We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

love this place there is an aromatherapy room, sauna,steam room, staff lovely, pool lovely and warm, great to be able to go there for 10 euros great value for money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel stay I have ever had!!! Not the 'finest luxury four star deluxe hotels and destination spa establishments' advertised. In my opinion this hotel barely touches 3 star, if even! I have had better B & B stays. We chose Knockranny for a treat night away, having recently got engaged. A treat it was not! Corridors had a musty smell...which in my opinion they tried to over come with excessive use of cleaning materials...which only disguised the musty smell with a hospital smell...not what you want from a 'luxurious' hotel stay. The rooms, although Im told were recently refurbished, were in my opinion older fashioned and lacked any luxury!! Dinner was served luke warm on cold plates. We couldnt eat our starter which in my opinion tasted foul!! The main course was no better...meat was tough and barely warm. We indicated our dissatisfaction to the waitress, which was completely ignored. Upon waking in the morning, we were tired and sore from an imcomfortable bed, unbearably hot room and outside noise. Breakfast was acceptable. After breakfast we left 'faulty towers' as quick as we could feeling let down and overcharged. I subsequently emailed the hotel to express my dissatisfaction. All I got was a phone call from hotel, telling me how good they are and how little complaints they ever get...they obviously dont read their Trip Advisor Reviews!!! When I asked for a refund of the hefty sum we had paid the hotel responses stopped immediately...to be followed a number of days later by a letter from the proprietor again dismissing my opinions as if they were not valid. I was offered a DISCOUNTED stay as compensation however I am not willing to put myself or my fiance through that awful experience again. I will continue to call for a refund based on my opinion that the standard of service I received was definetely not the standard of service advertised.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Molly177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice hotel but overpriced and interior very dated. Had upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge and had a very comfortable bed but no view at all. Very strong stale smell all along the corridors. Food was excellent but breakfast was very disappointing. Selection of fruits for breakfast was poor. Overall this hotel has a great location, great food, helpful staff but the interior is badly in need of a complete refurbishment. Worth going to for food but stay somewhere else - won't be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank civilservant99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. We were attending a wedding and other relatives were staying also. Hotel is very good. Nice sized room with comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent each day. Staff very helpful. The wedding there was excellent. Very well run, efficient with great food. Great location with very spacious grounds. Getting around the hotel internally can be a bit confusing as there are so many function rooms and corridors. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is brilliantly situated, overlooking Westport and the sea. Our son held his wedding reception here and we could not have wished for a better place. The staff were friendly, organised and efficient. The whole event went like clockwork thanks to some brilliant management who really took care to ensure that this was a magical day. The food was fantastic and over 160 guets were served quickly and without fuss. More food was made available but most of us had more than we could manage. Many of us stayed at the hotel and the rooms were excellent as too was the breakfast and the other meals that we enjoyed during our stay. Things could not have been better. Great hotel - excellent, caring staff - great management - brilliant food - super location - wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Possibly upgrade to one of the superior rooms (400's) and enjoy the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluetilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The spa, the rooms,.. luxurious. Knockranny House has the charms of an old Manor, for a modern hotel this is very nice. Dinner,.. fine dining (food was excellent,.. can see why they've won so many awards) with wonderful views of Croagh Patrick the town and the sea,.. fresh cod for breakfast,.. up early for the best seat in the house again,.. just one night away here was like a mini-holiday to unwind,.. I would like to visit again soon.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are massive,.. beds very comfortable and bathrooms very nice also
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spent two nights here. Lovely hotel with great views of Croagh Patrick. Very friendly and professional service and food is the restaurant was excellent. Very good deals for mid-week breaks. It is about 10-15 mins walk from town but there is a taxi service if you don't feel like the exercise. Nice rooms to sit around and relax in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing