We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely stay. While the rooms were small, the beds were comfy! The highlight was the food. Wow!!! Incredible breakfast, and the mussles we had in the bar in the evening were among the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    127
    46
    16
    2
See reviews for
77
240
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

An oasis in a busy old town. I was going to say quirky but that would be misleading. This is a quality hotel with excellent staff throughout, excellent food, small but very comfortable rooms all within a unique atmosphere. Highly highly recommended. Staying here is like belonging to an exclusive but friendly and welcoming club.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElderScroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

super location while staying in drogheda, cosy little bar and fab restaurant.
I spent two nights and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of scholars, the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating
we had a business meeting on one of the days and found it to be a nice quiet location for an offsite
meeting
i certainly will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daithimacliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My one night stay included dinner with a past student of this former Christian Brothers school building that is now a very nice hotel with pub and restaurant. The staff were very friendly. Dinner for a group of five was excellent and with great service. Several of us had the catch of the day which was delicious. Bedroom was on the small size, but very comfortable and quiet. The hotel location is just a short walk from the bustling downtown streets and shopping district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTWayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Scholars Townhouse was our final destination in Ireland and it did not disappoint. The rooms were on the small side, but comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and the atmosphere both in the bar area and the dining room were very relaxed, despite the regal feel to both. Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting alternate places to eat for lunch and gave us great directions for walking the town. Very welcoming and it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishLassie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Been there on Friend Birth-day party. we arrived early so we took a couple of drinks at the bar, Staffs were so very nice and friendly ... The garden is very beautiful and well kept, The food in the restaurant was very good, I enjoy the Lamb, and beautiful dessert. Quite busy that night but staff work away with smile, Location wise it really in the heart of Drogheda. Will keep remind myself to come-down and have my very own romantic dinner here sometime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience. I know you feel that we were slightly lacking value for money. On our defence, lamb is an expensive cut of meat. Thank you for your comments about your overall experience. Let us know when you are joining us on your next visit and we will try and do something special on the night.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Scholars on May 16, 2014 near the end of our 1.5 weeks on the island. Everything about this place was fantastic. The McGowans have created a quaint hotel based on local history with 5-star cuisine and service. The staff are very friendly and extremely competent and genuinely interested in providing first class service. The food was perhaps the finest we have ever enjoyed! Thanks to the wonderful experience, we WILL be returning to the Scholars!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments. Good traditional Irish welcomes and hospitality is what we pride ourselves on. Thank you for highlighting all things great about our small hotel.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
18.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
21.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Property: Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing