We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about everything right with this hotel...”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
midlands, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just about everything right with this hotel...”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

well, this hotel's greatest asset is definitely the staff.... they absolutely do everything for you (give them all a raise!!!) and nothing is a problem... the bar is great and the food in the restaurant is top quality.... it's really well located, and the general amenitites are excellent... I have read that the bathrooms were chilly, and we did ask them for a heater for it... again, no problem.... so whilst the hotel might need the odd bit of revamping after a long season, I would definitely recommend it as great value, and some of the best service we've ever gotten in a hotel!!

Room Tip: room at the back... overlooking the river....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    334
    73
    33
    15
See reviews for
171
492
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our family stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel for 3 night between Christmas and the New Year, and we were very happy with everything. The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Westport, and our bedroom was very clean and quiet. Staff at the reception, dining room and bar were all very friendly and helpful, and our kids enjoyed the Leisure Centre and Cinema beside the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family. Charlie

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinlough, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

stayed there for a night between xmas and new years, must say we were very impressed with the clew bay hotel, the staff were lovely, the room was fabulous, very clean, lovely and warm. bathroom was class and most of all its great to stay somewhere that use mugs for the tea/coffee instead of little tiny cups... we will definitely be back..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear David,

We are glad you enjoyed your short Christmas break at our hotel, and that you took the time to post some warm and encouraging comments. As you say it is often the little things and the attention to detail (such as the bedroom mugs for the complimentary hot drinks) which can heighten the hotel experience.

We wish you a very Happy New Year, and we look forward to welcoming you to stay at our hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here for 4 days at new year's. Place is lovely, food excellent and staff are the best thing about this place. Would recommend to anyone. Also, the barman makes a great wild berry mojito and pulls a good pint. We noticed how nicer the staff are to everyone and very helpful, especially if you have a young family. We would definitely return.

Barbara & Jody

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Barbara & Jody,

Thank you for your very kind comments about our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you say the staff do make the hotel (we are known for our very friendly and helpful staff team), and I shall pass on your specific warm comments to the bar team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel very soon.

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Staff were really helpful and friendly. Perfect central location. There were 4 of us in a big sized family room, the room was perfect, clean and tidy.The breakfast was decent enough and the adjoining bar was nice to drink and chat in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThisUsernameWasFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay in our hotel: the facilities and the warm and conducive atmosphere.

We are glad you enjoyed your New Year's break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

this hotel is in great location can walk to restaurants and pubs hotel was clean and staff v helpful breakfast next day was good. I just had one large problem the bathroom was freezing as there was no heater in it of any sort we did have a radiator in bed room which was v hot and it was close to bathroom door so we kept door open so to heat bathroom but weren't v successful .so as little time as possible was spent in bathroom .

Room Tip: not room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Mary,

Thank you for posting your review of your stay with us at the Clew Bay Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

However we were disappointed to read that you found the bathroom in your room too cold. We try so hard to make our guest stays as comfortable as possible and we do encourage our guests to contact reception so we can rectify any issues. We apologise for the lack of heat in that bathroom, and hope you will experience warmer accomodation when you come back to stay with us on the next occasion.

Very kind regards,

Neil Thompson
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

when we arrived the staff was so welcoming . we stayed for the wkend and got a fantastic package deal for our hen party. The staff is 100% excellent in their manner and couldnt do enough for us. It's the only hotel that i have been in that was so relaxing and felt just so homely The food was to die for . Me and my friends will definelty be coming bck again .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edel366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,076 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing