We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Office Party 2013”
Review of The Connaught Inn

The Connaught Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Mediterranean, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a modern and spacious bar serving light bites through to 3 course meals using local fresh produce. You can also choose to dine outside - weather permitting. We are also family friendly with children's menu available and we are open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
“Christmas Office Party 2013”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A lovely, cosy restaurant, with friendly staff, and lovely bedrooms. We had a great night pre Christmas, had our table booked for 7, but we were given plenty of time to have a few bevvies before dinner, enjoyed our meal, and decided to stay til late. What more can you ask for. We/I will definitely be making return visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My compliments”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I ate at the Connaught Inn with a friend in Nov last. While there the place filled up very fast. They had just opened a few weeks previous.It was warm and welcoming. The service was great and not to mention the food it was delicious and beautifully presented . Great menu to choose from.
I felt really relaxed there , and not rushed like some other places I've been where they swipe your plate so fast so that you will order desert .
I will certainly be back to try something else from that menu.

Marie

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food ”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Great food nice portions sizes atmosphere good; The person serving was helpful bring out high chair for the toddler without having to ask:

Helpful?
1 Thank drumraney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mature Couple Lancashire”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Connaught Inn for 5 nights. The bedroom and bathroom were of a good size, the staff very pleasant and helpful, the food was superb and we wish the new owners every success. Will certainly stay there again if in Castlebar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 3462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Ate here the 23rd of December in a party of nine.
We were told we would have three courses for 21 Euro when we booked two weeks beforehand,we were told this twice at the time.
When we turned up we were told by a very ignorant waitress that they never done three courses for 21,only for we were already seated we would have left again.
The same waitress was also smoking out the front of the place when we left which is very unprofessional in my book.
The food was ok but the welcome we received insured that no matter what the food was like there was already a sour taste in our mouths.
Can't see the place last long if that's how customers who paid the guts of 250 Euro for a meal and drinks are treated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Noel27334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Connaught Inn also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to The Connaught Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing