We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wesport Is Such A Nice Town”
Review of Adare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adare House
Ranked #8 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wesport Is Such A Nice Town”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I visited Westport during the week and stayed at Adare Guesthouse. The hostess was very nice and the breakfast was delicious. The dining room overlooks Croagh Patrick with beautiful views. The room was nice too except the tv kept stopping. I would recommend this guesthouse if you are visiting Westport. It is also located near the town. Just walking distance from the town centre and very close to Westport House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frodoireland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
104
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unfortunately for us this was a flying visit to the beautiful town of Westport.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, although a cup of tea would have gone down a treat. Our room was clean and a good size, even with a travel cot set up, the bathroom was very spacious with a bath and shower. We slept well in a very comfortable bed, even thought you could hear the TV from other rooms.

Breakfast was (for me) a Full Irish that include fried eggs, sausage, white and black pudding, tomato and bacon, along with a selection of fruit and cereals, toast on the table plus tea or coffee, this set us up for a very long day ahead.

Should we every visit Westport again, we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlequin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

margaret was very friendly and welcoming, and made very good recommendations on what to do. B&B is very well situated for walking 5 minutes to either the town or the harbour being situated half way between the 2. View from breakfast out to croagh Patrick is really special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this guesthouse. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is great. The hosts are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Really good location we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Adare House is perfectly situated just a short walk from the center of town. Margaret was such a gracious individual who made certain our needs were met. The accommodations were lovely. Rooms were perfect! The sitting room was perfect for late night reading, planning the next day's events, etc. Tea and cookies to end the day...perfect!!! Looking forward to the next visit to Adare House.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the house making it quieter from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here on 14-16th May . This was our second time staying here as we had stayed last year also. Again immaculate room and lovely breakfast. Margaret and Christy were as welcoming as ever. They were also very helpfully as one of our party became ill whilst staying there. Can recommend this to any body looking to stay in Westport. It is also only a short walk into the town

Room Tip: All very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzapspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island. NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As travel agents, we are very critical of hotels and resorts when we travel, always looking at accommodations through our clients eye. We can't say enough about what a great experience we had at Adare House.

Margaret welcomed us in the sitting room with tea and cookies and gave us information on the home, the area, things to do and restaurants. The Inn is spotlessly clean, rooms comfortable and a mere 10 minute walk to downtown Westport. The house was quiet when we returned and we had a great night's sleep on the comfortable bed. Very nice view of Crough Patrick from the bedroom windows.

Margaret's breakfast the next morning was fabulous - a delicious full Irish breakfast with excellent coffee and choice of juices, breads and more.

We highly recommend Adare House and you will just love Margaret.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
#3 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare House

Property: Adare House
Address: Adare House Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adare House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run Bed & Breakfast has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms all of which are fully equipped with Free WIFI, remote control TVs, tea/coffee facilities and en-suite facilities with hair dryer. We are only a few minutes walk from both the town centre and Westport Harbour. Unique and charming, the heritage town of Westport is a captivating blend of traditional and modern. So go on and treat yourselves to a well deserved holiday in a friendly and relaxing house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing