We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience and Staff”
Review of Glenside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Glenside is absolutely wonderful. My friend and I were visiting from the States and were invited to attend a large dinner hosted at the Glenside. The food was fantastic and the staff were incredibly accommodating and attentive. We stayed for the night and our room was spacious, comfortable and clean with a large flat screen TV. I can't say enough about the service and quality of the food. The entire experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraNYC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Laura NYC444

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

Our team were delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at glensidehotel.ie so much and even happier to read that you complimented the customer service.

We are delighted that your entire experience of glensidehotel.ie was fantastic and hope that it will be a return destination for you in the future.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently visited Ireland to see friends, and the Glenside was by far the best hotel experience we had in Ireland. The staff are absolutely lovely and we could not have been treated kinder.

The weather cooperated and was perfect when we arrived, and we were able to have drinks in the back garden with our party. It was so charming and the following dinner could not have been more gorgeous. The small touches throughout the hotel let you know that it's truly run by people who care. We very much enjoyed the stunning photos of the surrounding area in the lobby and halls, as well as the thoughtful details in the rooms themselves. It was the best sleep I had the whole week.

We hadn't planned on visiting the carvery in the hotel the next day, but ended up eating at the hotel and I'm so happy we did. I've been craving the stuffing and parsley sauce ever since.

Thank for everything Glenside! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear HeidiW

Thank you for sharing your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

Our team were delighted to read that you rated the glensidehotel.ie as your best hotel experience in Ireland and also rated the customer service so highly.

It is always lovely to read when a guest appreciates the smaller finishing touches throughout the hotel as we strive to make every customer experience welcoming and enjoyable. We were delighted to read that the weather allowed you enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of our gardens with your friends.

We hope you will consider the glensidehotel.ie for your next stay in Drogheda.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff in this Hotel are at the top end of their game, professional and very pleasant.
The grounds of the Hotel are very well presented and outdoor seating area very clean.
Our evening meal was delicious and breakfast the best we have ever tasted.
The bedroom was clean and really nicely decorated and the flat screen tv on the wall
ticked all the boxes for my football liking Husband. This Hotel represented excellent value for money. I for one did not want to go home

Room Tip: We were in 107 beside Reception. In our room the Shower as normal was located in the bath. I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJB258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Manager at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear MJB258

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

Our team were delighted to read that you found them so friendly and professional and were even happier to read that you enjoyed the food so much.

We were happy to read that you felt your stay was excellent value for money and we look forward to your return at glensidehotel.ie.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Today me and my family and family from donegal arrived too the glenside for there regular sunday carvery were we regularly go as a family. there was seven off us today we were told we would be waiting 20 mins which was fair enough as time was passing a few people went on in ahead off us including a family off four who were there after us . So twenty minites passed and my sister in law asked if we were able too go in soon and was told too wait a little longer as there was family off eleven before the us an hour passed and a member off staff came and asked could we split up as it was the only way too accommodate us . After waiting an hour we were only asked would we mind being split up which is very disappointing service. we wanted too eat as a family so decided too leave and received service and are food within twenty minutes With plesent service and delicious food from another restaurant. From are terrible experience in the glenside hotel today we have decided never too return too the hotel. and one more thing we had two small hungry children put through this ordeal

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank minidrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Front Office Manager at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear minidrog

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

It is with much regret that I am reading your disappointment with your visit to glensidehotel.ie. As our Sunday carvery is extremely popular we are unable to take reservations for it, which is why you were asked to wait. Unfortunately the number of your guests may have added to your waiting time as our team were trying their best arrange for a table large enough to accommodate your family sitting.

I would like to discuss this further with you and would ask that you email francesca@glensidehotel.ie or forward on your contact details to this email and I will gladly contact you at a time that suits you best.

Kind Regards,
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a quaint, cosy, family friendly hotel and our whole family loves it. We have had Weddings, Engagement dinners, Christenings, family get togethers and lots of Sunday roast dinner's here and every time, it's fantastic. They are so family friendly that we never feel uncomfortable having our children with us there.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in are quiet, clean and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanONW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear SiobhanONW

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

Our team were so happy to read that glensidehotel.ie is your choice location for all your family events and we were even happier to read that our staff make you and your family feel so welcome each time you visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding at the glenside on the 25th of April,we were delighted.It was fab from start to finish.All of our guests commented on the lovely food and friendly staff.Marie in particular did such a great job from when we first booked our wedding right through.We couldn't have been happier with our big day,and it was all thanks to the glenside and there amazing staff.Would highly recommend this venue.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Mick B

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you and your guest enjoyed your special day so much. We take a huge amount of pride in delivering a welcoming, friendly customer service to all and its always a pleasure to read when a customer recognises this.

We would like to thank you for choosing glensidehotel.ie as your wedding venue choice and for strongly recommending it to others. It was a pleasure working with you both.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We celebrated our wedding reception in The Glenside Hotel on 26th April 2014. This hotel is 2nd to none in our opinion for wedding venue choice. Food and service was fantastic and highly complimented by our guests. The food was so good, 2 of our guests travelled back up from Dublin the following day to have dinner. The wedding co-ordinator, Marie, and all the team catered to our every need from start to finish with plenty of advice and guidance along the way. Marie was there on the day right from the start to the very end of the night and made sure ourselves and our guests were well looked after.
The room looked amazing on the day, we had an image of how we wanted the room to look and Marie most definitely made it a reality, we were absolutely thrilled with it on the day and our guests loved it. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glensidehotel, Owner at Glenside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Paula D

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of glensidehotel.ie on Trip Advisor.

Our team were dighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed the food and service so much.

Marie and the team were happy to read that the wedding decor was a dream come true for you. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing glensidehotel.ie as your wedding venue. It was a pleasure working with you both and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
2.6 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
3.8 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
20.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenside Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Co. Meath, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenside Hotel is set in a peaceful countryside setting. Located 2 km south of the historic town of Drogheda, the Glenside Hotel is well renowned for great food and warm friendly service. Specialising in weddings and family-orientated celebrations, the hotel facilities include 16 well-appointed rooms, a cosy lounge bar, A la Cárte Restaurant and a ballroom which can cater for functions from 20 to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing