We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tp Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tp Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

We spent two nights at the Knockranny in order to attend a wedding, the reception for which was also taking place in the hotel. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome even though a number of people were checking in at the same time. The doorman, who told us he is from the Phillipines, took our bags up to our room and pointed out the hotel facilities on the way. As we entered our room he noticed the main light was flickering and he said he would contact maintenance. Within 5 minutes the light was fixed. Good first impression. Our room was a good size with a most comfortable bed and large bathroom. Staff throughout the hotel were universally friendly and efficient. Dinner was excellent and the dining room has a magnificent panoramic view over the town and Croagh Patrick. My wife is coeliac and is on a gluten free diet. At all times gluten free bread was available and there was do difficulty adjusting most things on the menu to reflect her needs. The wedding reception itself was most enjoyable and the whole event was managed in a professional and unobtrusive manner. We will certainly return to visit Westport again and will definitely be staying at the Knockranny.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Templeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    298
    130
    40
    27
See reviews for
208
720
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

This was my second time to stay in Knockranny and it never fails to put a smile on my face.

Staying midweek in February has some great advantages: (1) you can imagine your work colleagues fighting through traffic to go to a job they don’t enjoy doing, (2) the hotel is relatively quiet and it is possible to get upgraded to a larger room, and (3) the spa is quiet enough to fully relax.

Upon arriving, we were upgraded from a standard room to a grand deluxe, which was excellent value. The massive bedroom was separated by a hallway from the sumptuous bathroom. The bedroom had what I assume is a super king-size bed, with the most comfortable mattress and pillows I have ever experienced. The room was spacious even though it contained two armchairs, two study tables with chairs, a large coffee table and a large flat screen TV and upmarket DVD player/music system. The bathroom was equally opulent with a large Jacuzzi bath, double shower, double sinks etc. Finishing touches included controls to pipe music into the bathroom and dim the lights.

The only gripe I would have with the room is that the TV reception is poor - a small thing, but on cold wet and windy days it is maybe recommended to bring some DVDs to watch.

Breakfast in the hotel is also excellent with a well stocked selection of cereal and fruit followed by a freshly cooked breakfast of your choice. We didn’t have dinner in the hotel as we found it a little over-fussy on our previous stay.

February in Westport has some downsides: it can be wet, windy and some restaurants are closed midweek - however, there are still plenty of options to eat and drink and you can always take shelter in the haven of Knockranny.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank N_Antrim_Journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

We enjoyed a 4 night stay here in February. The hotel seemed rather quiet, although it was a mid-week break. We recieved a complimentary room upgrade, the room was very spacious and well equipped (DVD/CD player, large LCD TV etc). The bathroom was large with a great sized seperate shower room, the bath was maybe a little small for the size of the bathroom but was a jacuzzi.

Dinners were lovely, if a little over complicated and the service was great. The public spaces in the hotel are a little bland, if anything and lack the character you would find in an older hotel.

We used the spa, the main pool wasn't warm enough for a comfortable swim and the steam rooms and saunas were not hot enough either, altough the spa treatment was fantastic. The monthly specials were great value.

  • Liked — Views from the Dining Room
  • Disliked — Bland public spaces
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alonthelough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Myself, my wife and her parents have recently returned from our second visit to Knockranny House Hotel, this time on one of their 3 night short breaks.

As previously, we had an excellent stay, if anything, better than our first trip. As the hotel was not so busy, we were given a free room upgrade to Deluxe Rooms, which was a pleasant surprise and much appreciated. They were huge, with king sized beds plus a three-piece suite, desk and enormous bathroom including a separate shower and spa bath. All done out in excellent taste and extremely luxurious.

Again as previously, the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent, haute cuisine without being too fussy, plus excellent service in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, with fine views over Westport through the dining room windows.

We all had treatments at Spa Salveo, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Not a cheap break but excellent value and they do some very good “Special Offers.” We will be visiting again sometime soon and would happily recommend Knockranny to anyone looking for a relaxed short break in a quality hotel with excellent facilities and staff.

  • Liked — Excellent rooms, food and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gilbey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2008

We expected a lot from this hotel judging by the rewiews on trip adviser & I can honestly say they were 100% accurate. This hotel is something special with an excellent level of service and the place is spotless. The one and only gripe we had was with the food, it was over complicated and far too rich. The evening menu was disappointing as was the over descriptive menu. Breakfast was a bit of a let down due to the lack of variety and small portions, if you were to purchase breakfast seperately and not part of a b&b package it costs €35 - crazy.
All in all please do not let the food put you off as I'm sure the management will rectify the issues. This hotel is truly one of the best either of us ever experienced and was one of the most relaxing breaks ever.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wuzzy-Fuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

After a four hour journey we found the receptionists to be very friendly and helpful. The open fires and furnishings were lovely as were the bedrooms.
We enjoyed the spa facilities and treatments.
The only area that needs to be looked at is the food which was overcomplicated and too rich with little or no vegetables.It was included in our package but was certainly not worth the 53 euro charge. The cooked breakfast arrived while we were still eating our cereal.
We were seated in the lower part of the restaurant which was lacking in atmosphere and had no furnishings, mirrors or pictures. The entertainment in the Brehon Bar was very enjoyable and the price of a pint very reasonable for a hotel.

  • Liked — Decor and excellent spa
  • Disliked — Evening meal and four hour drive
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank analissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Great bedrooms, nice location overlooking Westport, comfortable hotel, evening food quite good although a little pricey, good breakfast

A few niggles though...

Rooms: very comfortable, however...
Porter/housekeeping service consistently slow/unresponsive
TV/audio system in bedrooms very difficult to work
No movie channel or DVDs at reception, when it's lashing rain and there's nothing to do, this would be nice
Pillows and bed sheet have plastic underlay, means you wake up in the middle of the night perspiring a lot
Very expensive to have breakfast delivered to your room
No mini-bar

Restaurant: food good, service average, but...
Dinner menu descriptions don't match what comes on the plate
Could simplify the food a little, tries to be too adventurous
Waiters have a tendency tnot to read their customers timing wise - rush you e.g. everyone still clearly reading menus and they ask for your order; full glass of wine and reading their desert menu and they ask for both desert and coffee order

Corridors:
cold!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Property: Knockranny House Hotel
Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing