We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic way to see our country”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castlebar, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
clewbaych...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to see our country”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just home from a fantastic 7 day holiday with my wife and 3 kids in the fabulous Seal9 seven berth motor home.
To be honest, if you want to see the country and chill out at the same time then this is the way to go.
I would recommend anyone with 2 or more kids to spend the extra bit of cash and rent the 7 berth as it is very spacious and has all you will need.
Thanks Kevin and Helen, we will be recommending you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thanks for the lovely review . Delighted ye all enjoyed your holiday.
Keep up the good work at Clew Bay Charters , we also have no hesitation recommending ye to our customers and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Holiday!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 9 days touring the whole of Ireland with my wife and 2 children in the Swift 686 and it was amazing! Never camped/toured before and thought it would be great for the kids (aged 1 and 4), my wife and I were massively out of our comfort zones but went into the whole thing with an open mind and what an adventure we had! Thank you West Ireland Motor homes and in particular Kevin who couldn't have done enough for us on our trip, not that we had much to call about mind you as the Swift ran like a dream and we had no problems at all! A very quick overview of our route was as follows:

Day 1
- Pick up from Knock airport (Kevin kindly arranged to meet us there as it was more convenient for us and thoroughly explained everything we needed to know).
- Morning in Leanne (the Fjord drive was stunning)
- Afternoon in Achill Island (stunning costal scenery and Keem beach is a must)
- Evening drive to Sligo

Day 2
- Morning and Afternoon in Donegal (scenery was amazing)
- Evening in Derry

Day 3
- Morning at the Giants Causeway
-Midday on the Carrick a rede rope bridge
- Evening in Belfast

Day 4
- Morning in Belfast
- afternoon and Evening in Dublin (via the mourne mountain range)

Day 5
- morning in Kildare (shopping outlet)
- afternoon in Killkenny (train tour was fun)
- early evening in Kinsale via Cork (absolutely beautiful little harbour town)

Day 6
- morning i squeezed in a game of golf at old head with some old friends!! (Best course in the world for me) wife and kids spent the morning in Kinsale and absolutely loved it.
- afternoon and evening in Blarney (Blarney Stone and castle)

Day 7
- Morning in cork
- afternoon in Killarney (where we did the gap of Dunloe on a horse and cart)
Evening in Killarney (where we ate at Gabys seafood restaurant highly recommend!!)

Day 8
- morning in Killarney
- midday at inch beach
- afternoon in dingle (beautiful seaside town where we saw fungie the dolphin and went to the aquarium
- evening in adare (via conors pass which is incredible!!)

Day 9
- morning in Limerick
- midday in gallway
- afternoon back to knock to catch our flight home!

We took the scenic route between each destination when we were able to and covered everything in between you could imagine! Lots of castles, beaches and historic sites! it is an adventure we will savour for a life time! And most importantly the kids loved it! Thank you west ireland motor homes!!

Rory, Simone, Freya and Phoebe

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you very much Rory , Simone , Freya and Phoebe . The team at Ireland West Motorhomes are delighted with the fantastic review of your motorhome adventure in Ireland .
We are delighted the RV rental went so well for ye along the beautiful Wild Atlantic Way .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex V
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip of our lives!”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The trip was perfect from start to finish! The weather definitely collaborated, but Helen and Kevin also did an amazing job. First, Kevin was super helpful in helping us get organized and set up on the RV. They were also very accommodating to schedule changes, and incredibly friendly people. The RV was super clean and in perfect condition. Can't wait to come back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: RV life
Liked least: Having to put the sheets on the beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thanks very much Alex , it was a pleasure dealing with ye .
Looking forward to welcoming ye back to Ireland West Motorhomes , the Wild Atlantic Way motorhome rental specialists .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnet_tr...
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as a family to Ireland and rented a motor home from Ireland West Motorhomes. The owner of the business, Kevin, provided excellent customer service, explaining the ins and outs of the motor home and always being on hand to answer any queries. The motor home was very well equipped and in great overall condition. There were five of us, and whilst it was a tight fit we all had comfortable beds and ample space for cooking, showering etc. Kevin provided an excellent itinerary for us which took us through some amazing scenery in this beautiful part of Ireland. It was our first time in a motor home so we played it safe and stayed on campsites the first two nights. However on the third night we wild camped on Achill Island, with the Atlantic coast right in front of us. Waking up and walking straight onto the beach with the waves crashing in was an amazing experience that we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning scenery
Liked least: The days were too short in late October!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motorhome Holiday”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I plus our two children (six and four) have just come back from a fantastic motorhome holiday courtesy of Kevin and Helen at Ireland West Motorhomes. I cannot overstate how impressed we were with the level of service. This was our first time renting a motorhome so Kevin's willingness to make himself available for (lengthy!) phone calls in the run-up to the holiday was a big plus for us.

When we arrived in Castlebar to collect the motorhome, we found it ready and waiting for us, freshly cleaned top-to-bottom and gleaming in the Mayo sunshine!

Kevin & Helen greeted us like old friends. These are people who love what they do and it shows.

Kevin spent over an hour patiently taking us through the workings of the motorhome. As with the pre-holiday phone calls, no question was too silly. Suitable qualified, we pulled out of Kevin's driveway and set off on what was to be a truly memorable family holiday.

Prior to our departure, Kevin used a phrase that anyone in a customer-facing role should use - "my mobile is always on". Even though I had just met the man, I knew he meant it and, if we did have reason to phone him, there would be no question of it being an inconvenience.

Lastly - and for me this really sums up the experience my family and I had with Kevin, Helen and Ireland West Motorhomes - When we returned the motorhome and were packing up our own car, we could not find two important pieces of our bike rack. Kevin & Helen immediately donated their own bike rack and we were told that a family member who travels frequently between Cork and Mayo would bring our own bike rack to Cork for us. Ultimately, we did not need to take up this very kind offer as Kevin discovered our missing bike rack pieces 'safely' tucked away in the motorhome.

Unsurprisingly, I would wholeheartedly recommend Ireland West Motorhomes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The security of knowing that if we had any issues we could phone Kevin and he would do whatever he could to assist.
Liked least: Having to return the motorhome.....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vzou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant and wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We have had a wonderful holiday in Ireland! Ireland is a beautiful country and thanks to Kevin and his wife we were able to explore the country in a very nice way. They give you a great service and do everything to make you having a great holiday and experience with the campervan. It was the first time for us in a campervan, so we did not know exactly what to expect from it, but the campervan we hired was easy to drive and all the basics were inside. It felt like ‘our little house’ after two days. Next time we visit Ireland (and we will for sure), we will definitely hire a campervan again at Ireland West Motorhomes, no doubt about it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlav07
Saint-Etienne-au-Mont, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Off Peak bargain”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Myself and my 5 friends took advantage of Ireland West Motorhomes fantastic "Off Peak" special inSeptember 2013 . We were blessed with good weather which made our week's adventure even more enjoyable .
Our luxury motorhome was better than any of us could have expected . An almost new vehicle at under €750 per week .
The service provided by Kevin and Helen from our first contact by email to our final goodbye was excellent . If we are ever lucky enough to try another motorhome holiday in Ireland I will definitely be sure that my first choice will beIreland West Motorhomes

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing