We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plougastel House is a Must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plougastel House B&B
Ranked #14 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Sandra was absolutely wonderful and genuine. Our room was beautiful and spotless. It was easy to come and go with our own key. Breakfast was perfect as Sandra is a wonderful host and cook.
We didn't get their until dark and we were greeted with a warm welcome.
We look forward to staying here again!

James and Suzanne

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay at was a joyful and delightful experience. Hostess, Sandra, was gracious and ensured our comfort. She shared useful information about the local area and was exceedingly well informed. Bedding was crisp and clean. Room was sparkling. Breakfast was delicious and served in a gracious manner. I give Plougastel House 5 plus stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveECM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

A very modern clean b&b. Lovely welcome. Staff as helpfull as you need. homely and as reasonable. You wouldn't get as good quality in most hotels. Very central location a very short walk (3 to 4 min) to the centre of town. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fergalfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Recently my two sisters and me and our husbands visited this fantastic B&B in Westport. Many Irish innkeepers are impressive, but Sandra is at the Top of her class! I told her that I realized running a B&B is tons of work, but if I were to ever have one, I would wish it to be exactly like hers. The location was so choice as it was about a 5 minute walk into town. We loved the shops, the music in the pubs, which started in late afternoon and kept going. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. No detail left undone. The full Irish breakfast was so delicious. We felt the pricing was a great value. But I think it is Sandra's welcoming hospitality that made us wish we could have stayed there. Next time, I would like to stay perhaps three nights, instead of one! Matrice Schafers

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matricewbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Having no booking made, we took a chance and called on Plougastel House. Sandra, the proprietor, could not have been nicer. She immediately booked us into a room and we were made feel totally at home. The rooms are really fresh and well decorated and the breakfast the following morning was second to none. Mary who looked after us for breakfast was great craic and totally pampered us. First impressions are so important and ours was totally positive. The house is only minutes away from the centre of the town and to be honest that's better because there is less noise. If you are looking for a friendly Irish welcome that's totally genuine, this is the place for you. We will definitely be back Sandra, thank you for your hospitality. Christina and Aidan Giles,Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aidan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A lovely place, clean, comfortable accommodation, a good central position and friendly and helpful host, Sandra. Very limited parking on site (we parked in drive the first evening) but no difficulty parking on the street. We had quiet rooms at the back. Westport is a great base for visiting the Mayo coast and inland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Such a nice place deserves a better review than from someone like me who simply stayed overnight, but this B&B is fantastic! Now, you can park on the street. Keep in mind a single yellow line means you can park there...double line - forget about it. No parking restrictions here folks.
The rooms are beautiful and come equipped with a kettle, tea and delicious biscuits. The bathrooms are seriously impressive...wow! The best shower pressure in Ireland goes to this B&B ... Every other place has water saver heads...wimpy.
Great breakfast...you will be started right for your travels. Location? 3 minutes from Bridge street, centre of town. Great.
Beds? Fantastic comfort with nice air movement throughout the rooms. I wish we could stay longer, but we know where we will stay next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back see to be quieter than ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.6 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Linden Hall
Linden Hall
#6 of 70 in Westport
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#10 of 70 in Westport
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandhill Haven
Sandhill Haven
#21 of 70 in Westport
27 reviews
1 mi away
Carrabaun House
Carrabaun House
#27 of 70 in Westport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plougastel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plougastel House B&B

Address: Distillery Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plougastel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing