We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely curry”
Review of Dhaka Tandoori

Dhaka Tandoori
Ranked #21 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely curry”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Eat here on recommendation of a colleague excellent Indian not expensive they threw in complementary dish and can breaks freshly cooked go for dishes other than masala and korma as they are very sweet and creamy big portions

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santander and London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quite acceptable”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Castlebar is not Dublin, London or Mumbai. It is a busy town in the west of Ireland. A generally rural area. Therefore what the Dhaka restaurant is offering is far beyond what one might expect. The vegetarian fare was perfectly acceptable. The complimentary poppadoms were accompanied by no less than five relishes. The vegetable curry was tasty and a second helping of rice was offered. Unlike some restaurants we were asked whether 'all was alright' as we went about enjoying our meal. We did not try the desserts.

The only adverse comment is that the soft drinks and bottled beer were a little expensive. Less of a mark up, especially on the soft drinks, would be worth considering.

The staff whom we encountered were all friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was shocked at the food in this restaurant considering the good reviews it received. We found it bar none the worst Indian we ever tasted, if you have experienced good Indian food than don't soil your taste buds at this place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank harryandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The best Indian restaurant in Castlebar.”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Me and my wife had wonderful dinner at Dhaka Tandoori restaurant on Sunday night. I had garlic mushrooms and chicken korma, my wife had tanoori chichen, we were enjoying every single bit. Food was super delicious. Friendly staff and warm atmosphere made our evening. We are very happy making a dicition to go to Dhaka restaurant. Highly recommend to my friends and my family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maksimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo ireland
1 review
“best indian in the west of irl”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

this restaurant is fantastic, food always exceptional and service is always friendly.the waiter Home-i-un (excuse spellin) is extremely friendly and courteous. love my indian food and have eaten in countless indians but this is always my favourite. well done Dhaka..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddos_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dhaka Tandoori also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Dhaka Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing