We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is old and dated. The bar was dated and musty. Our rooms can only be described as basic. 2 rooms looked out onto an unkept pond and wall. One room had a bay window with a view of the grounds front of house which was nice. The bathrooms were basic with the shower in the bath that you had to step over the side of bath to get into and a shower curtain that stuck to you whilst showering. No robes in the room. No luxury getaway feel. One comment completely out of the hotels control were kids running on the corridors. Kids phoned our room and also were knocking and running away. Very annoying at 8 am. Also running around restaurant while waiting staff try to serve is just dangerous felt sorry for staff. We were on a package and the menu we were offered at dinner was so limited with supplements if you wanted something else to your taste. The stater of cuttlefish was disgusting 100% rubber. Five plates went back barely touched. Just one taste was enough to put us all off. The main was fine nothing but pub grub with supplement paid, although we did find the portions small. The dessert was again just okay. All in all our dining experience was poor although a lovely birthday dessert plate was given to our friend, which was a kind gesture. Breakfast in the morning was again okay. My scramble eggs were cold and too runny for my taste. The rest of the food on my plate was luke warm. Next onto the spa we had treatments and loved the the whole spa experience, place was clean and well run. It made the break for me. All the hotel staff I came across were just lovely and helpful. For €135 per head I was expecting better. Maybe we got old rooms and a reduced standard menu for the price. I would not go back to stay or recommend but I would recommend the spa and Westport is a lovely town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank HappyOut1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rooms were spacious and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food looked and tasted amazing and the views are nice from the restaurant.
The only negative was the service for breakfast was extremely slow, we might just have been unlucky i can't believe this is how it is all the time. Otherwise it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_river2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for a wedding & really really enjoyed it.
I paid 170 euro for a deluxe room.

The bedrooms & bathrooms are very very spacious.
The food is excellent - with restaurant and bar-food options.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

It is approx. 10-12 minute walk to the town centre.

I have stayed here multiple times - and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out - some of the rooms are quite a walk from the reception. You may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We try to spend time here twice a year if we can.Just back from our first trip this year and it never disappoints.Everything was perfect from check-in to departure 3 days later.The room had been redecorated ,cleanliness is perfection and the food is glorious.The menu changes each day and each meal is a culinary delight.Breakfast is also perfect with freshly cooked main courses. I can't praise this hotel enough and it's staff.We are already looking forward to our next visit. It is a given!

Room Tip: Second or third floor facing front.The view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have stayed at the Knockranny a number of times over the years, and did so again recently for just one night on a very brief visit. It is a very good hotel in a nice location overlooking Westport., which is a very pretty town. The public areas are largely unchanged since we stayed there years ago and might be brighter in decor, but they are large, warm and very comfortable. The bedroom I had on this recent visit was the best I have seen, it was a bit of a trek from reception but it was large and very comfortable. It overlooked an internal courtyard, but on a stormy west of Ireland night I was relieved to be on the sheltered side of the hotel. It was also furnished to a higher standard than other rooms we have stayed in previously, which were all very good but sometimes a bit cavernous. If you are down to breakfast early enough for a window seat you can enjoy a very good breakfast while taking in a really brilliant view. Staff at the hotel are very helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days to unwind, and were really pleasantly surprised by the high standards throughout the hotel. Room size was well above expectations, the absolute coziest and biggest bed ever! And no doubt about the food quality. Genuine traditional top service. The hotel was recommended by a friend and I'm glad we took her advice.
Will definitely return, as satisfaction assured.........

Room Tip: Visit the town and have a pint in one of the many brilliant pubs there. The local wit is second to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We returned to Knockranny House Hotel (KHH) in late March and once again had a lovely few days there in spite of the mixed weather. The hotel has a homely atmosphere (it is owned and operated by a family, and that makes a difference). The staff were as usual friendly and attentive. The food was superb. While portion sizes look small, it is deceptive. (I am always full after dinner!)
The only downside of our latest visit was our newly decorated room. It was lovely and bright but unfortunately was quite cool - verging on cold. The heating system didn't seem to be able to cope. Maybe this was due ti the fact that many of the rooms on our floor were being renovated and of course there was no heat in that area.
Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay at KHH, and look forward to our next visit. Thanks again to all the lovely staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £102 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing