We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for a family occasion over the long weekend, staff were some of the friendliest I've ever met, food was brilliant, as was the service. Rooms are a bit small but really nice and extremely clean. Couldn't say a bad thing about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Scholars Townhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here recently to celebrate our grandparents 60th wedding anniversary . Couldn't fault anything of the weekend , even the small rod didn't dampen the spirits . Food was delicious , the hotel itself was beautiful and spotless , the staff were unbelievably helpful nothing was too much !! We will certainly be back .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msarah140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely stay. While the rooms were small, the beds were comfy! The highlight was the food. Wow!!! Incredible breakfast, and the mussles we had in the bar in the evening were among the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

An oasis in a busy old town. I was going to say quirky but that would be misleading. This is a quality hotel with excellent staff throughout, excellent food, small but very comfortable rooms all within a unique atmosphere. Highly highly recommended. Staying here is like belonging to an exclusive but friendly and welcoming club.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ElderScroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

super location while staying in drogheda, cosy little bar and fab restaurant.
I spent two nights and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of scholars, the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating
we had a business meeting on one of the days and found it to be a nice quiet location for an offsite
meeting
i certainly will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daithimacliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My one night stay included dinner with a past student of this former Christian Brothers school building that is now a very nice hotel with pub and restaurant. The staff were very friendly. Dinner for a group of five was excellent and with great service. Several of us had the catch of the day which was delicious. Bedroom was on the small size, but very comfortable and quiet. The hotel location is just a short walk from the bustling downtown streets and shopping district.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTWayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Scholars Townhouse was our final destination in Ireland and it did not disappoint. The rooms were on the small side, but comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and the atmosphere both in the bar area and the dining room were very relaxed, despite the regal feel to both. Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting alternate places to eat for lunch and gave us great directions for walking the town. Very welcoming and it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishLassie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
255 reviews
18.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £97 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing