We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most good some not so” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Times Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill Times Hotel Westport
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“most good some not so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Hotel location in town centre a plus. Car park as previously posted is very limited. Decor in rooms is trying for cabin on the lake feel but not very effective as wood working is very plain and kind of out of place. Staff were excellent. Found an over ripe banana and plum in a drawer in our room from a previous occupant and rooms were sort of small and hot. Not a bad place at all once you get over the setbacks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redwilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    256
    60
    32
    26
See reviews for
170
398
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at The Mill Town Hotel on a midweek special deal (2 breakfast and 1 dinner included). The staff from Reception to Bar and Restaurant were totally obliging and could not have been more helpful. Food was excellent, with an outstanding breakfast that was enough to keep us going all day. Although this hotel has been recently refurbished our room did still appear a little dated however it was spotlessly clean. The service we received made up for the lesser impressive room and given the central location of the hotel we felt it was great value for money. There are deluxe rooms available for an extra cost, we would have availed of this if staying longer at the Mill Times. Overall we had a fantastic time in Westport and would highly recommend it. One let down was that the car park, which really isn't a car park at all as it so small, but for anyone visiting from abroad take note that there is street parking right outside the hotel. There is a sign that says parking for 1 hour only, but this is indeed and Irish hour from 7am to 7pm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pod62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

When checked in with husband and young toddler given room above kitchen, which had v. bad smell of food, also fumes from kitchen oil as hurt our eyes, very dark, dirty toilet and large wet patch on the floor- I complained and we were given another room immediately. Second room was better, although carpet area was dirty, again I had to clean the toilet myself. Both rooms were very badly lit, including hall area- I can only imagine the reason was to hide the lack of cleaning being done.
The previous reviews were all correct with location is fantastic in centre of town. Food standard in restaurant was poor- we got french toast- which was missing any egg and dripping with grease. Room door very unsuitable as toddler could easily open door with no safety lock at all. We checked out day early as could not stand it any longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellbender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

A beautiful location with so many places fo interest only a short journey away. Excellent accomodation with comfortable, relaxing twin rooms. Every meal was a joy to behold, from breakfast to dinner. To say this was value for money would be putting it mildly. The friendly atmosphere within the hotel was the icing on the cake for our group.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP1Louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed at the Mill Times as we were attending a Wedding. We booked a standard double room. We arrived to our room to find that we had a lovely room (A little dark) with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi Bath. Very pleasing.
We went down to the bar for a drink and were greated by very friendly helpful staff. We decided to stay for dinner at the hotel and the food was delightful. They were only bar snacks but of great standard.
We went for a night out in Westport and returned late in the evening and went straight to bed as we had a Wedding to attend the next day. I went to run a bath however there was no hot water so had to ring down to reception. They said it would be back on in 30 mins. The hot water came back on but there wasnt enough to fill the bath so i opted for a shower instead. There was no air con so the room was terribly hot so i had trouble sleeping. When i did finally nod off at some ridiculus time i was woken by a very noisy large group of revellers it sounded like it was coming from right outside our room. Upon further inspection i found that our room was right above the smoking area and believe me there were an awful lot of smokers out that night it was terrible. I tried to ring down to reception but no answer on numerous occassions. I eventually rang from my mobile phone and was told that they would be finishing their drinks and leaving soon. 2 hours later.......Still in full swing!!!
I went down for breakfast feeling extremely tired however the breakfast was absoulutly lovely with a great choice too.
We had a hire car and needed to park up but the Car park is under the hotel and is absolutly tiny and only enough room for 5 cars this is a big problem. We couldnt actually park in there on the first night as the entrance was blocked by a lorry. We had to park on the main road and risk getting a ticket. Luckily we got away with it.
Next time i come to Westport i would stay here however i would ask not to be put in a room above the smoking shelter. The good staff made up for this.
Good points: Lovely room,large bathroom,great food, very friendly staff,great bar and resturant area,great breakfast, great location
Bad points: No Air con, Room too dark, Very noisey,Car park too small, No hot water A little on the expensive side.
Westport is very beautiful part of the world and i hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

stayed one night only with husband and sister, but it was an excellent choice,the staff where all very friendly, the room was nice and clean and the restaurant was really lovely and the food was gorgeous

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peridotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland County, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Ireland for 2 weeks and had the pleasure to stay here. It has a great location, in the middle of the town, yet it was quiet in our rooms. The staff was simply amazing from the front desk staff who gave us all kinds of suggestions and help to the bar staff who met our every need ( even going to the store to get more cranberry juice for our drinks as they had run out)
Since we stayed for 2 nights we also were given breakfast. Really good food, and the wait staff were all really friendly and pleasant.
This should be a definate stop for anyone planning on visiting Westport.
Hopefully we will be able to get back to Ireland and this will be one of stops for sure

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytherapy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Times Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Times Hotel Westport

Property: Mill Times Hotel Westport
Address: Mill Street | Town Centre, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Business Hotel in Westport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Times Hotel Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3 star Boutique Hotel - The Mill Times Hotel offers a stylish oasis in the centre of the thriving town of Westport. We have recently undergone major refurbishments in what was The Westport Inn Hotel. The complete makeover consisted of Uncle Sam's Bar, Temptations Restaurant and the O'Malley Conference & Banquet Suite. All bedrooms are en-suite and equipped with direct dial telephone, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron/ironing board and trouser press, wireless internet access. Complimentary limited car parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Mill Times Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Times Boutique Hotel
Mill Times Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing