utmost ensuring it stays that way. Once again, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.

Regards.
Mark Mc Gowan
Proprietor/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We recently had our wedding at this wonderful hotel and can't say enough nice things about it. From Hazel, one of the managers, to the lovely staff, we had a day to remember. Everything from start to finish was 1st class. The food was wonderful, everybody passed comment on it. Thank you, Scholars for making our special day, one of the best days of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We recently had a family dinner here and it was far from satisfactory.Although the service was fine,the food was not as described on the menus.Each course was rather bland to say the least and certainly not value for the prices charged.The restaurant is not child friendly and the owner/doorman scowls at the young children if they put a foot wrong.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Well it has to said that the word "quality" actually means something to the staff and proprietors of this delightful hotel.

Food is first class, the bar is warm and charming with experienced staff who are keen to be attentive and considerate.

I can not say enough to justify the incredible value and quality of this little diamond. Surely has to be one of the best establishments in Drogheda if not the Island.

A fine hotel. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomohawk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stopped off at the Scholars Townhouse hotel at the end of our holiday and it really topped off a great break away around Ireland. We were warmly welcomed by staff and from the beginning they could not do enough for us. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and it is no exaggeration to say that it was simply the the best meal that I can recall for a very long time. Staff were friendly an courteous at all times, and I can honestly say that I cannot recommend this hotel and restaurant highly enough.
We noted that the Hotel runs Gourmet Nights on occasion with World Master Chef George Smith, and will definitely be looking to make one of these in the future. Check out their website for details if you're going to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I drove about 40 minutes north of Dublin to stay at this wonderful hotel. It is located in the town of Drogheda, not far from the famous sites of Knowth, Newgrange, Slane Castle and the like. The hotel groud were overflowing with flowers and fountains. The first floor is divided into a wonderful bar (where my husband sampled some of the best local whiskeys) and a formal dining room where luscious breakfasts are served in the mornings and which overflow at night with hotel guests and local residents. The food at this restaurant was superb. Coming from NYC and being goodies, we were pleasantly surprised with the artistry of the dishes, the perfect preparation and the great service. Everyone in the hotel was so incredibly kind and efficient - we were treated like royalty. Our room, 105, was a bit noisy at night from some loud revelers partying on the patio, but hotel staff promptly got other guests to quiet down. Other than that, a perfect stay. The hotel should be given a 4 star rating- great place especially for the value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekmag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
253 reviews
18.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Property: Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing