We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, and "Thank you very much" for your arrangement”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orley House
Ranked #15 of 15 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Shinagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent, and "Thank you very much" for your arrangement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our three days stay was great, room has good sence and clean,
breakfast is very good, garden is beautiful. I felt very relaxed.
Furthermore, despite of my flight to Amsterdam was cancelled
because of the eruption of the volcano, staff was kindly made advise
to re-book the fligth from Belfast, and we successfully return to Japan.

I would like to stay again for a month, if I have a long holiday...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I have booked a double room august 24 and I have arrived for taking the room in the usual schedule of check in (to the 4.10 pm) and ... surprise... there was no anybody. I have rung to both the bells as in demand and nobody has opened, then I have waited 30 min. I have looked for another place in which to go to sleep, so I had lost the booking of the visit to Newgrange. .... When I have called the B&B Orley House (5 pm) they have said that they were to make shopping!! and then at 11 pm they withdraw me the money from the credit card!!!!!! despite I had distrusted them they have taken my money without having furnished me the performance!!! Now I have reported them to the italian authority.... Avoid you him

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank turist68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Client made a booking and cancelled at 5.20pm day of arrival , said they were staying in Dublin . Client claimed he was at Orley House but did not appear on cctv camera. Client was told of the cancellation charge when making his booking. The Client was not a nice person to deal with. As I did not fill my room the client was charged as per Cancellation Policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

this was the first of two nights for us in drogheda.
great, residential location.
very quiet and serene. great breakfast.
close proximity to train to dublin as well as newgrange.
thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

This was without doubt the best B & B I have stayed in, and I would recommend it to anyone so nice we stayed 1 extra night as we were less than 30mins to the airport.

The room was very comfortable , very quiet, squeaky clean with lovely toiletries & hospitality tray, had great night sleep. Our bedroom over looked their beautiful garden which was in full bloom.

We had our breakfast in their wonderful conservatory which is surrounded by beautiful roses and flowers. Breakfast was delicious and all fresh ingredients used.

The friendliness/helpfulness of staff were great they advisd and booked our restaurant and also our golf in Laytown & Bettystown.

Wonderful hosts, will return again a real little gem.

  • Liked — Everything from room , breakfast, service and wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — I cannot recall a single thing I didnt like! Just simply wonderful and relaxing highly reccommended
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank boneill08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

We only visited Drogheda for a specefic music event being held there, otherwise would not choose, as not a very charming town, but handy being on main road between Dublin and Belfast.
A bungalow on a nice enough estate, decor old fashioned, worn and paper peeling a bit, everything seemed rather old but all clean. Room was small and crowded, with 4.6" bed + a single. I moved to single for second night as slightly more comfortable.Tea making facilities, but had to search for somewhere to plug in kettle. No coffee first day, just cheapish tea. Breakfast not great, adequate. My husband said sausages not as good as previous place. As a veggie I had cereals + few crackers and tasteless cheese. Not enjoyable. Next 2 days breakfast was better, I had fried eggs and tomatoes.

Elderly couple run this, the gentlemen was friendly and tried to be helpful. We may return to Drogheda next October, but will probably search out another place. This had nothing really terrible about it, just not great I'm afraid.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room and food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepoint, Owner at Orley House, responded to this review, 2 January 2008
The person that has written this review has not been able to provide proof of staying at Orley House. As the place described is not Orley House and remarks are liable.

I hope that this review will not put off other guests wishing to stay at Orley House, as we have been looking after guests for 20 years with lots of repeat business from all over the world. We provide modern accommodation in a very upmarket area and provide breakfast and dinner in our conservatory room.

Orley House wishes to welcome all new guests and returning guests a pleasant and memorable stay. You can be asured that you will be well looked after .


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
1.0 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#2 of 15 in Drogheda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
15.6 mi away
Windsor Lodge
Windsor Lodge
#1 of 15 in Drogheda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orley House

Property: Orley House
Address: 7 Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orley House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Failte Ireland Approved and 'Highly Recommended' Orley House is situated in Drogheda, just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Pick up and drop off at airport can be arranged. Walking distance to Bus & Train 24 hours service provided. Orley House is beside many award-winning restaurants and Drogheda town. It is a short drive from 4 golf courses including Baltary, home of the Irish Open. Orley House is centrally located for exploring the Boyne Valley, Newgrange, Hill ofTara, Belfast Titanic, Dublin and Wicklow,Sherries & Malahide. The 11 option breakfast menu is a real treat, and features local farm produce and homemade brown bread. It is served in the beautiful conservatory, with views of the pretty garden. Staff have great local knowledge of the area, and golf tours can be arranged. Free internet access on a guest computer is available, and free Wi-Fi is accessible. Ground-floor rooms are also available, and on-site parking is free. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and equipped with pleasant extra touches including blackout curtains, luxury linens, an LCD flat-screen TV/DVD player and a tea/coffee tray and chocolate treat and complmentary bottle of still water. The modern bathrooms luxury bathrobes, thick white towels, quality range of revitalising toiletries and a hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orley Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing