We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Laytown Co Meath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reliable”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Glenside Hotel is a local hotel that we eat at regularly. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and attentive and provide very good service. The food is consistent and the menu is varied from salmon and hake to steak and turkey and ham. My only observations are ( being a qualified chef myself) is that a lot of the sauces are from a packet or jar the onion marmalade that is served with the Brie is awful some roasted fresh plums would be more suitable. Also the toilets really could be decorated better, they are in need of a lick of paint and on more than one occasion the toilets needed a clean with various cubicles having no toilet roll. The receptionists are lovely and chef that serves carvery very polite so it is a shame the other factors let it down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    55
    26
    19
    17
See reviews for
92
53
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 night sin August for a friend's wedding. The rooms are comfortable and are waht you would expect from a 3* hotel. Whhat sets this hotel apart is the friendliness of all the staff and the charming Irish welcome that they afford you as a guest. The food was excellent and the restaurant was full of locals on Friday lunchtime having the carvery lunch. The breakfast was excellent - good quality produce and piping hot. The hotel is out of the way and we were only there for a wedding but it would make an excellent stop-over of base for exploring the area. We took a bus directly from Dublin Airport (No. 101) which stops outside the hotel. (40-50mins bus ride - 9.50Euro return ticket). On the way back we took the bus into the centre of Dublin because we had booked a central hotel for our last night. All very easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a difficult one as the Glenside is Loved by the locals including the v large town of Drogheda and surrounding villages. Im not a huge fan of carvery piled high versions of sunday lunch on a plate But who am i to complain . The Glenside has been around since what feels like old gods time and it does exactly what it says on the tin . Best of luck to the owners at providing an extremely consistant and predictive menu.Im more spontanious and its just not my cup or tea but it is the majorities . So why not try it for yourselves and see if its your cuppa.Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This small modern hotel is a good base for touring the Boyne Valley, within easy reach of beaches and only 20 minutes heading north from Dublin airport. It specialises in functions which was what we needed. We found the management and staff excellent in their planning and carrying out of our jubilee celebration with 150 guests. Recently refurbished rooms, with wi-fi, give the feeling of a business with an eye to travellers' needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The room was of adequate size with a big screen tv showing the Irish tv channels. Free wi-fi was available. Breakfast was great and starts at 7 which is very useful. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
I'll be calling again as I feel I got great service and very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squidgy-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

we went here for a confirmation dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it it was 50 euro per two adults but you got a bottle of wine with it and it was 3 courses. My only fault would be the kids menu which i found very limited ,but overall would recomend it for a special occassion or romantic meal for two.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamella 12 m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Recently attended a wedding here on June 1st. Really great night, service was great, food too, Defo worth a return visit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySineady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
12.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,377 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenside Hotel

Property: The Glenside Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing