We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy food”
Review of Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yummy food”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

we went here for a confirmation dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it it was 50 euro per two adults but you got a bottle of wine with it and it was 3 courses. My only fault would be the kids menu which i found very limited ,but overall would recomend it for a special occassion or romantic meal for two.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamella 12 m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    58
    27
    20
    17
See reviews for
99
55
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Recently attended a wedding here on June 1st. Really great night, service was great, food too, Defo worth a return visit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySineady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Unfortunately our stay was poor, the room hadnt been hoovered on arrival, tiles were hanging off the bathroom wall and there was mould on the ceiling. (Tiles were missing or loose in many of the rooms our party stayed in.) The light in the bathroom was so dim that you could hardly see your face in the mirror. The room smelled of stale tobacco. The bedroom overlooked an area where children play with adult supervision so there were people looking into our room constantly with only heavy curtains on the windows for privacy. We were attending a surprise birthday party which didnt turn out to be a surprise as the staff were over run dealing with another party and totally forgot to set out our party until 6 minutes before the arrival time - hence nothing ready and no surprise! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynDuggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't stay over again but would come for a meal only. PLEASE UPDATE YOUR ROOMS

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliemcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I needed one night on the North side of Dublin but it was the night before St Patricks day. Most places were either full or charging a very hefty premium. I came across the Glenside just off junction 7 of the M1. I knew nothing about it except it fitted the bill for location, services and price. Just Euro 41 for B&B. I found it very easily - well signed off the main road. On entering I found a very highly appointed, pristine quality hotel and the whole place looked newly refurbished. Check in was ultra efficient and the room quite ideal and just so clean. Everyone was so pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was high quality too. Really can't praise it enough. ill definitely be back in the Summer. And the price was half what one would expect to pay nearer to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whittimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Live near hear and heard it had new management/chef so decided to try it. Waitress got order wrong and one of the party ended up eating after everyone was finished,vegetables were cold food was mediocre. The fact that people think it is good shows how badly Drogheda is for nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toohotinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here recently with two small children. The room was newly decorated with plenty of bed space. Hotel staff were very attentive to the children, hey have colouring sheets and colours and are very flexible in regards the kids menu. We were attending a wedding and they organised a sitter who was very experienced. The wedding reception was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
3.8 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenside Hotel

Property: Glenside Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing