We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clew Bay is lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clew Bay Archaeological Trail

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clew Bay is lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Take the ferry in the late afternoon.The sun will behind you, and not so hot if it's a sunny day. Beautiful and breathtaking. Makes for a romantic and fun journey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Archaeological Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I liked the ease of finding the monuments. And of course the monuments itself. Monument 2, the Boheh Stone, can do with better signposting. Also the Holy Well at the site of Glasspatrick church , site 9, is not mentioned, while it is clearly there and is a national monument.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MarjolijnEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bohea Stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had a nice cultural trail upon the Tougher Padraig yesterday and you couldn't have a better time of the year to be there. During the month of April the Rolling Sun can be seen either from horseback or on the Bohea Stone. This neolithical phenononem dates back thousands of years and is a sight to behold. Off the tourist trail but many locals visit it on the evening of April 18th and August 15th.. Bring your camera, it only happens twice per year and very much depends upon weather conditions. It was used by ancient farmers from the local to decide when to sow and when to reap their harvest. We could learn from our ancestors!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MickeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond the Clew of Duty... again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you read my review of the clew bay hotel or westport house, you will know that while doing this tour as part of Heritage week, my wife had to leave so the bus driver (Aileen), dropped her off to her son at Croke Patrick and he delivered his tourists back to town then dropped her off to the hotel in his car, fo nothing!

Te trail is brilliant, amazing what was going on while Pyramids were being thought of !

You need the book thoug, available all over the place, but best to get it from the Heritage Centre, hidden at the end of the pier on the Quays. Bronach, one of their volunteers, writes the forward for the book and brought us around some of the sites.

Her stories made all the difference and ability to locate the more remote sites.

We did some more the next day and will return to complete!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbyfromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liestal, CH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For the archeologicaly interested”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Most intersting but some places difficult to find. Good written guid available in bookshop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grouchyswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clew Bay Archaeological Trail also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Clew Bay Archaeological Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing