We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”
Review of Kenny's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenny's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself my husband and son stayed at Kenny's guesthouse for a 3 day weekend in May, we were in Castelbar to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. We really enjoyed our stay in this spotlessly clean very comfortable guesthouse, with very friendly helpful hosts.

The breakfast is delicious and the homemade brown bread and Jam just lovely.

Very good location,

We would defiantly recommend Kenny's to anyone, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Appreciate you taking the time to give us a lovely review. Hope to see you all very soon. Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
25
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend while attending a family party. Was a great place to stay. Great location in the centre of town. I would recommend the breakfast, homemade jams and bread. 5star. Will return again

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tim128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Tim. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a lovely review. Hope you are already planning your return visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great welcome, tidy, clean and comfortable rooms, a great breakfast the first morning and an even better one the second. Deborah who showed us to the room had great customer service and when she knew that I had Irish was more the willing to talk as gaelige. Don't be afraid to ask for local knowledge on the best places to go, eat etc! they won't steer you wrong. A little place with a lot of class.

I'll be back.

Go ndéannaí dia mhaith oraibh agus go raibh maith agat

Room Tip: get there early to get a car parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukeofa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Go. raibh míle maith agat. Very much appreciated. Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay at Kenny's on a regular basis when my work takes me to castlebar and I have nothing but praise for Susanna and her family ,they are all very friendly and willing to help you in any way they can, the rooms are all ensuit with tv , tea and coffee and not forgetting the ginger nuts and are very clean and comfortable, breakfast is delicious, cooked fresh and with a choice of menus and the homemade jam and marmalade is a lovely touch. Located in the town center Kenny's is close to shops, bars and restaurant.I would certainly recomend it to anyone.

Brian (Glenkrag)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkingkeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you Brian for taking the time out to review us. Really appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you soon. Gingernuts in the oven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gutersloh, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have stayed in Kennys Guesthouse for six weeks. My room was very lovely, clean and comfortable. The friendly served breakfast was a great start for my working day and as well at the weekend. Kennys lies in a central location in Castlebar with lots of good Pubs around. Thank you for a really good time in Castlebar and your hospitality.
Pascal from Germany

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal201484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thaks a million Pascal for the lovely review. I hope you are doing well back at home and look forward to seeing you soon in Castlebar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great place to stay. Having stayed at Kennys recently I have nothing but praise for Susanna and family. Warm welcome, room spotless, clean and comfortable. Delicious freshly cooked breakfast and very good value. I would certainly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Teresa. Thanks a million for taking the time to give us a lovely review. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wonderful homemade brown bread, organic eggs and a welcome that was inviting. Excellent situation in the town and yet the room was quiet. Information and directions to local areas were clear and extremely helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarshanSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennys_Guesthouse, Owner at Kenny's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.5 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#3 of 8 in Castlebar
254 reviews
11.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
8.5 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#8 of 17 in Castlebar
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenny's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenny's Guesthouse

Property: Kenny's Guesthouse
Address: Kenny's Guest House Lucan Street, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenny's Guesthouse is Castlebar's only 3 star Guesthouse, approved by Failte Ireland. This comfortable, family-run guest house is set in the heart of Castlebar with various bars, restaurants and shops moments away. It offers a free Wi-Fi zone, free private parking.Each cosy room at Kenny's Guesthouse has a private bathroom, plasma TV, tea and coffee facilities, telephone, hairdryer and free toiletries. Laundry and ironing facilities are available upon request. Breakfast served until 10am from 8am - earlier on request(more often 7.30Am) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kenny's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing