We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westport Champions!”
Review of Il Vulcano

Il Vulcano
Ranked #26 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mother site here: http://www.almuretto.ie/
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Westport Champions!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have sampled all the main restaurants in Westport town - and this is most definitely the best. An Port Mor was good too - but Il Vulcano walks away with the trophy.

Why?

Because everything was just so damn good! The service, the price, the ambience, the wine (only Italian) - and above all, the sheer quality of the food. The pizza is better than you will get in Italy itself. The base is thin and just the right firmness - Carla (the manager) assured me that they import their pizza-bases directly from Italy. And the pasta? Listen to me folks. Everyone should visit this establishment if only to see how pasta should be cooked and presented.

A real gem in the heart of the town of Westport!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublinman186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very accommodating as we were a large group including kids.
Food was great and staff pleasant though there was mix up with our order but this was due to the fact that it was our waitress' first night so no fault could be laid there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Best pasta meal I've ever had! Expectations were not high, we had tried to go to another Italian in town but were directed here, pleasantly surprised didn't cover it, the service was good but the food was fantastic, really tasted homemade and the flavours were amazing

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here and we have no complaints whatsoever. The specials are the best bet for value: I had the Penne Carbonara and my wife had the Chicken special and both were very good. The Barbera wine was excellent, as was the after-dinner espresso. The banter in the kitchen was mostly in Italian, so the cooking is indeed authentic, although the wait staff was of mixed nationality. No matter, everyone was friendly and efficient, even though the place was crowded. The evening was so enjoyable we bought a gift voucher for our friends who live in nearby Newport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“moe”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

service so bad food not great wont be going back went pay bill was handed it not a word asked how everything was not even thank you or bye so so rude

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Vulcano also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Il Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing