We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected better at knockranny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2008

i spent 2 nights at knockranny in july.
the hotel is in a beautiful location but our room looked into an internal courtyard and the bathroom was only average (looked a bit grotty for a 4 star). beds were comfy and room was a good size. our 3year old stayed with us and a single bed was provided.
food was good overall but we had to wait over 20 mins to be seated at breakfast and there was no bread or pastries left at the buffet. service was very slow at the 3 meals we had there and staff seemed disorganised- buffet not replenished, tables were not being reset quickly enough and coffee etc took an age to arrive.
another major gripe i had was that children are not allowed use the pool at the hotel and must go to a sister hotel to use the leisure centre there. the receptionist told me it was a "two minute" walk to the other hotel (castlecourt) when in fact it took at least ten minutes to walk there - not fun with a toddler and bags of swim gear. i would not recommend the hotel to families with young children for this reason.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ffcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

We have just returned from one night stay Knockranny House Hotel! To start it has lovely grounds and clean and really beauiful to look at! The staff at the check in desk we so kind and helpful! We book the Tower Room which I must say took our breath away it was so lovely and the bed was so comfortable and the bed linen very soft and smells so good! Our living room area was so class and the port was a nice treat! the pool and thermal area was great and we really enjoyed it! We did not eat in the hotel as we felt we were very young compare to the people in the dinner room and but we did go to the bar later that night and again it was very quite and it was a very old group of people reading books and newspapers! I am 23 and my partner is 28 and we felt the hotel caters for older group of people! However we had a great stay and I used the spa the the staff were lovely and my treatment was fab!! We had our breakfast delievered to our room which was on time and hot! Over all a great hotel and I will return in about 20 years! Not a good hotel for families with kids!
Westport is a great wee town!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

30th May 2008
Just returned from Knockranny following a 4 night break.
We were warmly received and given any information we required.
We had booked 2 standard rooms and the only fault we could find was with the rather tired paintwork which could have been improved on with a damp cloth and suitable "cleaning agent". The beds were of high quality and fairly new I would think - very comfortable.
The food was excellent although I would agree with others who have reported the menu to be a bit over-complicated. The variety of bread was really nice and you can order some to take home with you but do be prepared to pay 10 EUROS for 1 average size loaf - we are still recovering from the shock.
We did have a problem with a flood light that shone directly onto our windows all night and had to make a third request before it was re-directed.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and rooms were well serviced every day.
Overall this is a fine hotel with breathtaking views from the dining room and a feeling of graciousness.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weighitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Took the opportunity for a weekend break last November and ended up staying here as the reports were quite good and it seemed a suitable base from which to explore Westport town.

The hotel is perhaps a ten minute walk from the centre. Check-in itself was painless but after that my impressions went steadily downhill. When we arrived they were no longer serving lunch in the bar which seemed odd, and the restaurant itself was full of lunching families so we ended up heading into town after checking out the room.

Finding the rooms was a bit of a trek from reception. We walked down long corridors, all very wide and dotted at intervals with flea market furniture. It was as if the interior designers realised that the corridors were so wide they should be broken up with the odd table, chair or sideboard. The effect in the end was pretty ghastly, also there was a stange odour in most of the corridors reminiscent of an old folks home. Eventually we found the room which was huge and the bed was very comfortable, before decamping into town for the night.

On return and slightly peckish we attempted to order room service. We were surprised to find that nothing on the menu was avaiable and therefored we had a choice of chicken or salad sandwiches. Not on in a hotel of this standard!

Overall the impression was of a new, revamped but odd hotel. It does what it says on the tin and caters to people who expect what they get, but that being said it wasnt for me.

On return

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallygog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We stayed in Knockranny House Hotel for our 6th Trip in March! We just find it hard to stay away from this hotel since discovering it a few years ago.
It is a beautiful hotel, warm and welcoming, with its large fire in the foyer to greet you. The staff are friendly and we now know quite a number of them from our many stays in the hotel. Most hotels have a large turnover of staff but we notice that Knockranny Hotel seem to be able to keep theirs!
The room (grand deluxe) was huge, beds very comfortable, great TV and Bose music centre.
The restaurant is in one of the best locations I have ever seen. The views are breathtaking and the food is very good.
Overall a wonderful hotel. If you get an opportunity to visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fitzgerald60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We spent two nights at the Knockranny in order to attend a wedding, the reception for which was also taking place in the hotel. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome even though a number of people were checking in at the same time. The doorman, who told us he is from the Phillipines, took our bags up to our room and pointed out the hotel facilities on the way. As we entered our room he noticed the main light was flickering and he said he would contact maintenance. Within 5 minutes the light was fixed. Good first impression. Our room was a good size with a most comfortable bed and large bathroom. Staff throughout the hotel were universally friendly and efficient. Dinner was excellent and the dining room has a magnificent panoramic view over the town and Croagh Patrick. My wife is coeliac and is on a gluten free diet. At all times gluten free bread was available and there was do difficulty adjusting most things on the menu to reflect her needs. The wedding reception itself was most enjoyable and the whole event was managed in a professional and unobtrusive manner. We will certainly return to visit Westport again and will definitely be staying at the Knockranny.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Templeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This was my second time to stay in Knockranny and it never fails to put a smile on my face.

Staying midweek in February has some great advantages: (1) you can imagine your work colleagues fighting through traffic to go to a job they don’t enjoy doing, (2) the hotel is relatively quiet and it is possible to get upgraded to a larger room, and (3) the spa is quiet enough to fully relax.

Upon arriving, we were upgraded from a standard room to a grand deluxe, which was excellent value. The massive bedroom was separated by a hallway from the sumptuous bathroom. The bedroom had what I assume is a super king-size bed, with the most comfortable mattress and pillows I have ever experienced. The room was spacious even though it contained two armchairs, two study tables with chairs, a large coffee table and a large flat screen TV and upmarket DVD player/music system. The bathroom was equally opulent with a large Jacuzzi bath, double shower, double sinks etc. Finishing touches included controls to pipe music into the bathroom and dim the lights.

The only gripe I would have with the room is that the TV reception is poor - a small thing, but on cold wet and windy days it is maybe recommended to bring some DVDs to watch.

Breakfast in the hotel is also excellent with a well stocked selection of cereal and fruit followed by a freshly cooked breakfast of your choice. We didn’t have dinner in the hotel as we found it a little over-fussy on our previous stay.

February in Westport has some downsides: it can be wet, windy and some restaurants are closed midweek - however, there are still plenty of options to eat and drink and you can always take shelter in the haven of Knockranny.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank N_Antrim_Journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £62 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing