We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a Visit”

National Museum of Ireland - Country Life
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This award-winning Museum is home to the National Folklife Collection which represents traditional life in Ireland throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Fascinating artefacts deal with domestic life, agriculture, fishing and hunting, clothing and textiles, furniture and fittings, trades and crafts, transport, sports and leisure and religion. Set in the spectacular grounds of Turlough Park, Castlebar, Co. Mayo the Museum treats visitors to a taste of how our ancestors lived their daily lives, in both difficult and joyful times. The excellent ‘hands-on’ public programmes which run throughout the year, consist of art and craft workshops, demonstrations and performances and runs alongside the exciting programme of temporary exhibitions which are ongoing throughout the year. Opening Times: The Museum opening hours are: Tuesday to Saturday 10am-5pm • Sunday 2pm-5pm • Closed Mondays (including Bank Holidays), Christmas Day and Good Friday. Admission to the National Museum of Ireland - Country Life is FREE. Shop & Café open.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a very pleasant and informative day at the museum. The displays are well laid out and really demonstrate life in Ireland in earlier times. We also visited the shop and café. Both were well run with pleasant and helpful staff. The food was tasty with good sized portions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary_MD4904HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    129
    17
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The way things were not that many year ago”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A most interesting exhibition of what the old Country was like in the not to distance past. Visitors are invited to experience traditions of rural life throughout Ireland from 1850-1950.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The setting for this museum is beautiful and a great place for a picnic if the weather is kind. Unfortunately, for our visit it was rainy and cold but still really enjoyable and a good introduction to a history of the Irish people. We thought that more could have been made of the lovely grounds but maybe during the warmer months there are some more attractions available (we were there on a particularly cold day in early May) . A pity that more of the house is not open but the cafe serves some excellent treats and it went done really well on an overcast day. Well worth a visit and we had a really enjoyable time despite the weather.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluetilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The National museum of Ireland - Country Life is an amazing place.
Set in the grounds of Turlough Park House you can are some of the 19th century rooms of this "big house" - my personal favourite is the library.
The museum itself is displayed over 3 levels and gives a fine and thorough description of life in rural Ireland in the past.
The exhibits are many and are carefully arranged.
There are several mini-videos and interactive screens throughout.
There is the opportunity to write on the Book of Memories if anything there reminds you of someone or a bygone time so I wrote of my grandmother.
I highly commend the staff of this museum for keeping it in such pristine condition and having such interesting displays and in a such an informative manner.
There is also a cafe and a shop if one is interested - both are not cheap.
Overall, a magnificent museum and one which I would recommend highly to anyone staying in the West of Ireland.

Helpful?
Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely location and very interesting day out!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

loved the museum and the lovely gardens and also that admission is free! would be lovely if more of the house was open to the public...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Country Life also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Country Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing