We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
HotelsClick
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
55
31
12
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
31
12
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsage restaurantb bcentre of townfluffy towelsprivate parkingbars and restaurantswould stay here againlocal attractionsexcellent breakfasttwin roomrooms are cleancentral locationfull irishweekend breaksconesfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed one night here and extremely happy with my stay located in a really beautiful and unique town. The room was great and the shower was excellent. I had nothing to complain out. It was clean and cosy and the owner was really nice. And breakfast was great :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in Sept. 2013 in Westport and booked the Elephant Guesthouse,for location and price, both of which are good. Do be aware that the door will be locked when you arrive and there is no check- in desk. Call the number posted on the door and be patient. It took about 10 minutes for someone to arrive when we called, and by that time we were getting a bit nervous about what to do next. The room was well furnished, and clean, though small. It did take a bit of give and take to maneuver around the bed with our luggage.
If your main priority is a nice king-sized bed, you will enjoy this. The next morning after a delicious breakfast, we searched for souvenirs and found all kinds of interesting shops. Westport is a great town and I regret we only had planned a one day visit in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We’d looked forward to Westport as a high point of our Ireland trip. When we arrived at the Elephant Guest House, it looked charming -- beautifully situated on a lovely street in a spectacular town -- but it was locked. As we contemplated what to do, a passer-by asked if we were looking for Des, the host, and then indicated that Des was likely to be found in Moran’s Pub next door. Sure enough, when we went into Moran’s and asked for Des, there he was!

This experience sort of symbolized what we loved about the Elephant House. The B&B itself was as attractive as it had originally seemed -- we certainly had nothing to complain about -- but what put it over the top was Des. He was a combination of hospitable, informal, straightforward, accommodating, and -- not surprisingly, as he'd lived in the vicinity all his life -- a font of useful information about the town and the surrounding area. He had no hesitations about which restaurants/pubs to recommend and which to not recommend. When we asked him about various options about a planned drive around the Connemara Loop, he suggested that we include a sort of “sub-loop” around a fairly unheralded peninsula (to Roonah Point) -- which turned out to be pretty much the high point of our entire two-week stay in Ireland.

All in all, we loved Westport and the surrounding area and we’d enthusiastically recommend Des and his Elephant House as a base of operations.

Room Tip: We'd recommend facing Mill Street. Lovely view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gloftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for one night with my wife before my deployment to Mali. Great central location and after ringing the owner, he couldn't be more helpful, and gave plenty of tips as to where to eat. It is small but well decorated and offers a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As other reviewers have said we found this guesthouse very clean, modern, great shower, large beds and good breakfasts.
It does not have the cosiness of traditional Irish guesthouses/bnbs.
Apart from the contact with the owner and other guests at breakfast you feel quite isolated as in a room only booking.

We were surprised there was no information regarding the evacuation procedure in the event of a fire from this 4 storey building.
Trying to operate the 2 remote controls for the TV was a real pain till we discovered you had to be within 4 ft. of the set for it to work!
I could see that less mobile guests would struggle with the narrow flights of stairs to the rooms.

Having have stayed at very good Westport hotels in the past, it was the price and location which where the main factors for staying at this guesthouse during this visit.
We were not disappointed and would definitely stay at the Elephant Guesthouse again.

Room Tip: book a rear room if you are a light sleeper especially on a weekend when there is heavy traffic outside the front windows .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews