We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with great food”
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This is a an elegant place with large rooms,an attentive staff and an excellent restaurant.That plus proximity to Newgrange/Knowth,Howth,and Mellifont Abbey make it a singular place

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    130
    46
    18
    2
See reviews for
78
245
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

hot or continental breakfast is included and we finally figured out how the black and white puddings are SUPPOSE to taste like. Within walking distance of basically everything in Drogheda. Weren't dissapointed on good Friday when we actually could order beers and other drinks. They have an average selection of beers but a large selection of Irish whiskey (Lockes 8 year is the best!). The rooms radiators were on full blast when we went to our rooms but that was easily remedied with an open window and a turn of the knob. Breakfast was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! the bed was comfy and the room was bright. You could peruse their bookcase for a good read if you're feeling desperate. Front desk was Extra helpful and everybody was friendly even the handymen doing the paint touchups were cheerful :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty_cat_cohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

this is the place to go if you are looking fine food,could not fault this hotel one bit

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Spent two night s here and was very impressed. One negative comment; the room was TINY - the hotel has retained a lot of its original design so this is perhaps understandable but you should be aware of it. Other than that, the room was fine, bathroom was recently renovated by the looks of it.

Otherwise, everything was great. All the staff at reception, the bar and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant atmosphere about the place, a sort of warm and cosy feeling which is very relaxing. The hotel is only a short walk (5 mins) from the centre of town.

The standard of food is excellent. We ate from the 'Tapas' menu in the bar, food was excellent but not very authentic tapas - we had chicken wings and beef stroganoff - still, it was good food and reasonably priced. Dinner in the restaurant was great too, €25 for three courses of good quality food which was very well cooked, highly recommended. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment in comparison, there was nothing wrong with it but not much of a selection.

Overall, Scholars was a great place to spend a couple of days, it has the kind of atmosphere that you only get with smaller hotels and the food was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenmarieb
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Great hotel and amazing food. The dining room is something to die for. I was visiting for a family wedding and the hotel provided us with being close to our family but also gave us the privacy and romantic weekend away together that we needed. Not the biggest room but everything you need and incredibly pretty and comfortable. The bar was great and the staff were so so very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Ths hotel is excellently located very close to Drogheda's historic inner town but with easy access out to the M1 motorway, making it an excellent alternative to overpriced Dublin hotels for those seeking a location close to the ferries. As a converted schoolteachers' house, it suffers the disadvantage that rooms are quite small and cramped, though adequate for an overnight stay. Also, some are quite close to a fairly busy traffic street, which might disturb some sleepers. The main glory of the hotel is the bar and restaurant, which offer an excellent dinner of fabulous good value - one of the best we've recently experienced. Overall this hotel fully justifies the high ratings that iother travellers have given it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We returned yesterday after 5 nights at this gem of a hotel. It was spotless and refurbished and decorated to a high standard. The food was delicious and service consistently high. It's hard to believe this is just a 3 star although our room, being small, may be a reason. The whole ambience made our stay relaxing and comfortable and Drogheda itself is an interesting town with a wealth of history to enjoy. Excellent base for touring the ancient historic sites of Newgrange, Knowth and the Hill of Tara (among many others). Dublin too is easily reached. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-allegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
248 reviews
8.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.9 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Property: Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Address: King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scholars Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scholars Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scholars Townhouse Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing