We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy treasure under the mountain”

Campbell's At The Reek
Ranked #144 of 370 Restaurants in County Mayo
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Campbell's has always been a focal point in the local community, as well as a world-famous watering hole for visitors to Croagh Patrick. Find us on Facebook.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy treasure under the mountain”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have stopped here several times since this place re-opened and every time it proves to be pleasant experience. The pub and pub/restaurant is totally cosy and charming and a perfect hideout or relaxation space. The bar is quiet and usually has a mix of local and climbers sometimes trad music at weekends. The staff are very helpful and the chef will not have a hissy fit if you want something different on the menu. If it can be done it will. Be warned though, its a very sticky honey pot and you might be there way longer than planned.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easypleased40332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, General Manager at Campbell's At The Reek, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Easypleased40332,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Campbell's At The Reek. It's always good to hear from our customers and to learn that they have enjoyed their time with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our cosy atmosphere and great service. At Campbell's our aim is to provide the best guest experience possible in one of Ireland's most idyllic locations.
Thank you again for your positive comments

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards,

Michael,
Manager, Campbell's At The Reek Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food after a 4hr climb!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We ate here around 5pm after climbing Croagh Patrick. I hadn't been so hungry in years! The restaurant was fairly empty (it was a Wednesday in October). I had the baked goat cheese tartlets and he had the burger. He STILL talks about how good that burger was, a week now after we've been home. It was his favorite meal on our entire 10 day road trip across Ireland.

The service more reminded me of a restaurant back home in the US. The man tending bar/serving tables seemed like he'd rather be anywhere but there. Not very friendly and hardly said a word to us. Five stars for the FOOD though, that's a definite!

Helpful?
3 Thank JeepGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management C, Manager at Campbell's At The Reek, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear JeepGirl19,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Campbell's. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meal, our chefs take great pride in their work, using only the freshest and locally sourced ingredients. I am disappointed to learn that one of our staff was not as welcoming as is normally the case in Campbell's and I will be looking into this issue.
At Campbell's we pride ourselves in providing a welcoming atmosphere for our guests.
Thank you again for your positive comments.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,
Michael
Manager, Campbell's At The Reek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A gem at the base of a mountain”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We attempted to climb Croagh Patrick, but only got halfway! As we were descending, all we could talk about was a half pint of Guiness as a reward for our efforts. I suppose if we had of reached the summit, the reward would have been a whole pint! Upon entering this quaint pub, festooned with business cards and paper money from all parts of the globe, you get a sense of a well loved pub. The bartender was chatty as were the patrons. Most helpful as well when we needed a cab back into Westport. What a little gem, at the base of a famous mountain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAnnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management C, Manager at Campbell's At The Reek, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear MissAnnie1955,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Campbell's At The Reek with others. I would like to thank you for all your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Michael
Manager, Campbell's At The Reek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Croagh Patrick's Hidden Wonder”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Coming off Croagh Patrick on a soaking wet day, well there is no better place for nourishment and the most well earned pint ever.

What a welcome from Darragh and all the staff. The Guinness is better than in the Storehouse. Who says Guinness does not travel.

The food was excellent - warm and hearty for cold and worn bodies.

Now you don't have to do the Croagh Patrick thing just to go here. Its a great location. Fantastic outdoor garden and a great atmosphere.

Well done guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Climber's Oasis”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After a rugged and rainy 5 hour climb up and ( even more challenging!) down Ireland's Holy Mountain, Croagh Patrick, our party of four trudged through the half-door of this venerable establishment in search of shelter, comfort and refreshment. We were not disappointed! A warm welcome from young manager Darragh started our evening on the perfect note - and things only got better. Excellent service, pints of Guinness expertly poured, pleasant dialogue with other customers - international visitors mingling with welcoming locals, tasty pub grub with more elaborate specials like Mayo lamb shanks perfect for the suddenly wintry evening. And excellent value. Our prayers had been answered! But no need to climb the mountain first - we'll be tempted to go straight into Campbell's next time!! But the penitential nature of the climb certainly helped our appetites and sense of satisfaction!! We'll be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campbell's At The Reek also viewed

 
Lahardaun, County Mayo
Kilmaine, County Mayo
 

Been to Campbell's At The Reek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing