We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,633 results
Traveller rating
993
384
172
52
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
384
172
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand deluxe room brehon bar la fougere croagh patrick spa salveo master suite beautiful hotel jacuzzi bath spa area top class open fire smoked salmon standard room clew bay wedding reception bar menu mid week break
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,633 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in a lovely little village. The hotel is furnished nicely. The rooms are brilliant. The suite we had was a good sidea with nice big bathrooms. It had a shower cubical and a Jacuzzi bath. We asked for a mini fridge which was put into the room when we arrived. The bar does nice food. Overall I have no bad comments for this hotel i would recommend this to anyone. Thanks to a all the staff in there who were more than helpful. A delight

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Excellent location, walking distance to Westport, spa could have been a bit better, we were looking forward to a nice relaxing half hour or so in the pool/jacuzzi, the water in the pool wasn't warm enough to relax in or another option a jacuzzi wasn't there

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmcgonagle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We were so excited to stay at Knockranny House. It was our splurge hotel on our Ireland trip. It started badly at check in. Our room was not ready and we were told to come back in an hour because the people who checked out had a late check out. We went to the bar for a snack and returned in an hour. The front desk staff rudely told us our room was not ready. We told them we would wait in the lobby and asked them to tell us when the room was ready. An hour and a half later we asked about our room. The room was ready and they never bothered to tell us even though we were sitting right in front of them.

Our room was comfortable with no issues. Breakfast was a disaster. Our first morning we had to wat over a half hour to even get tea or cofffee. The second morning we had to wait in line to even get a table and then had to flag someone down for our coffee.

On our second morning the hotel staff removed the shampoo/ conditioner leaving us with nothing.

It is a very quiet hotel with a much older crowd.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cnorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We had some snafoos upon arriving in Ireland; luggage didn't arrive and then a popped tire-So we didn't get to the hotel until 9:45-

Starving and tired we were quickly given the key to the Presidential Suite and were told the restaurant and the bar was closed but we could order room service-
One thing that could be deemed a negative was the selection available, we got the BLT's and I think that was the only thing that could be made for us-

The bed was so comfortable and didn't hear a peep each night we slept-There was a wedding the second night while there and a ton of people for it but not once did we hear noise-I assume b/c the doors to our area had to be opened with the room key, then you could access the corridor, yet again...silence-

Being that we had the Presidential Suite we had a lot of room, living room, office, kitchen etc. So we had tons of space once we got our luggage-

Big tub in the bathroom was great, I only used it as a tub, not a jacuzzi-Instant hot water and it filled fast-TV in the bathroom so that was nice, honestly watching the County Mayo video is the best thing to watch-

Hotel bar was where we had lunch and dinner, dinner was better-The goujons and the risotto were so good, as well my boyfriend said Knockranny drinks were better than Dromoland, Marlfield and Powerscourt-

Second negative, being picky, the hours for food...we were told the bar closed at 9:00 or perhaps it was 9:30 but then we'd see people in there so it was confusing on what the times were and when they stopped serving food-On weekends I'd think perhaps the bar could be kept open until 10:30 with a light menu-

Breakfast was typical hotel buffet then an option to purchase other items, I'm never a fan of these but some may like them so if you like them, you'll be happy-

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, quiet and comfortable hotel-

Room Tip: Presidential Suite is very large and has 2 access doors directly outside-
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WindyCityGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful one night stay at Knockranny House. We just loved the warm welcome at reception, the large room and massive bed, and the views from the restaurant that are as nice as pictured. We were a little concerned about being out of town but found it was a very walkable 10 minutes away.If we are back in Westport, we will stay at Knockranny again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews