We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab decor coupled with great food and brilliant food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helena Chocolates

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Helena Chocolates
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Fab decor coupled with great food and brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Fab decor coupled with great food and brilliant food. This was all topped of with an amazing lively atmosphere that was only matched by the food and service and not to forget the service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I would visit the cafe the odd time for a coffee or something to eat, the food is usually very nice and the staff there are probably the nicest in Castlebar.

I was blown away by the late night chocolate themed menu that they hold about once a year. The presentation was unlike anything ive ever seen and the food combinations were really great.

I would reccomend for anyone whether your looking for something sweet or savory, fantastic atmosphere created by the people who work there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No Babychair!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I went here on a very wet January afternoon with my baby, And asked the young girl to get me a Babychair and she told me they didnt have one!!!! She didnt even say sorry i had my baby out of the pushchair to feed him he was crying i was so annoyed as i will never go back, I alway go here for a bite to eat while in town but no babychair do they not welcome babys???? Anyway i had to pack up my baby and head elsewhere in the rain where i was treated much better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
“A worthy temptation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I happened to pass by at night and was drawn to the chocolate display. I returned another day and had the most amazing carrot soup, perfect for a cold day. The open ham sandwich sealed the deal. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyOfGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a little chocolate café on a quiet side street in Castlebar. It served delicious coffee and chocolate and cakes and had really good service! Would definitely go again, it had a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliz232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helena Chocolates also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Helena Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing