We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knockranny House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clew Bay Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Mill(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
930
359
156
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
359
156
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand deluxe roombrehon barla fougerecroagh patrickspa salveomaster suitebeautiful hoteljacuzzi bathtop classspa areasmoked salmonopen fireclew baystandard roomfamily weddingwedding receptionbar menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and to be honest found it to be quite average. We were in a standard room which we felt was a little dated. The decor and bathroom could really do with a make over (the shower was in the bath with a shower curtain .. yuk!). We didn't have a view but to be fair we probably weren't paying the rate to get a room with a view so that didn't bother us. Reception staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast staff were not friendly at all and didn't smile or wish us a good morning. The service was bad and I had to try to get staffs attention to order our hot food ... very unusual for a 4 star hotel. The buffet was ok .. nothing special. It wasn't a bad stay but considering all the hype about this hotel we were left feeling like we were missing something.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are newer rooms in this hotel. I would be a good idea to enquire as our room was in need of an update.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is a short drive up from the town centre. On arrival it looks a bit like the sort of hotel you would find on the perimeter of an airport. However, rooms are large, very well furnished and extremely clean and comfortable, with high end TV and (Bose) HiFi. We booked a family room which was in the new wing. In room dining is of good quality, but comes at a hefty premium. Breakfast is served in a classy dining room, where you can have your prunes and black sausage accompanied by Chopin. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Me and my 4-months pregnant girlfriend stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 2013. We had originally booked it in February as a treat for us both to look forward to.

We weren’t disappointed. The hotel itself is on the way into Westport (if you come via Castlebar) so it was easy to find and it’s also only a short 10 minute stroll into the town if you don’t drive in. The hotel is wonderfully positioned in the landscape. Most of the main rooms; lounges, reception, restaurant, bar, etc, overlook the bay beyond the town and Croagh Patrick is a lovely sight. You can even see the little white chapel at the summit on a clear day. The hotel is traditionally comfortable inside. More old-fashioned than many of the newer Celtic-tiger era hotels.

We felt cheeky on arrival, so we displayed our bump, said we were celebrating and asked for an upgrade. To her credit, the receptionist came up with the goods and put us in a deluxe room with a view of the bay and Croagh Patrick.

The room was large by Irish hotel standards and comfortably furnished. There was a couch and armchair and a table for dining if you chose to eat in the room. The bed was a super king sized one, a little softer than I’m used to, but very comfortable all the same. The bathroom was large enough and well appointed. We had a Jacuzzi bath, though we never used it, sink and WC. All fairly standard stuff for the type of hotel.

The four days and three nights of our break were in the middle of an Irish heat wave (30-33 degrees) and we did note that there was no well air-conditioned area in the hotel. Only the restaurant had air-conditioning, but it wasn’t that effective. Sitting in the sunlight next to a window was downright uncomfortable. I have to stress though, I think you’re more likely to be struck by lightning than encounter similarly hot conditions in Ireland as a rule.

The hotel staff were very good. We found them all to be friendly, helpful and professional, without being too formal. The other guests were generally more middle aged to elderly. There were a few young people and a handful of children, but I wouldn’t really class this as a family hotel.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast every day. A good selection of hot and cold food, pastries, juice, full-Irish breakfast, etc. All good but nothing outstanding. We also had two evening meals there, which were quite impressive. Very nice food, well presented, tasty, good wines. Yum, yum.

We used the Spa every day we were there. We both had several treatments; facials, full body massages, pregnancy massages, etc and we also used the pool and gym. Both were very nice and are just for adults! We were very, very pleased with our spa treatments – a lovely treat!

The only minus during our entire stay was trying to get room service one night at about ten minutes after midnight. We rang and rang and it transpired that the night porter had left the phone off the hook at reception and appeared to in the bar chatting up three middle-aged ladies (fair play to the guy!). We found him in the end though and we got our sandwiches.

All in all a lovely break and if we had the money, we’d go back again. I bet it’s lovely in the winter. It really strikes me as a very cosy place to stay on a cold rainy day.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - it can't do any harm.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilbegganRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception here in June and I have to say the day was made all the more special by having it here. From the function room to the staff to the food - everything was excellent. A special mention has to be given to Claire Concannon - this lady is amazing. All our needs were met and nothing was too much trouble. We had a large wedding and she just made her job look easy - she is a credit to the hotel. We will definitely be returning in the future :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseP1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had previously enjoyed a luxurious stay in the Knockranny and raved about it to anyone that would listen. On returning we felt something had changed. The staff are definitely as helpful but the prices no longer represent good value. Nouveau cuisine can be a case of style over substance when taken to extremes. My smoked duck starter would have won a photographic contest for presentation but a couple of untrimmed slivers plus 3 dried mushrooms which were absolutely tasteless is a rip-off at €14 as are the deserts at that price. The steak was very good but should be at that price. The breakfast buffet was distinctly basic and minimalist at those prices. We stayed at a B&B that offered more choice & variety for breakfast.

Room Tip: Be careful what you wish for. We were at the front so had a view but then had to endure all the comings & goings of the wedding party as the exited the front. Plus the shower next door sounded like a drill when it went on at 08.00
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews