We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Happy and Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, Happy and Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Well I was recently at the Glenside for a celebration Function and stayed over night. What Can I say, instantly you feel welcome and at home, Staff are like your family. The night was so much fun and the set up of the function was sophistication, the surprises didn't stop there and when the fantastically set up Buffet with carved veg etc was served we tasted TOP CLASS food EVERYONE complimented the Chef! EVERYONE and we ate until we could eat no more. No one had to worry about what to do next as you where quietly led (unnoticed) and where entertained through the night before we retired to very comfortable rooms within yards of the function restaurant and Bar and yet no noise could be heard. Breakfast in the tastefully decorated restaurant finished off a fantastic day and night. I cant say enough about this place.........Don't miss out on this little Gem...... a true Emerald of this Isle.

Room Tip: Well use the Suite, its a fantastic four poster room and very very reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROOM1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear mrlomax1031,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the function you attended and to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. I will pass your very generous comments to our Head Chef and his team.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.



Best regards,

Ronan McAuley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    55
    26
    19
    17
See reviews for
92
53
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a meal for two here recently following a recommendation from a friend. I hadn't eaten hear for a long time and was lloking forward to meal. It did not disappoint. My wife said that the lamb was the best she had for a long time and I really enjoyed my chicken sizzler. The chowder starter was tasty and warming on a cold night. The friendly staff created a relaxed atmosphere and we really enjoyed a good night to blow the January blues away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarraghTulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Darragh Tulla

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. We were very happy to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your meal at our hotel. Furthermore, it was wonderful to note that you appreciated the friendly service, which we always strive to achieve.

Thank you for recommending the Glenside Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the hotel.



Best regards

Ronan McAuley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

The staff at the Glenside are exceptionally hard working and would do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

After marrying in Mauritius, my new wifes' parents decided to throw us a party at the Glenside Hotel Drogheda. We travelled to Drogheda from Cavan on three occassions to discuss and plan the event. On the day some things were changed, we have to assume these were due to mixups somewhere, however my advice would be to keep everything in writing just to ensure the day goes as planned.

Also ensure you have somebody appointed to collect and store any presents and supervise the running of the day as planned because the bride and groom have too much to do when meeting guests etc. Unfortunately some gifts were lost in the confusion as we never thought to appoint anyone.

We were told putting up pictures on the screen was determined by whether the manager was available, it struck me that the majority of staff are technophobes as I was able to put the same pics on the TV in my room... using a remote control.

There were times during the day when we had to remind the staff of things that had been pre arranged, it was a minor inconvenience but may seriously annoy some people. We also had to arrange the collection of leftover items on 3 occasions One of these we were rang about.

The Hotel band were excellent however, it would have been nice to be involved with the music selection for the night as a lot of our party were young but the majority of the music played was for an older group. As I said earlier these are things we should have spoken to the hotel about or had a meeting arranged with the group 'Clockwise', they are excellent artists and are more than capable of playing any music genre.

The rooms are dated but very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent although after a wedding they may need to consider extending their late breakfast finishing time, as some of the party were refused breakfast... after spending a lot of money in the hotel to then be at the mercy of a Chef's strop? Possibly worth considering.

As we were married in Mauriitius and as this was simply meant to be the Irish celebration we refused the services of the hotel photographer. I'm not certain if this was a reason however, the hotel regularly congratulate their wedding couples on facebook, we were not congratulated. Personally it didn't bother me but the inlaws might have appreciated a congratulations for their daughter. When I pointed this out I received an apology and was asked to forward pictures of our actual wedding with one from the night at the Glenside. I have to respect any organisation or hotel that proves it is proactive and obviously appreciates a bit of constructive criticism. Obviosly the Management are progressive and conscientious

Besides the wedding issues which I must admit were predominantly ours for not knowing what to have in place (Don't make the same mistake as us), we really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel. Although dated, it's very comfortable. The staff are exceptional, I won't insult them by naming anyone specifically, they are all brilliant. The food is out of this world. As a restaurant this hotel is first class. Book it now.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damo-emt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff in this comfortable carvery. Great selection of meals every day. Quality consistent all the time. Would recommend. This restaurant has many regular customers who return week after week. This, in it self, is a great vote of confidence in the carvery.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here in September and found the rooms very spacious and clean and the food in the resteraunt lovely. All the staff are very helpful and friendly . Ideal lication close to drogheda . I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back there soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytown Co Meath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Glenside Hotel is a local hotel that we eat at regularly. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and attentive and provide very good service. The food is consistent and the menu is varied from salmon and hake to steak and turkey and ham. My only observations are ( being a qualified chef myself) is that a lot of the sauces are from a packet or jar the onion marmalade that is served with the Brie is awful some roasted fresh plums would be more suitable. Also the toilets really could be decorated better, they are in need of a lick of paint and on more than one occasion the toilets needed a clean with various cubicles having no toilet roll. The receptionists are lovely and chef that serves carvery very polite so it is a shame the other factors let it down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 night sin August for a friend's wedding. The rooms are comfortable and are waht you would expect from a 3* hotel. Whhat sets this hotel apart is the friendliness of all the staff and the charming Irish welcome that they afford you as a guest. The food was excellent and the restaurant was full of locals on Friday lunchtime having the carvery lunch. The breakfast was excellent - good quality produce and piping hot. The hotel is out of the way and we were only there for a wedding but it would make an excellent stop-over of base for exploring the area. We took a bus directly from Dublin Airport (No. 101) which stops outside the hotel. (40-50mins bus ride - 9.50Euro return ticket). On the way back we took the bus into the centre of Dublin because we had booked a central hotel for our last night. All very easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
20.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
7.3 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenside Hotel

Property: The Glenside Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing