We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Windermere House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere House
Ranked #4 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed with Kay for two nights in June and it was really great and one of the best BB we had.
We had a great room and it was really clean. Kay gave us a feeling like coming home. She welcomed us with tea and homebacking ginger cake, loveley.
Her breakfast was wonderful and very delicious.
I`m sure we`re coming back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Kay is a perfect host! She welcomed us with tea and biscuits, helped us with tips and said bye with fruits and biscuits to take away. The rooms are very clean, the place is warm and with a lot of personality. The Knock airport is 40 minutes away by car. I would sleep here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Kay on may 19th,2012 she is a wonderful host, when we checked in she gave us tea and homemade scones, which were the the best I have had on my trip to Ireland. We have been traveling around for over two weeks, we found Kay in the bed and breakfast book.
She gave us some places to see, we went to the Westport house, which we truly enjoyed seeing and the history.
We had a wonderful breakfast this morning, I really enjoyed the porridge and the boiled egg.
Please if you are in castlebar stay at the Windermere house, Kay will make sure you are treated great and you will enjoy your stay, along with the wonderful beds and view.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This B&B was, by far, our most favorite accommodation out of all the places we stayed during our month touring in Europe. Kay is the loveliest lady, offering exceptional service in every way...from the homemade scones and hot tea when you arrive, to the cozy fireplace, helpful advice for tourist attractions, comfy/clean/cozy lounge and bedroom, and, to top it off...hot and scrumptious BREAKFAST!! It was a home away from home and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get the absolute BEST bang for their buck! We spent time in Westport and enjoyed walking through it's quaint downtown streets and the views along the quay. We also saw the abandoned village on the beautiful Achill Island...highly recommend visiting these spots in addition to your visit to Castlebar! I know you will enjoy Windermere House as much as we did!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumet belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

rooms very good
Breakfast wonderfull
Hospitality super....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great Value, Excellent Host.
Daran & Siobhan will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hospitality of Mrs. Kay was excellent, we remember its warmth and her breakfasts, varied and abundant, with much pleasure.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and fragrant. Funny also the host of the dog Dixie with his ball. We are very secure in recommending
this b & b in Castlebar for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosariaocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlebar hotels
0.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 17 in Castlebar
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 17 in Castlebar
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House

Property: Windermere House
Address: Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windermere House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing