We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostess, great holiday”
Review of Killary House

Killary House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killary House
Ranked #34 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostess, great holiday”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

After arriving at a very inconvenient time for anyone, Maggs made us feel welcome from the get go. Its one of the most accommodating B&B's we have ever stayed at. From the choices at breakfast to the cleanliness of the whole place it was terrific. The quiet location in the middle of the town had us both blown away. We will definitely be back again during the summer. Thanks Maggs you really made our stay one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueoranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

stayed in killary house recently on a short break to westport where we had the best weekend. our room was spacious and clean, breakfast both mornngs was freshly cooked and delicious and our host mags was just lovely offering us great advice on places to visit and eat. all in all a great value for money stay in a great location which is convenient to all amenities will definatly be back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I was attending a wedding in Westport town and this B&B is perfect location. Just a walk away from the castlecourt hotel & hidden in a peaceful courtyard away from all the hustle & bustle of busy town. Rooms very clean. The Ladies Mags & Jean were very helpful & Breakfast was fab. Perfect for a vist to Westport.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynzeebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

She was very accommodating since we got sent to Killary house after our other B&B had overbooked. The location was good, the rooms were a good size, the breakfast was good, and the beds were comfortable, but everything could have really used a bit more scrubbing and vacuuming.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

My wife and I arrived at the appointed time, but there was no one there. After about 15 minutes, Margaret arrived. She seemed nice, but kind of flustered. We were informed that "a group" was spending the night as well, which seemed to dictate all of our plans from parking to breakfast time. Margaret had to repeatedly change our breakfast time to accomodate "The Group". I don't mind being given a general time frame for breakfast, but we felt that unless we arrived at the time given, we would miss out. After settling on a breakfast time, we went out to enjoy Westport, which is a nice town. Upon arriving back at the room, we found a note under the door: Margaret had again changed our breakfast time! The room, was small and cramped: one too many beds in there. The bed was fine. There were no towel racks in the bathroom. The full Irish Breakfast was typical: good, but not outstanding. The breakfast room was small (and full!), hence Margaret's dilema. There were people hovering in the doorway as there was nowhere for them to sit. We felt rushed to finish breakfast in order to create more room.

  • Liked — I actuall feel pretty neutral, and can't describe a "best feature"
  • Disliked — "The Group" took presidence over us.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIEireannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant Guest House
Elephant Guest House
#36 of 70 in Westport
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number Eleven
Number Eleven
#39 of 70 in Westport
6 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bertra House B&B
Bertra House B&B
#15 of 70 in Westport
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buckfield Inn Westport
Buckfield Inn Westport
#18 of 70 in Westport
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clooneen House
Clooneen House
#44 of 70 in Westport
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#12 of 70 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killary House

Property: Killary House
Address: Distillery Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Killary House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing