We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cosy and welcoming on a wet morning. Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So cosy and welcoming on a wet morning. Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had breakfast here and it so nice. Hotel is spotless warm and welcoming. Decor is fab and staff very friendly. We had our fifteen month old little boy with us and the staff were really friendly to him as we'll. had scones and tea which were lovely. Will be our new spot for Sunday morning breakfast from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reailtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    55
    26
    19
    17
See reviews for
92
53
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well to say this is a stunning hotel is an understatement ...STAFF amazing ... FOOD amazing wil defo be back especially a big thank you to CHRISTIAN AND URSULA thank you girls you both made our night turn out better than we hoped because of the mess up with THE D HOTEL .. thank you both ..

we will see you soon

anita dublin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Went to view hotel for our wedding venue loved it so much we stayed over for the night in February for the wedding fair got a great deal in the bridal suite, staff are so friendly and easy to get on with couldn't do enough for us we've been back a couple of times since and each time it's the same needless to say we have booked our wedding here for next year can't wait oh and the food is amazing could go on all day :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saysay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

i booked my wedding in dec 2012 after finding this hotel through a social media site. we were greeted at our first meeting by Ursula and offered tea and coffee while we waited on our meeting with Marie. Marie listened very attentively and wrote everything down we asked for. We were more than happy to pay the very reasonable deposit on the night. For our next visit we snook into the restaurant to see what the service was like before anyone copped we were a wedding client and we were not let down although Ursula did notice us before the meal was over and sent himself over a pint of beer on the house! We cannot wait for our big day, after visiting the hotel on a wedding fayre night where a very ordinary pretty little hotel was transformed into a beautifully lit and romantic paradise. Initially it was the ball room that we fell in love with but pretty soon after the staff stole our hearts. There like a little family over there with welcoming smiles on there faces and they never miss a beat, they recognize everyone by name immediately. We are so happy we chose the Glenside Hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for top notch service on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanlu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Sanlu27,


Your review caused great excitement when we received it as you have summed up in a few lines what we get up to do here every day - that is to provide a friendly, welcoming place to stay, eat and celebrate with a passion for attention to detail, personal service and great food, where you can relax and trust us to look after you and yours . . .

For the team to read your experience and thoughts of how they treat our guests is just fabulous and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.


We are looking forward to your Big Day and assure you that we will work hard to ensure you have a Fantastic Day at glensidehotel.ie



Best,

Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a great break with the kids and a group of friends at The Glenside and were thoroughly looked after from start to finish. The receptionist was warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was fantastic - great value and of a really high standard. The restaurant manager really catered for our needs and make sure the kids were looked after too, which was really helpful.

Great bar area too with good food options and opening onto a patio/garden area with seating and picnic benches - perfect for letting the kids have a run about while we enjoyed a glass of vino in the evening sun.

Breakfast was cooked to order and again was delicious - they kept the toast and tea/coffee coming!

We stayed in the Hilary Suite which was really nicely done - big four poster bed, plenty of room, lovely bathroom (with corner bath). Nice touches with bottled water, freshly prepared chopped fruit and a newspaper. Our friends had a standard double which wash't huge but did the job.

Location was spot on - 10 minutes drive from Funtasia water park and 5 minutes from Bettystown beach. Tayto park would have been another option close by but not enough time.

All in all would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Suite a great option as it's the last room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear MagsD,


Just a quick note to thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I have shared your comments with the team who were on duty during your stay and was asked to pass on to you that they hope your enjoyed your homemade chocolate brownie!

We have had quite a few families stay with us to visit Funtasia and Bettystown Beach over the last few weeks so it is great to see that your visit was a success.


Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback and I hope we see you soon at glensidehotel.ie


Best,

Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ive been comming here all my life and altough the building has changed the food has remained the best in the town and the staff the friendliest. We decided to have our wedding reception here and the staff did so much for us to make our day specail.

The carvery is lovely and the hotel is alway busy come lunch as a result. The resturant is beautiful and cosy and the food is fantastic.

The bridal suite is so nice and comfortable, spacious and the bathroom is lovely too.

Anytime we eat here or have a family celebration we always enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Jenny M

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We were very happy to read that overtime our food and service has been of a high standard.

We were equally pleased to read that you had your wedding reception at our hotel and that it was made to be as special as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Glenside Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ronan McAuley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I have been going here for years and years and years and have never gotten a bad meal, always lovely food. Recently I had two family meals here with a large group and food was still at great standard. I love the lamb. Very tastefully decorated and staff are friendly and attentive. Affordable too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingpenguin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at The Glenside Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear travellingpenguin88

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that our food has always been of great standard, and that our staff were friendly and attentive.

Your loyalty is highly valued and we thank you for choosing the Glenside hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenside in the future.

Kind regards


Ronan McAuley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
20.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
7.3 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenside Hotel

Property: The Glenside Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing