We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
galway, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Break”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is such a great place to stay, nothing is a problem. We arrived to a warm reception and our room was huge with hallway, seperate living room and 2 bathrooms. At night there was complete silence and the bed was super comfy. We ate in the hotel and the food is of a very high standard, all the staff seem to take great pride in the work. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from westport town. We will definitely be back again in the summer and looking forward to the visit already.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a suite, well worth it for extra space if travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank galway_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    320
    142
    43
    27
See reviews for
233
767
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

How can this hotel possibly be #7 in Westport? I've been in most of the other hotels and the Knockranny House is, in my opinion, the best.

We stayed for 5 nights and the food, accommodation, staff and spa were all fantastic. 10/10.

Hoping to visit again in July :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenanneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Well run facility , friedly staff , very helpful, well matained and furnished , warm turf fire welcomes guests , nice touch on a cold wildy and wet day.

Restaurant top class , excellent menu , local food mainstay of menu, chef knows his cooking, prices reasonable for the quality of the food , extensive wine list .

Overall excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned following a fantastic weekend in Westport.The hotel was magnificent.We all had huge very comfortable rooms and the staff were extremely kind and helpful.Everything ran without a hitch.Meals for 13 at a table is not easy task but each mealtime ran very smoothly with no mistakes or disappointments ,and there was no problem on the first evening holding a meal for one family of latecomers.The food was excellent and plentiful and the 2 youngest were able to chose a more appropriate bar meal for their likes with no sense of creating a problem
The spa was very relaxing ,only disappointment was that the two youngest members of the family could not use it ,though they were happy to go to the sister hotel in the town for a swim.In fact it was probably the absence of children splashing about that made the spa so peaceful and tranquil.
We have had several of these get togethers in the past few years ,all in 4 star hotels ,but this was by far the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a short break. We were upgraded to the Tower Suite which was much appreciated, especially the very comfy four poster bed and complimentary port!
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was fantastic as most reviewers have said. We really enjoyed the fact that the service although efficient was also quite laid back and informal as well.
The spa was very relaxing. The fact that it is over 18's only makes it such a relaxing place (and I have 2 young kids!) The peace is marvellous!
Loved the character of the hotel, especially the bar area, nice place for a pre dinner drink or post dinner whiskey. Looks modern outside but somehow is traditional inside.
Left feeling very relaxed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were attending a wedding in this lovely hotel last weekend, and we will definitely be back. From the welcoming smile at check in, the hotel lived up to all the great things we had heard. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room, huge fab room. Beds were the most comfortable we'd ever slept on- pillows were to die for. There was a jacuzzi bath in the room which didn't work unfortunately but bath was still lovely. Food at the wedding was nice and staff was very helpful and approachable. We will definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank screamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Recently celebrated a family wedding at this hotel. SUPERB!.. would just about sum it up.
Excellent Service, amazing food, beautiful spacious rooms and quiet. Great Babysitting Service (Una & Maureen). Will definately be visiting again over the coming months and very much looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
949 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Property: Knockranny House Hotel
Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing