We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Returned last week from a 5 night stay at the Harbour Mill Westport with my Wife and 2 boys (aged 3 and 5). What a fantastic place the Harbour Mill is for families and any travellers in genaral. Don't think i've experienced anywhere as good in Ireland that caters for children. The apartment was superb with everything that we could need and immaculately clean. The staff were superb, friendly and warm. The kids play area is better then anywhere that you would have to pay for a visit these days. Westport is my favourite place to visit in Ireland with everything you could wish for (we even got a bit of good weather :-)) and the Harbour Mill is without doubt the best place to stay here. Top marks all round.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment with a harbour view. The sunset is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnacha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
It is always a pleasure to hear good reviews from guests who have been here before and we are delighted that you again enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate that you took the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Harbour mill again in the future.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    139
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
286
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The accommodation is excellent and the staff are exceptionally helpful and pleasant. We were a bit unlucky on the Friday night as there was a large group staying in the Courtyard apartments who arrived back at 3.30 AM and were fairly noisy. Something similar happened last year but is beyond the control of the staff. This did not however detract from the overall enjoyment of the stay.

Room Tip: As before the rooms at the front cost more but are probably worth the extra. The Courtyard rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave0rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are always delighted to welcome back guests who have been here before.
I am sorry to read that your sleep was disturbed on one night of your stay, the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of great importance to us and I am happy to hear that this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay.
We are very proud of our staff and I will pass on your comments to them and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not really walking distance from town, steep hill, not a stroll, taxi €5 at night. They do not give out keys and you have to visit reception each time you visit your apartment, feels like getting permission to go to the apartment you have rented… I think it may be difficult/awkward to get a guest past reception, should you find yourself in the position, which is strange when you rented an apartment…. However, this could be very comforting if you were there with a small family (no strangers) but not so much for a lads weekend. Nice setting and good pub grub in - The Helms – below. Access to a pool next door and a gym on sight is nice although I did not use it. Didn’t like the withdrawal of €200 deposit from my CC. Most places just take a swipe of your CC for deposit/disturbance…. Overall I felt micromanaged and I didn’t like it. However like I say that might be very comforting in you were staying with young children.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms. 101 -102 - 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonGunner0351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Harbour Mill. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests.
At The Harbour Mill we offer a real ‘home away from home’ environment for our guests. Many guests have connections with the Westport area and invite family and friends to visit them in the comfort of their own apartment. In the interests of health and safety, however, non-residents are not permitted to stay overnight without prior agreement.
We offer an exceptional range of services, including a 24-hour reception, so there is always a member of staff available should a guest require assistance. We encourage guests to leave their apartment key at reception on their way out and collect it again on their return. Feedback from guests is that this allows them to enjoy their time out in Westport without the worry of losing their key.
Thank you, once again, for posting your review and sharing your experience of The Harbour Mill. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just home after a 4 night stay at the Harbour Mill, Westport. Great time. We stayed in a two bedroom harbour view apartment on the 3rd floor. I'll list the good points and then the bad

Good Points
1. On arrival the reception staff are very helpful and personable.
2. The secure parking is very good.
3. The apartment is spacious, clean and very well equipped, including, wine/drinking glasses, cups, mugs, plates, bowls, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, hob, oven, sauce pans, frying pans.
4. The hot water is hot (not always the case in some apartments)
5 Nice big comfy seats/sofa.
6 Nice comfy warm beds
7 You will find a fresh pint of milk and some tea/coffee in the room (nice thought)
8. Lifts work
9 If you bring electrical equipment then there are an abundance of sockets all over the place.
10. They have discount for several local attractions and restaurants so please ask the reception staff, they have all the time in the world to help.
11. Its right in the heart of the harbour, great local pubs 2 minutes walk, eg The Helm and The Towers.

The bad points

1. Can't really think of anything that annoyed me enough to mention.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TM2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fantastic alternative to hotels/B&Bs. As we stayed here in the middle of a road trip it was great to have our own washer/drier facilities in our apartment. The kids loved the play area which is bigger than I imagined it and the covered parking area was great. The Harbour Mill is located beside the entrance to westport house which is really handy. I do agree with other reviews that sound does travel as the bedrooms face into the central courtyard so at the weekend it wasn't quite as peaceful as during the week, but it was still fine and the toss up was that our sitting room/kitchen/balcony had AMAZING views over Clew bay so it was a small price to pay. The sauna is a nice bonus. Would stay again.

Room Tip: view from 4th floor was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay in The Harbour Mill and in Westport. Westport House is a great amenity and we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to the grounds and park.
Thank you, once again, for your review and for the lovely photos. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed in early April for a week.
Good location.
Clean apartments.
Great friendly service.
Can get a little loud at night at weekends with groups of boys/girls, something they could address maybe but during the weekdays no problem at all.
Overall, a fantastic time.
Breathtaking scenery.
You have to climb Croagh Patrick,
truly amazing views at the top.
Great warm friendly Irish people,
Westport is a place definitely to go and visit.
You wont regret it.
Guiness at the Helm next door is gorgeous.
Food was delicious wherever we ate out locally.
I would strongly recommend the Harbour Mill as a place to stay whilst in Mayo, and Westport in particular.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyred1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in The Harbour Mill. It is always helpful to receive feedback from guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and amenities exceptional. I was sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. It is regrettable that during busy periods there will be a certain amount of noise caused by guest’s returning late to their apartments. I do apologise that this disturbed you and hope that it did not impact on your overall stay too much. Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending us to friends.I do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Westport.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The. 2 bed apartment is so spacious and comfortable. We stayed here with our parents. Much better than being in a B&B or hotel. Nice touch having a small jacuzzi , Steam room and sauna after walking in the bracing air. Heating is adjustable and the rooms are cosy. Local restaurants deliver food to your room. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. Great value at £99 for 4 people per night. Westport is a buzzing centre.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIXWMLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing time with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing